The Official YABC Blog

All things news, updates, giveaways, and other goodies on Young Adult (and Kids!) Books Central.

Featured Review: Sisters of Shadow and Light (Sara B. Larson)

51houGuXzsL._SX322_BO1204203200_
About This Book: From the acclaimed author of Defy, Sara B. Larson, Sisters of Shadow and Light is a timeless and fantastical tale of sisterly love and powerful magic The night my sister was born, the stars died and were reborn in her eyes…. Zuhra and Inara have grown up in...
Continue reading
  134 Hits
  0 Comment

Featured Review: My High School Royal Boyfriend (Kylie Key)

51E9zwjRlsL
About This Book: Two people with secret identities… Can anything between them be real? ALEX A tragedy at Langley Estate puts my family in the spotlight Hounded by a ruthless press, it’s decided I should disappear for awhile That’s how I’ve ended up on the other side of the world At...
Continue reading
  158 Hits
  0 Comment

Spotlight on Bump (Matt Wallace), Guest Post, Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

5328727_20210122-034123_1



Today we're excited to spotlight Bump  by Matt Wallace.  Read on for more about Matt and his book, an guest post, plus an giveaway!        Meet Matt Wallace !   A screenwriter, novelist, and the award-winning author of over one hundred short stories, Matt spent a decade traveling the...
Continue reading
Recent comment in this post
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it!
Saturday, 23 January 2021 18:55
  316 Hits
  1 Comment

Featured Review: The Forgotten World (Robin D. Mahle)

51Hes93gIXL
About This Book: Clark thought he knew what grief was. Addie thought she understood the dangers of the Tempest Sea. They couldn’t have been more wrong. When their only chance at survival lands them on opposite ends of an island that shouldn’t exist, they will both be forced to contend with...
Continue reading
  171 Hits
  0 Comment

Spotlight on Winterkeep (Kristin Cashore), Plus Excerpt!

Winterkeep_Prin_20210121-171815_1



  Today we're excited to spotlight Winterkeep (Kristin Cashore).  Read on for more about Kristin and her book plus a excerpt!         Meet Kristin Cashore ! Kristin Cashore  grew up in the northeast Pennsylvania countryside as the second of four daughters. She received a bachelor’s degree from Williams...
Continue reading
  180 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Chat with Katie Henry (This Will Be Funny Someday), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

53240811



  Today we're excited to chat with Katie Henry author of         This Will Be Funny Someday. Read on for more about Katie and her book, plus a giveaway!       Meet Katie Henry !   Katie Henry, author of Heretics Anonymous and Let's Call It a...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Abigail Lowry
I love Katie Henry’s other works and this one looks incredible!
Thursday, 21 January 2021 11:42
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it!
Thursday, 21 January 2021 12:25
Chiara Jucha
Sounds hilarious!
Thursday, 21 January 2021 14:58
  200 Hits
  3 Comments

Featured Review: You Say It First (Katie Cotugno)

51ZPECczQYL._SX329_BO1204203200_
About This Book: An addictive, irresistible YA novel about two teens from different worlds who fall for each other after a voter registration call turns into a long-distance romance—from Katie Cotugno, the New York Times bestselling author of 99 Days. Perfect for fans of Mary H.K. Choi, Robin Benway, and Nicola...
Continue reading
  162 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Chat with Jo Spurrier (A Curse of Ash and Embers), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

ACOA_20210120-170028_1



  Today we're excited to chat with Jo Spurrier author of         A Curse of Ash and Embers. Read on for more about Jo and her book, plus a giveaway!       Meet Jo Spurrier ! Jo Spurrier was born in 1980 and has a Bachelor of...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it!
Wednesday, 20 January 2021 14:25
Chiara Jucha
Sounds awesome!!
Thursday, 21 January 2021 14:57
  239 Hits
  2 Comments

Waiting on Wednesday ~ January 20, 2021

b2ap3_large_unnamed


Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event that is hosted by Jill at Breaking the Spine and spotlights upcoming releases that we're eagerly anticipating.       *Kim’s Choice* (YABC Staff Reviewer)    The Afterlife of the Party Author:  Marlene Perez Expected publication:  February 2, 2021 I didn’t even want to...
Continue reading
  149 Hits
  0 Comment

Author Chat with Megan E. Freeman (Alone), Plus Giveaway! ~ (US Only)

4920286_20210120-154911_1



  Today we're excited to chat with Megan E. Freeman author of        Alone. Read on for more about Megan and her book, plus a giveaway!       Meet Megan E. Freeman ! Megan E. Freeman attended an elementary school where poets visited her classroom every week, and...
Continue reading
Recent Comments
Zachary Snyder
Book looks great, look forward to reading it!
Wednesday, 20 January 2021 14:46
Chiara Jucha
I think my students would love this one!
Thursday, 21 January 2021 15:01
  282 Hits
  2 Comments

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Manga Classics Hamlet: Shakespeare
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The dead still walk in Denmark. Already crushed by his...
Wings of Ebony (Wings of Ebony, #1)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this riveting, keenly emotional debut fantasy, a Black...
All the Tides of Fate (All the Stars and Teeth, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The thrilling sequel to instant New York Times bestseller All...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera Cass....
Born Royal
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
Imprisoned and experimented on since she was twelve, Princess...
Born at Dawn
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Half-human thief Neva Roberts, 17, has always hidden her...
I'll Be the One (I'll Be the One #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The world of K-Pop has never met a star...
The Dog Patrol: Our Canine Companions and the Kids Who Protect Them
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In a full-color dog book unlike any other, acclaimed children’s...
Unchosen
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Katharyn Blair crafts a fiercely feminist fantasy with a...
Watch Over Me
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Mila is used to being alone. Maybe that’s why...
The Safekeeper
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her job is to keep their secrets safe. ...
City of the Plague God
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Best-selling author Rick Riordan presents CITY OF THE PLAGUE GOD,...
The Shadow War
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inglourious Basterds meets Stranger Things in this dark and thrilling...
The Valley and the Flood
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rose Colter is almost home, but she can't go back...
Don't Tell A Soul
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stay up all night with this modern day Rebecca! Perfect...
58 Farm End
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
58 Farm End: a twisted romantic crime thriller series (Book...

Latest Member Reviews

Manga Classics Hamlet: Shakespeare
 
3.3
"What worked: Great way to make reading the classics more fun! I'm a huge fan of graphic novels. Manga Classics..."
All the Tides of Fate (All the Stars and Teeth, #2)
 
5.0
"ALL THE TIDES OF FATE picks up Amora's story a season or two after the previous book ended. She is..."
Watch Over Me
 
4.7
"Eighteen-year-old Mila has just graduated from high school and aged out of the foster care program. So when a job..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
" The Parkour Club is a rollicking good read! Bronte’s journey to find her place in the world..."
Crying is Like the Rain: A Story of Mindfulness and Feelings
 
5.0
"CRYING IS LIKE THE RAIN teaches children that it's okay to cry rather than bottle everything up inside. The author..."
American Royals II: Majesty
 
3.7
"With her father gone, Beatrice must step into her role as queen. To do this, she has to let her..."
Mary: The Adventures of Mary Shelley's Great-Great-Great-Great-Great-Granddaughter
 
4.0
"Teen Mary Shelley is the many times great granddaughter of the legendary writer. Everyone in the Shelley lineage has become..."
The Obsession
 
4.7
"THE OBSESSION is a creepy and riveting YA thriller. Delilah lives with her mother and her mother's abusive boyfriend, a..."
The Project
 
4.3
"Lo Denham, magazine assistant and loner, is looking for her sister, Bea. Six years ago, Lo's parents died in a..."
The Night Circus
 
4.3
"I couldn’t begin to express how much I adore this book. This book, magically, soothed my temper and let me..."
Wings of Ebony (Wings of Ebony, #1)
 
4.7
"WINGS OF EBONY is a beautifully crafted YA fantasy. A year has passed since Rue's life was irrevocably changed. Her..."
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0
"I don't know how this series keeps getting better, but it does. This third book is just... so much happens..."