Kids Review: Cranky Chicken (Katherine Battersby)

817S6NRDd-L

About This Book:

Narwhal and Jelly meet The Bad Guys in this heartwarming, brightly illustrated, and downright hilarious chapter book about what happens when a very cranky chicken is befriended by a very cheerful worm.

Cranky Chicken is, well, cranky. With one cranky eyebrow, cranky eyes, and even cranky, scratchy feet. But then one day, Cranky meets a very friendly worm named Speedy who wants nothing more than to be friends. Young readers will love seeing the mismatched friendship grow over the course of three charming and laugh-out-loud short adventures as Chicken and Speedy become BFFs (Best Feathered Friends) and Speedy shows Chicken how to look on the bright side.

 

*Review Contributed by Connie Reid, Site Manager*

Put on your Cranky Pants for BFF (Best Feathered Friend) Adventures
 
What Worked: Cranky Chicken really revels in being grumpy and doesn’t want help to be different.
A Worm named Speedy is determined to be friends after Cranky Chicken saved him from a fallen leaf. With Speedy’s upbeat determination to spend time with his new friend, Cranky Chicken finds it’s not so lonely once he has a BFF (Best Feathered Friend) to do cranky tasks with. It was pretty funny to learn about cranky pants. As her best wing worm, Speedy can get Cranky Chicken to try new adventures, like climbing a tree and trying to fly. This unlikely duo has more fun than Cranky chicken would want to admit.
What Left Me Wanting More: The illustrations aren’t as vibrantly colored as many children’s books. However, this book was about the grumpier side of emotions so the pastel colors did help convey that.
Final Verdict: Fans of Mo Willem’s Piggie and Gerald are likely to find Cranky Chicken and Speedy the next unlikely duo that they need to read about. I always take it as a good indication that the book is a keeper when my kids laugh and then repeat parts of the book later on. So put on your best Cranky pants and prepare to enjoy this story about the self-proclaimed Queen of Crank.

 

*Find More Info & Buy This Book HERE!*

Middle Grade Review: Pahua and the Soul Stealer (L...
Kids Review: Hello Baby Animals, Who Are You? (Loe...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment