It's Live!! Cover Reveal: The Weight of Zero by Karen Fortunati + Giveaway (Intl)

It's Live!! Cover Reveal: The Weight of Zero by Karen Fortunati + Giveaway (Intl)

Hi, YABCers!

Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for THE WEIGHT OF ZERO by Karen Fortunati, releasing September 6, 2016 from Delacorte/Penguin Random House. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Karen:

 
Dear Readers, 
 
I'm beyond thrilled to have YABC host the cover reveal of my novel, THE WEIGHT OF ZERO. It was a difficult task but I think the cover perfectly captures the turmoil of a girl who has to deal not only with the standard pressures and stress of high school but also a much heavier weight – a mental illness. Mega kudos to my editor Kate Sullivan and team at Delacorte! I hope you like it!
 
~ Karen Fortunati (THE WEIGHT OF ZERO, Delacorte/Penguin Random House)

 

 

Ready to see?

Scroll, YABCers! Scroll!

...

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

...

 

 

 

 

Here it is!

 

b2ap3_thumbnail_WeightofZero_JKT_120715-3final.jpg

*** If you choose to share this image elsewhere, please include a courtesy link back to this page so others can enter Karen's giveaway. Thank you! ***

 

THE WEIGHT OF ZERO

by Karen Fortunati
Release date: September 6, 2016
Publisher: Delacorte/Penguin Random House
ISBN: 978-1101938898
 
About the Book
 

Seventeen-year-old Cath knows Zero is coming for her. Zero, the devastating depression born of Catherine’s bipolar disease, has almost triumphed once, propelling Cath to her first suicide attempt. With Zero only temporarily restrained by the latest med du jour, time is running out. In an old ballet shoebox, Cath stockpiles meds, preparing to take her own life when Zero arrives.

But Zero’s return is delayed. New relationships along with the care of a new psychiatrist start to alter Catherine's perception of her diagnosis. But will this be enough? This is a story of loss and grief and hope and how the many shapes of love – maternal, romantic and platonic – impact a young woman’s struggle with mental illness.

 
To learn more about this book and see our review, go HERE.
 
 

b2ap3_thumbnail_IMG_2419final.jpgAbout the Author

My path to publication was a long and indirect one. I graduated from the University of Scranton with an accounting degree and followed that up with a law degree from Georgetown. While I toyed with the idea of writing, the bug didn't officially bite until about six years ago. My second full manuscript became THE WEIGHT OF ZERO.  It was awarded the 2014 SCBWI Work-in-Progress Grant in the Contemporary YA category and also named a finalist in the 2015 Tassey-Walden Awards Contest. Right now, I'm working on my next YA novel with a little help from my dogs!
 

Twitter | Web | Preorder | Goodreads |

 

Giveaway Details

Three winners will receive a signed copy of THE WEIGHT OF ZERO and a one hour telephone chat with the author. 

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. Winners will be announced on this site and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30 days after the giveaway ends.

During each giveaway, we ask entrants a question pertaining to the book. Here is the question they'll be answering in the comments below for extra entries:

What do you think about the cover and synopsis?

Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

ALSC Book Awards
The 100 Season 3 Trailer Reveal

Related Posts

 

Comments 22

Already Registered? Login Here
Guest - Tasleema Begum on Thursday, 07 January 2016 15:43

I'm actually so excited to read this book! The cover is awesome, but the synopsis has me really intrigued. It sounds like a really unique portrayal of mental health issues. I've always been really interested in different takes on mental health struggles since they're so personal and often hard to grasp. Really intrigued to read this and maybe get a chance to pick the authors brain for an interview!

0
I'm actually so excited to read this book! The cover is awesome, but the synopsis has me really intrigued. It sounds like a really unique portrayal of mental health issues. I've always been really interested in different takes on mental health struggles since they're so personal and often hard to grasp. Really intrigued to read this and maybe get a chance to pick the authors brain for an interview!
Guest - Catherine on Thursday, 07 January 2016 17:26

Love the look of this cover, and excited to read it. One of my most-anticipated reads of 2016. I'm always looking for more accurate and honest representation of mental illness in YA.

0
Love the look of this cover, and excited to read it. One of my most-anticipated reads of 2016. I'm always looking for more accurate and honest representation of mental illness in YA.
Guest - Maggiw on Sunday, 10 January 2016 17:21

This looks amazing and unique. I feel like I would really enjoy it. The cover would look amazing on my shelf as well!!

0
This looks amazing and unique. I feel like I would really enjoy it. The cover would look amazing on my shelf as well!!
Nanouk, Staff Reviewer (website) on Monday, 11 January 2016 15:37

The cover is very interesting and unique and I love the way the circles are all around her. I think books about mental health issues are always interesting, but this one especially intrigued me and got my attention and I'm really looking forward to it!
Oh, and by the way, I LOVE talking to authors. It gives so much more context to the book!

0
The cover is very interesting and unique and I love the way the circles are all around her. I think books about mental health issues are always interesting, but this one especially intrigued me and got my attention and I'm really looking forward to it! Oh, and by the way, I LOVE talking to authors. It gives so much more context to the book!
Guest - Emily Edwards (website) on Monday, 11 January 2016 20:43

It sounds like a very interesting book. i can't wait to pick it up.

0
It sounds like a very interesting book. i can't wait to pick it up.
Karen Fortunati (website) on Wednesday, 13 January 2016 08:13

Hi Everyone!

Thanks so much for the wonderful comments! I can't wait for the book to be released. And I'm really looking forward to chatting with the winners of the raffle and hearing their thoughts. It will be like having a mini-bookclub!

Thanks so much! Happy reading!

Karen Fortunati

0
Hi Everyone! Thanks so much for the wonderful comments! I can't wait for the book to be released. And I'm really looking forward to chatting with the winners of the raffle and hearing their thoughts. It will be like having a mini-bookclub! Thanks so much! Happy reading! Karen Fortunati
Guest - Jasmine on Saturday, 16 January 2016 11:54

I'm really looking forward to reading this book and THE COVER IS GORGEOUS!!!!

0
I'm really looking forward to reading this book and THE COVER IS GORGEOUS!!!!
Guest - Mohamed Ashraf on Monday, 18 January 2016 08:53

The cover was the main reason I felt interested then I read the synopsis and my interest just hit the roof...

0
The cover was the main reason I felt interested then I read the synopsis and my interest just hit the roof...
Alvaro Cortez on Monday, 18 January 2016 18:08

The cover makes this book look very interesting. It stood out from the others and the synopsis makes me want to read the book even more!

0
The cover makes this book look very interesting. It stood out from the others and the synopsis makes me want to read the book even more!
Kara S (website) on Tuesday, 19 January 2016 13:13

I really admire the courageous approach some YA writers have taken to mental illness -- whether accurate or otherwise, protagonists with such difficulties cannot help but destigmatize people who have challenges adjusting to life's changing circumstances (either because of an illness or a lifestyle diffiulty, or both). I am definitely interested in this storyline! Thanks and cheers, Kara S

0
I really admire the courageous approach some YA writers have taken to mental illness -- whether accurate or otherwise, protagonists with such difficulties cannot help but destigmatize people who have challenges adjusting to life's changing circumstances (either because of an illness or a lifestyle diffiulty, or both). I am definitely interested in this storyline! Thanks and cheers, Kara S

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sana Khan is a cheerleader and a straight A student....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
At seventeen, June Hardie is everything a young woman in...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The definitive collection of art, poetry, and prose, celebrating fat...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh-grader Tristan Strong feels anything but strong ever since he...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Still reeling from her recent battle (and grounded until she...
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cog looks like a normal twelve-year-old boy. But his name...
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the mystical realm of Bríandalör, every day the brave...
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the fourth installment in the Making of America series,...
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hazel knows a lot about the world. That’s because when...
Sublime Karma
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Brie’s stepfather moves the family for what he...
Goddess Ascending
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Promised to the Light. Hunted by the Dark. Two...
Crown of Coral and Pearl
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Nor once dreamed of seeing the wondrous wealth and...
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the...
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Harry Black is lost between the world of war...
Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kazi and Jase have survived, stronger and more in...

Latest Member Reviews

 
5.0
"3 Reasons TELL ME HOW YOU REALLY FEEL needs to be on your shelf immediately: 1.) The spot-on comparison:..."
 
4.0
"Amy Lukavics is one of my favorite horror writers. All of Lukavics's books are a little odd (in the best..."
 
3.0
"You might think that being the daughter of Eros, Kali might be good at the whole cupid thing. Kali would..."
The Cold is in Her Bones
 
3.7
"What I Loved About THE COLD IS IN HER BONES: Milla lives an isolated life on..."
Wilder Girls
 
4.3
"The top 3 reasons you need WILDER GIRLS by Rory Power on your shelf: 1.) The characters:..."
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
"BUTTERFLY YELLOW is a heartfelt and engrossing historical fiction. H?ng is in the US, searching for her younger brother. After..."
 
5.0
"3 Reasons You Need THE OTHER F WORD on your shelves: 1.) The list of contributors: The range of..."
 
5.0
"Tristan Strong isn't doing too well. He lost his best friend, Eddie, in a bus accident, lost a boxing match,..."
 
5.0
"*This review contains spoilers for book one, A BLADE SO BLACK* A DREAM SO DARK, sequel to A BLADE..."
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
"Cog looks like an ordinary twelve year old boy, but he is an advanced android that the scientists at uniMind..."
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
"Hazel lives on a farm with her two mothers and her older brother Rowan. They have a heard of goats..."
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
"Albiorix is a young Medieval wizard from the mystical realm of Bríandalör who is Hall Master for the role playing..."