It’s Live!! Cover Reveal: Thorn by Intisar Khanani + Giveaway (US/Intl)

Thorn_cover-snap-final-header

Hi, YABCers!

Today we're excited to celebrate the cover reveal for 

Thorn by Intisar Khanani,

releasing March 24, 2020 from Harper Teen!

Before we get to the cover, here's a note from the author:

Hi YABC! I am so excited to share Thorn's new cover with you! Thorn, and its cover, has a rather unusual history. Before HarperTeen picked it up, it lived a long and fulfilling life as an indie novel. But it really only achieved that life through the cover magic worked by Jenny Zemanek of Seedlings Design. I can say this with complete certainty because before Jenny's cover, that book didn't sell enough to buy me much more than a monthly hot chocolate. Afterwards? Let's just say readers definitely judge a book by its cover. When the team at Harper saw Jenny's design, they fell in love with it too... and what you're looking at today is Jenny's original design rebooted with a gorgeous teal background and a new title treatment. But that iconic girl with her red-to-russet hair and cloaked silhouette above the arches? That's all Jenny, and I am so, so thrilled that Harper loved her work as much as I did, and that Jenny's artistry will continue to keep Thorn company as she sets off on this new adventure. I hope you find this cover as lovely and striking as I do.

~ Intisar

 

Ready to see?

Scroll, YABCers! Scroll!

...

...

...

...

...

...

...

Here it is!

 
 
 

*** If you choose to share this image elsewhere,

please include a courtesy link back to this page so that others can enter the giveaway. Thank you! ***

Thorn

Intisar Khanani

Release date: March 24, 2020

Publisher: Harper Teen

About the Book

A princess with two futures. A destiny all her own.

Between her cruel family and the contempt she faces at court, Princess Alyrra has always longed to escape the confines of her royal life. But when she’s betrothed to the powerful prince Kestrin, Alyrra embarks on a journey to his land with little hope for a better future.

When a mysterious and terrifying sorceress robs Alyrra of both her identity and her role as princess, Alyrra seizes the opportunity to start a new life for herself as a goose girl.

But Alyrra soon finds that Kestrin is not what she expected. The more Alyrra learns of this new kingdom, the pain and suffering its people endure, as well as the danger facing Kestrin from the sorceress herself, the more she knows she can’t remain the goose girl forever.

With the fate of the kingdom at stake, Alyrra is caught between two worlds and ultimately must decide who she is, and what she stands for.


-

Includes The Bone Knife, a bonus short story set in the world of Thorn.

 

Find the Author

Giveaway Details

One US-only winner will receive a prize pack including a rose jewelry set, a pair of library card socks (because libraries rock), a copy of "The Wrath and the Dawn," and a $25 Amazon gift card.

Message from the author: I chose to include "The Wrath and The Dawn" in the giveaway because it's being used as a comp for Thorn. HarperTeen's description on the back of the galley is, "A fierce fantasy retelling of "The Goose Girl," perfect for fans of The Hazel Wood and The Wrath and The Dawn."

The second winner (open internationally) will only receive a $25 Amazon Gift Card. 

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. Winners will be announced on this site and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30 days after the giveaway ends.

During each giveaway, we ask entrants a question pertaining to the book.

Here is the question they'll be answering in the comments below for extra entries:

What do you think about the cover and synopsis?

Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Featured Review: Wilder Girls (Rory Power)
Author Chat with Chad Alan Gibbs (Two Like Me and ...
 

Comments 7

Already Registered? Login Here
Candice Gigous on Thursday, 01 August 2019 07:58

The cover is very pretty. The synopsis is very interesting, a unique twist on fairy tales. I am looking forward to this one.

0
The cover is very pretty. The synopsis is very interesting, a unique twist on fairy tales. I am looking forward to this one.
Dan Denman on Friday, 02 August 2019 10:11

I like the colors and design of the book cover. This sounds like a good fantasy adventure.

0
I like the colors and design of the book cover. This sounds like a good fantasy adventure.
Madeline Tebo on Friday, 02 August 2019 10:48

The book sounds so good and the cover is beautiful!

0
The book sounds so good and the cover is beautiful!
Danielle Hammelef on Saturday, 03 August 2019 18:08

The cover is very attractive and eye-catching. The synopsis sounds fun with lots of adventure.

0
The cover is very attractive and eye-catching. The synopsis sounds fun with lots of adventure.
Hannah on Monday, 05 August 2019 00:47

Such a striking cover!

0
Such a striking cover!
Debra Branigan on Monday, 05 August 2019 18:56

I like the cover design and the synopsis sounds adventurous. Best wishes on your new book.

0
I like the cover design and the synopsis sounds adventurous. Best wishes on your new book.
Rayyan on Monday, 05 August 2019 21:27

The cover is so gorgeous I love the small details and designs. The synopsis got me at "two futures" and the rest of it just pulled me in!

0
The cover is so gorgeous I love the small details and designs. The synopsis got me at "two futures" and the rest of it just pulled me in!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Fowl Twins (The Fowl Twins, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
One week after their eleventh birthday, the Fowl twins--scientist Myles,...
Kai and the Monkey King (Brownstone's Mythical Collection, #3)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Kai grows tired of her bookish mum not being...
Astro Kittens: Cosmic Machines (Astro Kittens)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Greetings, my little Astro Kittens! Are you ready to take...
Astro Kittens: Into the Unknown (Astro Kittens)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Greetings, my little Astro Kittens! Are you ready to take...
All the Things We Do in the Dark
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Sadie meets Girl in Pieces in this dark, emotional thriller...
The Rubicus Prophecy (The Witches of Orkney, #2)
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Abigail has just started her second year at the Tarkana...
Fancy Nancy: Camp Fancy
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Based on the Disney Junior TV show and inspired by...
Rules for Vanishing
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the faux-documentary style of The Blair Witch Project comes...
What Makes Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A viral video reveals a teen’s dark family history, leaving...
Harry Potter Origami
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ever wanted to fold your own Chocolate Frogs? Or play...
By Any Means Necessary
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Heart-wrenchingly honest, fans of Brandy Colbert and Nicola Yoon will...
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Annie and Lee were just children when a brutal revolution...
Artemis Fowl: The Graphic Novel
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In 2001, audiences first met and fell in love with...
On the Come Up
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Bri wants to be one of the greatest rappers...
Spin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Paris Secord's (aka DJ ParSec) career--and life--has come to...
Leah on the Offbeat
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leah Burke—girl-band drummer, master of deadpan, and Simon Spier’s best...

Latest Member Reviews

Adaptive
 
4.8
"The story: Lune Avery has survived the Elite Trials and escaped the clutches of her tyrant father,..."
Forgiven Are the Starry-Eyed
 
5.0
"The story: Sheltered high school junior Andrea Cavanaugh believes she hits the jackpot when Josh McMillan, a..."
The Fowl Twins (The Fowl Twins, #1)
 
5.0
"Witty, clever, and full of mischief, THE FOWL TWINS is a spin-off of ARTEMIS FOWL that easily stands on its..."
Kai and the Monkey King (Brownstone's Mythical Collection, #3)
 
5.0
"KAI AND THE MONKEY KING is an engaging and thrilling installment in the Brownstone's Mythical Collection series. In this book,..."
 
4.8
"This darker and grittier sequel of Issaura's Claws, steers readers on a journey outside the kingdom of Elysia into the..."
Astro Kittens: Cosmic Machines (Astro Kittens)
 
5.0
"An excellent read for children who love machines and/or space, ASTRO KITTENS: INTO THE UNKNOWN takes preschoolers for an unforgettable..."
Astro Kittens: Into the Unknown (Astro Kittens)
 
4.7
"Wish you could teach your toddler about outer space and the basis for science-fiction? If so- or you just love..."
All the Things We Do in the Dark
 
4.3
"ALL THE THINGS WE DO IN THE DARK is an intensely challenging and thought-provoking read with some magical realism elements...."
The Rubicus Prophecy (The Witches of Orkney, #2)
 
3.5
"THE RUBICUS PROPHECY is an engaging second book in the WITCHES OF ORKNEY series that follows the same friends on..."
Rules for Vanishing
 
5.0
"RULES FOR VANISHING is a deliciously haunting YA horror perfect for Halloween. Told through collected documents, interviews, and texts, this..."
What Makes Us
 
5.0
"WHAT MAKES US is an intriguing story that follows a teenaged boy, his mother (in the past), and his friend..."
Serpent & Dove
 
5.0
"Lou is on the run from her family and she lives a thieving life with her friend Coco. Both of..."
Fancy Nancy: Camp Fancy
 
5.0
"When Dad tells Nancy stories about when he and Mom used to go camping, Nancy knows it's something she has..."
Harry Potter Origami
 
4.0
"Scholastic Inc brings origami and Harry Potter together in this book with fifteen foldable crafts! Each one has a different..."
By Any Means Necessary
 
3.7
"BY ANY MEANS NECESSARY is an engaging contemporary YA that presents some issues very well. The writing is in a..."
On the Come Up
 
5.0
"ON THE COME UP is a fantastic new YA contemporary that handles big issues like racism and sexism. The characters..."
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
3.3
"FIREBORNE is a new YA fantasy that follows two teens, Lee and Anna (Antigone) in alternating points-of-view. Lee and Anna..."
Artemis Fowl: The Graphic Novel
 
4.0
"As Middle Grade graphic novel adaptations go, this urban fantasy is above par. The artwork has a bit..."
Into the Crooked Place (Into the Crooked Place, #1)
 
4.0
"INTO THE CROOKED PLACE is an engaging YA fantasy that follows five characters on a quest of aligned goals- even..."
To Kill a Kingdom
 
5.0
"TO KILL A KINGDOM is a wonderful YA fantasy about a siren and a pirate. Told in alternating points of..."