Lola and Tattletale Zeke: Author Interview and Giveaway

Lola and Tattletale Zeke: Author Interview and Giveaway

 

Today we are excited to welcome both Marcia Goldman and her furry friend, Lola, to YABC! Lola and Tattletale Zeke is Marcia's third book documenting adventures with Lola, a certified therapy dog!

 

We wanted to know a bit more about Marcia and Lola so one of our lovely staff reviewers, Claire, conducted a comprehensive interview, which you can find below!

 

b2ap3_thumbnail_marcia-and-lola.jpg

 

Claire: Tell us how you met Lola and how Lola became a certified therapy dog.

 

Marcia: I brought Lola home as a 10 week old puppy, weighing in at a whopping 1 1/2 lbs. All I knew was that she was adorable and we loved her sweet personality immediately! It wasn't until she was 2 1/2 that I even considered having her become a therapy dog. I knew about therapy dogs, but I didn’t know if only certain breeds were used or how one became trained and qualified. My thought was, I love my dog, I spent 30 years as a special education teacher, and if I combined the two, what better way to legitimize spending my every day with my dog?

 

Two questions remained: first, would Lola, a 5 pound Yorkie, qualify to become a therapy dog? And second, what was the process? Apparently, size does matter. There was initial concern that she was too small, and that a typical small dog temperament, possibly being nervous around strangers, might not be a good match. I assured those questioning that, although she was small, she didn’t know it. And she loved people - big, small, young, old, she was always happy to meet someone new. She also seemed to intuitively know when someone needed an extra lick or cuddle.

 

The process to achieve therapy dog status was not quick or easy. Lola had to go through two levels of obedience school, handle the Canine Good Citizenship test, and then pass the behavior screening at the final meeting. Throughout the process, Lola and I were warned that she might not be a match and to not get our hopes up. But we were both determined, and as we approached the final test, I was confident that I had a star pupil and that we would make it with flying colors. And pass we did.

 

Claire: When you visit classrooms with Lola, what kind of activities or lessons do you do with the children? 

 

Marcia: Lola loves being a therapy dog. As soon as I let her know that we are going to work, she is at the back bench eager to get her scarf on and head to the car. We belong to a national organization called Share A Pet and every week we visit an elderly care facility where she cuddles in the lap of someone in a wheelchair or jumps on the bed for a little pat. On other days we visit three classrooms at an elementary school where she sits quietly while 18 different children read to her in a program called Pawsitive Reading. We also visit a classroom of preschool children on the autism spectrum and she is amazing to watch as she helps an anxious child calm down or allows a child fearful of dogs pet her for the first time.

 

Claire: What is your most memorable moment you've had with Lola through this training experience? 

 

Marcia: My most memorable moment was hearing a child with autism, who doesn’t talk, speak aloud for the first time. We thought she was talking to Lola, but then realized she was talking FOR Lola, saying thank you and asking for more cookies! Just to see her bring a smile to a lonely person’s face is a wonder to behold. Just yesterday we visited an elderly woman in the Memory Care unit and when she saw Lola she broke into a beaming smile and started to talk to her. They told me she hadn't said a word for months. I know that Lola loves what she does, but the real secret here is, so do I. She may be the one doing the work, but I am the one that gets to go with her.

 

Claire: The pictures in the book are precious.  Do Lola and Zeke enjoy getting their pictures taken or do they need a little dog bribery? 

 

Marcia: I think they both roll their eyes when they see me reach for the camera, but they are very good sports. String cheese helps too and is my secret weapon!!

 

Claire: Do you have more plans for books with Lola? 

 

Marcia: Yes, we are working on a 4th book and it is about Lola's first day of school. She is nervous about whether she will like the teacher or make new friends, but mostly about being left by her Mommy. Will she remember to come back and get me, Lola wonders??

 

 

b2ap3_thumbnail_lola.jpg

 

 

Now that you know more about Marcia AND Lola, meet their newest book, Lola and Tattletale Zeke!

 

Lola, an adorable Yorkie, introduces little brother Zeke in this gentle story about sibling dynamics and the problem of tattletales.
 
Lola loves her little brother Zeke, but Zeke has a big problem: He keeps tattling on her. From messes to mishaps, Lola and Zeke must learn that working together is always more fun than tattling.
 
Charmingly rendered with real-life photos and sweet, simple narration, Goldman makes the delightful world of Lola and Zeke come alive with scenarios that even young children will be able to relate to and enjoy.
 
The book features a curriculum guide with insightful questions and focus words, and a fun activities guide. Parents, teachers, and pet-lovers will also have an opportunity to purchase a soft plush Lola, allowing everyone to get a cuddle from the little therapy dog with a big heart.
 
 
 

b2ap3_thumbnail_lol-and-zeke.jpg

  1. by: Marcia Goldman

  2. Release Date: June 9, 2015 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

 

One winner will receive a copy of Lola and Tattletale Zeke. Open to US mailing addresses only.

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. 

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

What's New in YA
It's live!! Cover Reveal: The Mystery of Hollow Pl...

Related Posts

 

Comments 2

Already Registered? Login Here
Renee Grandinetti on Monday, 27 July 2015 00:26

Looks good.

0
Looks good.
Stephanie Hughes on Monday, 27 July 2015 21:14

Me me me

0
Me me me:)

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...

Latest Member Reviews

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
"A compilation of excerpts from fifteen noteworthy speeches, selected from across American history. The chosen pieces represent great variety,..."
Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
"BERNARD MAKES A SPLASH is an overall cute story about stepping outside of your comfort zone. Bernard practices diving whenever..."
Lost for Words
 
5.0
"LOST FOR WORDS is a sweet picture book about finding your own way to express yourself. Tapir has a new..."
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
"WILD GIRL: HOW TO HAVE INCREDIBLE OUTDOOR ADVENTURES is written by Helen Skelton, a veteran wild girl herself. In this..."
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S PAINT BOX is a charming board book about colors. Stanley is helping Sophie, Little Woo, and Benjamin paint boxes...."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."