It’s Live!! Cover Reveal: Thorn by Intisar Khanani + Giveaway (US/Intl)

Thorn_cover-snap-final-header

Hi, YABCers!

Today we're excited to celebrate the cover reveal for 

Thorn by Intisar Khanani,

releasing March 24, 2020 from Harper Teen!

Before we get to the cover, here's a note from the author:

Hi YABC! I am so excited to share Thorn's new cover with you! Thorn, and its cover, has a rather unusual history. Before HarperTeen picked it up, it lived a long and fulfilling life as an indie novel. But it really only achieved that life through the cover magic worked by Jenny Zemanek of Seedlings Design. I can say this with complete certainty because before Jenny's cover, that book didn't sell enough to buy me much more than a monthly hot chocolate. Afterwards? Let's just say readers definitely judge a book by its cover. When the team at Harper saw Jenny's design, they fell in love with it too... and what you're looking at today is Jenny's original design rebooted with a gorgeous teal background and a new title treatment. But that iconic girl with her red-to-russet hair and cloaked silhouette above the arches? That's all Jenny, and I am so, so thrilled that Harper loved her work as much as I did, and that Jenny's artistry will continue to keep Thorn company as she sets off on this new adventure. I hope you find this cover as lovely and striking as I do.

~ Intisar

 

Ready to see?

Scroll, YABCers! Scroll!

...

...

...

...

...

...

...

Here it is!

 
 
 

*** If you choose to share this image elsewhere,

please include a courtesy link back to this page so that others can enter the giveaway. Thank you! ***

Thorn

Intisar Khanani

Release date: March 24, 2020

Publisher: Harper Teen

About the Book

A princess with two futures. A destiny all her own.

Between her cruel family and the contempt she faces at court, Princess Alyrra has always longed to escape the confines of her royal life. But when she’s betrothed to the powerful prince Kestrin, Alyrra embarks on a journey to his land with little hope for a better future.

When a mysterious and terrifying sorceress robs Alyrra of both her identity and her role as princess, Alyrra seizes the opportunity to start a new life for herself as a goose girl.

But Alyrra soon finds that Kestrin is not what she expected. The more Alyrra learns of this new kingdom, the pain and suffering its people endure, as well as the danger facing Kestrin from the sorceress herself, the more she knows she can’t remain the goose girl forever.

With the fate of the kingdom at stake, Alyrra is caught between two worlds and ultimately must decide who she is, and what she stands for.


-

Includes The Bone Knife, a bonus short story set in the world of Thorn.

 

Find the Author

Giveaway Details

One US-only winner will receive a prize pack including a rose jewelry set, a pair of library card socks (because libraries rock), a copy of "The Wrath and the Dawn," and a $25 Amazon gift card.

Message from the author: I chose to include "The Wrath and The Dawn" in the giveaway because it's being used as a comp for Thorn. HarperTeen's description on the back of the galley is, "A fierce fantasy retelling of "The Goose Girl," perfect for fans of The Hazel Wood and The Wrath and The Dawn."

The second winner (open internationally) will only receive a $25 Amazon Gift Card. 

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. Winners will be announced on this site and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30 days after the giveaway ends.

During each giveaway, we ask entrants a question pertaining to the book.

Here is the question they'll be answering in the comments below for extra entries:

What do you think about the cover and synopsis?

Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Featured Review: Wilder Girls (Rory Power)
Author Chat with Chad Alan Gibbs (Two Like Me and ...
 

Comments 7

Already Registered? Login Here
Candice Gigous on Thursday, 01 August 2019 07:58

The cover is very pretty. The synopsis is very interesting, a unique twist on fairy tales. I am looking forward to this one.

0
The cover is very pretty. The synopsis is very interesting, a unique twist on fairy tales. I am looking forward to this one.
Dan Denman on Friday, 02 August 2019 10:11

I like the colors and design of the book cover. This sounds like a good fantasy adventure.

0
I like the colors and design of the book cover. This sounds like a good fantasy adventure.
Madeline Tebo on Friday, 02 August 2019 10:48

The book sounds so good and the cover is beautiful!

0
The book sounds so good and the cover is beautiful!
Danielle Hammelef on Saturday, 03 August 2019 18:08

The cover is very attractive and eye-catching. The synopsis sounds fun with lots of adventure.

0
The cover is very attractive and eye-catching. The synopsis sounds fun with lots of adventure.
Hannah on Monday, 05 August 2019 00:47

Such a striking cover!

0
Such a striking cover!
Debra Branigan on Monday, 05 August 2019 18:56

I like the cover design and the synopsis sounds adventurous. Best wishes on your new book.

0
I like the cover design and the synopsis sounds adventurous. Best wishes on your new book.
Rayyan on Monday, 05 August 2019 21:27

The cover is so gorgeous I love the small details and designs. The synopsis got me at "two futures" and the rest of it just pulled me in!

0
The cover is so gorgeous I love the small details and designs. The synopsis got me at "two futures" and the rest of it just pulled me in!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Imber (Book One of The Thanatos Trilogy)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The locks are failing. The...
Awesome Dog 5000 (#1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Marty, Ralph, and Skyler might make the ultimate secret combo...
Althea Gibson: The Story of Tennis' Fleet-of-Foot Girl
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Althea Gibson was the quickest, tallest, most fearless athlete in...
The Big Game
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Danny Owens is dedicating his seventh-grade season to his Super...
Race to the Sun
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lately, seventh grader Nizhoni Begay has been able to detect...
Suffragette: The Battle for Equality
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Imprisonment, hunger strikes, suffrajitsu — the decades-long fight for women’s...
Catherine's War
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A magnificent narrative inspired by a true survival story that...
Dangerous Alliance
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Lady Victoria Aston has everything she could want: an older...
Dugout: The Zombie Steals Home
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twins Stacy and Gina Cavallaro are on rival little league...
The Fountains of Silence
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Madrid, 1957. Under the fascist dictatorship of General Francisco...
Dinosnores (Boynton on Board)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
“Honk SHOOOOOO! Honk SHOOOOOO! . . .” ...
Good Day, Good Night
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now in a sturdy board book format, perfect for little...
TBH, This May Be TMI (TBH, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Told entirely in text messages, the second book in this...
Creep
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The haunting tale of a family that moves into...
Girl at Heart
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
As the daughter of a successful Major League pitcher,...
The Last of the Firedrakes
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She never felt like she belonged…until magic pulled her...

Latest Member Reviews

Roll With It
 
5.0
"Ellie and her mother live in Nashville; her father left when she was young and has another family. Ellie loves..."
From the Desk of Zoe Washington
 
4.0
"Zoe lives in Boston with her mother and stepfather. Her best friend, Trevor, lives next door, but as summer starts,..."
Race to the Sun
 
5.0
"Nizhoni Begay struggles a bit. She manages to embarrass herself on the basketball court, watches out for her younger brother..."
That's What Friends Do
 
4.0
"Sammie and David have been good friends ever since the girls in her class started avoiding Sammie because she didn't..."
Catherine's War
 
5.0
"Catherine is living at the Sèvres Children's Home since both of her parents were taken. It has a progessive school,..."
Speed Demon
 
5.0
"Tim has recently moved to town and is starting ninth grade at Hilton Prep. During gym class one day, his..."
Dangerous Alliance
 
3.7
"Lady Victoria 'Vicky' Aston has a good life. Her older sister is married to a charming Viscount; her family estate..."
Dugout: The Zombie Steals Home
 
4.0
"Gina and Stacy are twins who play for rival baseball teams. This flows off the field into intense and sometimes..."
Dinosnores (Boynton on Board)
 
5.0
"DINOSNORES is another absolutely charming and delightfully ridiculous board book from Sandra Boynton. Here, the dinosaurs get ready for bed,..."
Good Day, Good Night
 
4.0
"GOOD DAY, GOOD NIGHT follows a bunny on his journey from sun-up to sunset, as he travels around town, plays..."
TBH, This May Be TMI (TBH, #2)
 
4.0
"TBH, THIS MAY BE TMI is the second in a contemporary middle grade series, though it can easily function as..."
I've Loved You Since Forever
 
5.0
"This gorgeous board book celebrates the parent-child bond in an absolutely stunning way. I'VE LOVED YOU SINCE FOREVER suggests that..."
My Baby Loves Christmas
 
5.0
"Babies and toddlers will love the colorful celebration of Christmas in this delightful board book. MY BABY LOVES CHRISTMAS is..."
Riverland
 
4.0
"RIVERLAND is a riveting and complex middle grade magical realism novel. Eleanor and her sister, Mike (nickname, everyone except their..."
All You Need Is a Pencil: The Totally Sick Sick-Day Activity Book
 
5.0
"THE TOTALLY SICK SICK-DAY ACTIVITY BOOK is exactly what the title describes. There are crossword puzzles, places to doodle, word..."
Animazes
 
5.0
"ANIMAZES shows the migration patterns of fourteen different creatures. It shows that there are several different paths these creatures can..."
Christmas Cheer for The Grouchy Ladybug
 
3.5
"CHRISTMAS CHEER FOR THE GROUCHY LADYBUG talks about everything exciting Christmas has to offer. There's snowflakes, fires, bells, presents, stockings,..."
Baby Loves the Five Senses: Hearing!
 
4.7
"BABY LOVES THE FIVE SENSES: HEARING teaches everything you need to know about how hearing, the ears, and sound all..."
 
5.0
"In 1935, ten-year-old Alex Maki is disgusted when he finds out that his pen-pal Charlie is a girl. Still, they..."
Under the Snow
 
5.0
"When you see snow, you think of how pretty it is or how cold it is. UNDER THE SNOW opens..."