It’s Live!! Cover Reveal: Thorn by Intisar Khanani + Giveaway (US/Intl)

Thorn_cover-snap-final-header

Hi, YABCers!

Today we're excited to celebrate the cover reveal for 

Thorn by Intisar Khanani,

releasing March 24, 2020 from Harper Teen!

Before we get to the cover, here's a note from the author:

Hi YABC! I am so excited to share Thorn's new cover with you! Thorn, and its cover, has a rather unusual history. Before HarperTeen picked it up, it lived a long and fulfilling life as an indie novel. But it really only achieved that life through the cover magic worked by Jenny Zemanek of Seedlings Design. I can say this with complete certainty because before Jenny's cover, that book didn't sell enough to buy me much more than a monthly hot chocolate. Afterwards? Let's just say readers definitely judge a book by its cover. When the team at Harper saw Jenny's design, they fell in love with it too... and what you're looking at today is Jenny's original design rebooted with a gorgeous teal background and a new title treatment. But that iconic girl with her red-to-russet hair and cloaked silhouette above the arches? That's all Jenny, and I am so, so thrilled that Harper loved her work as much as I did, and that Jenny's artistry will continue to keep Thorn company as she sets off on this new adventure. I hope you find this cover as lovely and striking as I do.

~ Intisar

 

Ready to see?

Scroll, YABCers! Scroll!

...

...

...

...

...

...

...

Here it is!

 
 
 

*** If you choose to share this image elsewhere,

please include a courtesy link back to this page so that others can enter the giveaway. Thank you! ***

Thorn

Intisar Khanani

Release date: March 24, 2020

Publisher: Harper Teen

About the Book

A princess with two futures. A destiny all her own.

Between her cruel family and the contempt she faces at court, Princess Alyrra has always longed to escape the confines of her royal life. But when she’s betrothed to the powerful prince Kestrin, Alyrra embarks on a journey to his land with little hope for a better future.

When a mysterious and terrifying sorceress robs Alyrra of both her identity and her role as princess, Alyrra seizes the opportunity to start a new life for herself as a goose girl.

But Alyrra soon finds that Kestrin is not what she expected. The more Alyrra learns of this new kingdom, the pain and suffering its people endure, as well as the danger facing Kestrin from the sorceress herself, the more she knows she can’t remain the goose girl forever.

With the fate of the kingdom at stake, Alyrra is caught between two worlds and ultimately must decide who she is, and what she stands for.


-

Includes The Bone Knife, a bonus short story set in the world of Thorn.

 

Find the Author

Giveaway Details

One US-only winner will receive a prize pack including a rose jewelry set, a pair of library card socks (because libraries rock), a copy of "The Wrath and the Dawn," and a $25 Amazon gift card.

Message from the author: I chose to include "The Wrath and The Dawn" in the giveaway because it's being used as a comp for Thorn. HarperTeen's description on the back of the galley is, "A fierce fantasy retelling of "The Goose Girl," perfect for fans of The Hazel Wood and The Wrath and The Dawn."

The second winner (open internationally) will only receive a $25 Amazon Gift Card. 

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. Winners will be announced on this site and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30 days after the giveaway ends.

During each giveaway, we ask entrants a question pertaining to the book.

Here is the question they'll be answering in the comments below for extra entries:

What do you think about the cover and synopsis?

Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Featured Review: Wilder Girls (Rory Power)
Author Chat with Chad Alan Gibbs (Two Like Me and ...
 

Comments 7

Already Registered? Login Here
Candice Gigous on Thursday, 01 August 2019 07:58

The cover is very pretty. The synopsis is very interesting, a unique twist on fairy tales. I am looking forward to this one.

0
The cover is very pretty. The synopsis is very interesting, a unique twist on fairy tales. I am looking forward to this one.
Dan Denman on Friday, 02 August 2019 10:11

I like the colors and design of the book cover. This sounds like a good fantasy adventure.

0
I like the colors and design of the book cover. This sounds like a good fantasy adventure.
Madeline Tebo on Friday, 02 August 2019 10:48

The book sounds so good and the cover is beautiful!

0
The book sounds so good and the cover is beautiful!
Danielle Hammelef on Saturday, 03 August 2019 18:08

The cover is very attractive and eye-catching. The synopsis sounds fun with lots of adventure.

0
The cover is very attractive and eye-catching. The synopsis sounds fun with lots of adventure.
Hannah on Monday, 05 August 2019 00:47

Such a striking cover!

0
Such a striking cover!
Debra Branigan on Monday, 05 August 2019 18:56

I like the cover design and the synopsis sounds adventurous. Best wishes on your new book.

0
I like the cover design and the synopsis sounds adventurous. Best wishes on your new book.
Rayyan on Monday, 05 August 2019 21:27

The cover is so gorgeous I love the small details and designs. The synopsis got me at "two futures" and the rest of it just pulled me in!

0
The cover is so gorgeous I love the small details and designs. The synopsis got me at "two futures" and the rest of it just pulled me in!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A slow-burn romance in a cutthroat kitchen! There’s more to...
The Midnight Lie (The Midnight Lie, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Set in the world of the New York Times–bestselling Winner’s...
The Winter Duke
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
She survived the curse. Now she must survive the throne....
Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the creator of the hit TV series The Bold...
Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...

Latest Member Reviews

Most Likely (Most Likely, #1)
 
5.0
"MOST LIKELY is a fantastic YA contemporary about friendship. The book starts with a woman becoming president and reflecting back..."
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
N/A
"Advice to save your marriage and get your Ex Boyfriend/girlfriend back ,contact assurancesolutionhome@gmail.com for Urgent effective love Spell to get..."
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
5.0
"Advice to save your marriage and get your Ex Boyfriend/girlfriend back ,contact assurancesolutionhome@gmail.com for Urgent effective love Spell to get..."
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
5.0
"Advice to save your marriage and get your Ex Boyfriend/girlfriend back ,contact assurancesolutionhome@gmail.com for Urgent effective love Spell to get..."
Look Both Ways
 
5.0
"I often hear it said that writers are bred, and sure you can breed some decent writers with whatever amount..."
 
4.8
"This is a beautiful book—both in how it is designed and how it is written. The prose is lyrical, yet..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."