Lola and Tattletale Zeke: Author Interview and Giveaway

Lola and Tattletale Zeke: Author Interview and Giveaway

 

Today we are excited to welcome both Marcia Goldman and her furry friend, Lola, to YABC! Lola and Tattletale Zeke is Marcia's third book documenting adventures with Lola, a certified therapy dog!

 

We wanted to know a bit more about Marcia and Lola so one of our lovely staff reviewers, Claire, conducted a comprehensive interview, which you can find below!

 

b2ap3_thumbnail_marcia-and-lola.jpg

 

Claire: Tell us how you met Lola and how Lola became a certified therapy dog.

 

Marcia: I brought Lola home as a 10 week old puppy, weighing in at a whopping 1 1/2 lbs. All I knew was that she was adorable and we loved her sweet personality immediately! It wasn't until she was 2 1/2 that I even considered having her become a therapy dog. I knew about therapy dogs, but I didn’t know if only certain breeds were used or how one became trained and qualified. My thought was, I love my dog, I spent 30 years as a special education teacher, and if I combined the two, what better way to legitimize spending my every day with my dog?

 

Two questions remained: first, would Lola, a 5 pound Yorkie, qualify to become a therapy dog? And second, what was the process? Apparently, size does matter. There was initial concern that she was too small, and that a typical small dog temperament, possibly being nervous around strangers, might not be a good match. I assured those questioning that, although she was small, she didn’t know it. And she loved people - big, small, young, old, she was always happy to meet someone new. She also seemed to intuitively know when someone needed an extra lick or cuddle.

 

The process to achieve therapy dog status was not quick or easy. Lola had to go through two levels of obedience school, handle the Canine Good Citizenship test, and then pass the behavior screening at the final meeting. Throughout the process, Lola and I were warned that she might not be a match and to not get our hopes up. But we were both determined, and as we approached the final test, I was confident that I had a star pupil and that we would make it with flying colors. And pass we did.

 

Claire: When you visit classrooms with Lola, what kind of activities or lessons do you do with the children? 

 

Marcia: Lola loves being a therapy dog. As soon as I let her know that we are going to work, she is at the back bench eager to get her scarf on and head to the car. We belong to a national organization called Share A Pet and every week we visit an elderly care facility where she cuddles in the lap of someone in a wheelchair or jumps on the bed for a little pat. On other days we visit three classrooms at an elementary school where she sits quietly while 18 different children read to her in a program called Pawsitive Reading. We also visit a classroom of preschool children on the autism spectrum and she is amazing to watch as she helps an anxious child calm down or allows a child fearful of dogs pet her for the first time.

 

Claire: What is your most memorable moment you've had with Lola through this training experience? 

 

Marcia: My most memorable moment was hearing a child with autism, who doesn’t talk, speak aloud for the first time. We thought she was talking to Lola, but then realized she was talking FOR Lola, saying thank you and asking for more cookies! Just to see her bring a smile to a lonely person’s face is a wonder to behold. Just yesterday we visited an elderly woman in the Memory Care unit and when she saw Lola she broke into a beaming smile and started to talk to her. They told me she hadn't said a word for months. I know that Lola loves what she does, but the real secret here is, so do I. She may be the one doing the work, but I am the one that gets to go with her.

 

Claire: The pictures in the book are precious.  Do Lola and Zeke enjoy getting their pictures taken or do they need a little dog bribery? 

 

Marcia: I think they both roll their eyes when they see me reach for the camera, but they are very good sports. String cheese helps too and is my secret weapon!!

 

Claire: Do you have more plans for books with Lola? 

 

Marcia: Yes, we are working on a 4th book and it is about Lola's first day of school. She is nervous about whether she will like the teacher or make new friends, but mostly about being left by her Mommy. Will she remember to come back and get me, Lola wonders??

 

 

b2ap3_thumbnail_lola.jpg

 

 

Now that you know more about Marcia AND Lola, meet their newest book, Lola and Tattletale Zeke!

 

Lola, an adorable Yorkie, introduces little brother Zeke in this gentle story about sibling dynamics and the problem of tattletales.
 
Lola loves her little brother Zeke, but Zeke has a big problem: He keeps tattling on her. From messes to mishaps, Lola and Zeke must learn that working together is always more fun than tattling.
 
Charmingly rendered with real-life photos and sweet, simple narration, Goldman makes the delightful world of Lola and Zeke come alive with scenarios that even young children will be able to relate to and enjoy.
 
The book features a curriculum guide with insightful questions and focus words, and a fun activities guide. Parents, teachers, and pet-lovers will also have an opportunity to purchase a soft plush Lola, allowing everyone to get a cuddle from the little therapy dog with a big heart.
 
 
 

b2ap3_thumbnail_lol-and-zeke.jpg

  1. by: Marcia Goldman

  2. Release Date: June 9, 2015 

 

 

 

*GIVEAWAY DETAILS*

 

One winner will receive a copy of Lola and Tattletale Zeke. Open to US mailing addresses only.

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. 

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

 

What's New in YA
It's live!! Cover Reveal: The Mystery of Hollow Pl...

Related Posts

 

Comments 2

Already Registered? Login Here
Renee Grandinetti on Monday, 27 July 2015 00:26

Looks good.

0
Looks good.
Stephanie Hughes on Monday, 27 July 2015 21:14

Me me me

0
Me me me:)

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The definitive collection of art, poetry, and prose, celebrating fat...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh-grader Tristan Strong feels anything but strong ever since he...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Still reeling from her recent battle (and grounded until she...
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cog looks like a normal twelve-year-old boy. But his name...
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the mystical realm of Bríandalör, every day the brave...
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the fourth installment in the Making of America series,...
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hazel knows a lot about the world. That’s because when...
Sublime Karma
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Brie’s stepfather moves the family for what he...
Goddess Ascending
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Promised to the Light. Hunted by the Dark. Two...
Crown of Coral and Pearl
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Nor once dreamed of seeing the wondrous wealth and...
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the...
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Harry Black is lost between the world of war...
Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kazi and Jase have survived, stronger and more in...
The Lady Rogue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Magician meets A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and...
A Very Pikmi Halloween (Pikmi Pops)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pikmi Pops(TM) are the latest collectible craze! Join these cute...

Latest Member Reviews

 
5.0
"3 Reasons You Need THE OTHER F WORD on your shelves: 1.) The list of contributors: The range of..."
 
5.0
"Tristan Strong isn't doing too well. He lost his best friend, Eddie, in a bus accident, lost a boxing match,..."
 
5.0
"*This review contains spoilers for book one, A BLADE SO BLACK* A DREAM SO DARK, sequel to A BLADE..."
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
"Cog looks like an ordinary twelve year old boy, but he is an advanced android that the scientists at uniMind..."
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
"Hazel lives on a farm with her two mothers and her older brother Rowan. They have a heard of goats..."
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
"Albiorix is a young Medieval wizard from the mystical realm of Bríandalör who is Hall Master for the role playing..."
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
"Why we still need biographies of first wave feminists: "A married woman taking her husband's name reflected that under legal..."
The Lady Rogue
 
5.0
"THE LADY ROGUE is an absolutely thrilling historical fiction/fantasy. In the vein of THE MUMMY but in Romania and with..."
The Burning Shadow (Origin Series, #2)
 
3.7
"What worked: I'm a huge fan of the Lux series and LOVE Daemon. The relationship between Daemon and Kat is..."
The Owls Have Come to Take Us Away
 
3.0
"THE OWLS HAVE COME TO TAKE US AWAY is a middle grade sci-fi/horror (though not too scary) that follows a..."
A Very Pikmi Halloween (Pikmi Pops)
 
4.0
"Celebrate Halloween with the Pikmi Pops in this cute story about friendship. Wubbs the Bat and Vampy the Bat are..."
Apocalypse Taco
 
4.0
"APOCALYPSE TACO is a horror graphic novel that follows two middle school aged boys, Axl and Ivan. Axl and Ivan..."
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
"VOYAGES IN THE UNDERWORLD OF ORPHEUS BLACK is a story about brotherhood, war, and the power of art. Harry is..."
Awesome Achievers in Technology: Super and Strange Facts about 12 Almost Famous History Makers
 
4.3
"AWESOME ACHIEVERS IN TECHNOLOGY is an approachable middle grade non-fiction book about people behind every day inventions that you may..."
Firebrand: The Initiation of Natali Presano (Firebrand, #1)
 
5.0
"This comic book is an interesting print form of a webtoon series that captures season 1. Natali Presano was born..."
Kitty and the Moonlight Rescue
 
4.0
"Kitty wants to be a superhero like her mom, but she's afraid to go out in the dark. Her mom..."
 
5.0
"'Sorting for STEM Big Skills Workbook' deals with core concepts. Science, technology, engineering, and mathematics are the focus in this..."
 
5.0
"'Math Practice Extra Big Skills Workbook' has a large variety of fun activities to help students build their math knowledge...."
 
5.0
"'Handwriting Skills Workbook' does a great job of informing students and parents alike about the importance of focusing on how..."
Little Penguin's New Friend
 
4.0
"'Little Penguin's New Friend' by Tadgh Bentley is a cute story about the making of a friendship despite misconceptions about..."