Kids Review: We Have a Playdate (Frank W. Dormer)

614RJ9-L2uL

About This Book:

A hilarious and wacky graphic novel for the youngest readers about navigating friendships—and the playground

The slide. The swings. The monkey bars. The seesaw.

Tuna, Noodle, and Margo each head for their favorite spots, like always. But today, there is a bear on the slide, and—gasp!—they won’t come down.

Together, this ragtag group of pals must tackle the playground, navigate friendships old and new, make it through bizarre mishaps, and sometimes get a little . . . kooky.

Featuring comic-style illustrations full of color, zany humor, and memorable characters, this young graphic novel reminds new readers that any day spent with friends is a great day—and a learning experience!

 

*Review Contributed by Olivia Farr, Staff Reviewer*

Silly graphic novel for early readers

 
WE HAVE A PLAYDATE is a silly graphic novel for early readers. With relatively few words and mostly told in pictures, the book tells about friends who are going for a playdate at the playground - and making a new friend, once they can figure out how to play together. The story is told in parts by which equipment they are playing with, including the slide, swings, and see-saw.

What I loved: This is a really simple read with great use of colors, cute characters, and straight-forward plot. The graphic novel format works well for children who like to have a story told through images. Sparse text makes it a great choice for early readers who want to independently enjoy a story without having too much to read. The story is a simple enjoyment of the playground with minor conflicts as they all figure out how to use the equipment properly. There are definitely some moments that are sure to make children giggle, as there are a lot of errors and issues along the way.

What left me wanting more: The characters are a little rough with each other on the playground (mostly accidentally), and I would have preferred more gentle play and less injuries, but I do know that this style of comedy will appeal to young readers.

Final verdict: A simple story and ample illustrations make WE HAVE A PLAYDATE a solid choice for early readers with graphic novel format. Recommend for fans of Mo Willems and Ross Burach.
 

*Find More Info & Buy This Book HERE!*

Kids Review: Leilong the Library Bus (Julia Liu)
Middle Grade Review: Tiger Honor (Yoon Ha Lee)

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment