It's Live!! Cover Reveal: The Memory Trees by Kali Wallace + Giveaway (US/Canada)

It's Live!! Cover Reveal: The Memory Trees by Kali Wallace + Giveaway (US/Canada)

Hi, YABCers!

Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for THE MEMORY TREES by Kali Wallace, releasing October 10, 2017 from Katherine Tegen Books. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Kali:

Hello, YABC readers! I am so happy to have a chance to share the lovely cover of The Memory Trees with you. This is a book about mothers and daughters, families and feuding, and dark secrets from long ago, all set in an apple orchard in the mountains of Vermont. I'm not the most visually-inclined person, so the only ideas I had for the artist and designer were along the lines of, "IDK, maybe some trees? Like, real trees? Or family trees? Trees?" Luckily, they didn't need my help. Artist Connie Gabbert and designer Heather Daugherty put together a cover that is so beautiful I've been sneaking looks at it for weeks to reassure myself that it's real. I love that it's a little bit spooky (the sly hints of red! the bare branches! the flame!), a little bit old-fashioned in a classy kind of way, and an absolutely perfect match to the story and atmosphere of the book. I couldn't be happier with how it turned out.

~Kali Wallace (THE MEMORY TREES, Katherine Tegen Books)

 

Ready to see?

Scroll, YABCers! Scroll!

...

...

...

...

...

...

...

Here it is!

 
 
 
 
  

*** If you choose to share this image elsewhere, please include a courtesy link back to this page so others can enter Kali's giveaway. Thank you! ***

THE MEMORY TREES

by Kali Wallace
Release date: October 10, 2017
Publisher: Katherine Tegen Books
 ISBN: 9780062366238
 
About the Book

Sorrow Lovegood's life has been shaped by the stories of her ancestors: brave, resilient women who have lived for generations on a capricious apple orchard in Vermont. Sorrow and her family take pride in their land and its strange history. Their offbeat way of living may be ridiculed by the townspeople--especially their neighbors, the Abrams family--but for the first eight years of her life, the orchard is Sorrow's whole world.

Then one winter night everything changes. Sorrow's sister Patience is tragically killed. Their mother suffers a mental breakdown. Sorrow is sent to live with her father in Miami, away from the only home she’s ever known.

Now sixteen, Sorrow's memories of her life in Vermont are maddeningly hazy; even the details of her sister's death are unclear. She returns to the orchard for the summer, determined to learn more about her troubled childhood and the family she left eight years ago. Why has her mother kept her distance over the years? What actually happened the night Patience died? Is the orchard trying to tell her something, or is she just imagining things?

The Memory Trees is a darkly magical novel about a mysterious family legacy, the bonds of sisterhood, and the strange and powerful ways we are shaped by the places we call home.
 
 
 
About the Author

Kali Wallace studied geology and geophysics before she realized she enjoyed inventing imaginary worlds more than she liked researching the real one. Her short fiction has appeared in Clarkesworld, F&SF, Asimov's, and Tor.com. After spending most of her life in Colorado, she now lives in southern California. Her first novel, Shallow Graves, was published by HarperCollins in 2016.

Website| Twitter | Facebook| Preorder|Goodreads|Instagram|

Giveaway Details

Three winners will each receive a signed hardcover copy of Kali Wallace's first novel, SHALLOW GRAVES, which the option to be personalized.

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. Winners will be announced on this site and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30 days after the giveaway ends.

During each giveaway, we ask entrants a question pertaining to the book. Here is the question they'll be answering in the comments below for extra entries:

What do you think about the cover and synopsis?

Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

It's Live!! Cover Reveal: Even the Darkest Stars b...
Rockstar Book Tours Blog Tour, Spotlight, & Giveaw...
 

Comments 14

Already Registered? Login Here
John on Sunday, 05 February 2017 18:33

The cover is very simple and direct, and I very much enjoyed the synopsis!

0
The cover is very simple and direct, and I very much enjoyed the synopsis!
Anne on Monday, 06 February 2017 18:04

Not a fan of the cover but I love the synopsis. Seems like a good book to read!

0
Not a fan of the cover but I love the synopsis. Seems like a good book to read!
Caity Dooley on Tuesday, 07 February 2017 12:39

The cover is nice but could be better and the synopsis is intriguing

0
The cover is nice but could be better and the synopsis is intriguing
Nancy Hernandez on Wednesday, 08 February 2017 23:15

I love when there are family secrets because it makes for a great drama and mystery. The cover is okay but I think I like the story a lot more.

0
I love when there are family secrets because it makes for a great drama and mystery. The cover is okay but I think I like the story a lot more.
Susan T. on Friday, 10 February 2017 18:21

The cover is pretty but also creepy which sounds like it fits the story perfectly! I'm really intrigued by the synopsis and can't wait to read it!

0
The cover is pretty but also creepy which sounds like it fits the story perfectly! I'm really intrigued by the synopsis and can't wait to read it!
Julie on Saturday, 11 February 2017 16:50

The cover isn't my favorite ever, but it's nice. The synopsis is really interesting. It sounds very mysterious, and I like the orchard setting.

0
The cover isn't my favorite ever, but it's nice. The synopsis is really interesting. It sounds very mysterious, and I like the orchard setting.
Kristi Housman on Tuesday, 14 February 2017 18:50

Love this cover so much! Can't wait to read the book.

0
Love this cover so much! Can't wait to read the book.
Kelly G on Friday, 17 February 2017 12:36

This book sounds amazing, and that cover is gorgeous!

0
This book sounds amazing, and that cover is gorgeous!
Dianna G. on Saturday, 18 February 2017 00:01

More than just the cover, I really like the title. It sounds like a fascinating, deep story that already drew me in.

0
More than just the cover, I really like the title. It sounds like a fascinating, deep story that already drew me in.
Cat on Saturday, 18 February 2017 13:55

I absolutely love the cover. The haunting trees, the items hidden throughout, the mystery.. Its beautiful. The story sounds very intriguing!

0
I absolutely love the cover. The haunting trees, the items hidden throughout, the mystery.. Its beautiful. The story sounds very intriguing!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sana Khan is a cheerleader and a straight A student....
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
At seventeen, June Hardie is everything a young woman in...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The definitive collection of art, poetry, and prose, celebrating fat...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh-grader Tristan Strong feels anything but strong ever since he...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Still reeling from her recent battle (and grounded until she...
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cog looks like a normal twelve-year-old boy. But his name...
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the mystical realm of Bríandalör, every day the brave...
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the fourth installment in the Making of America series,...
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hazel knows a lot about the world. That’s because when...
Sublime Karma
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Brie’s stepfather moves the family for what he...
Goddess Ascending
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Promised to the Light. Hunted by the Dark. Two...
Crown of Coral and Pearl
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Nor once dreamed of seeing the wondrous wealth and...
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the...
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Harry Black is lost between the world of war...
Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kazi and Jase have survived, stronger and more in...

Latest Member Reviews

 
5.0
"3 Reasons TELL ME HOW YOU REALLY FEEL needs to be on your shelf immediately: 1.) The spot-on comparison:..."
 
4.0
"Amy Lukavics is one of my favorite horror writers. All of Lukavics's books are a little odd (in the best..."
 
3.0
"You might think that being the daughter of Eros, Kali might be good at the whole cupid thing. Kali would..."
The Cold is in Her Bones
 
3.7
"What I Loved About THE COLD IS IN HER BONES: Milla lives an isolated life on..."
Wilder Girls
 
4.3
"The top 3 reasons you need WILDER GIRLS by Rory Power on your shelf: 1.) The characters:..."
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
"BUTTERFLY YELLOW is a heartfelt and engrossing historical fiction. H?ng is in the US, searching for her younger brother. After..."
 
5.0
"3 Reasons You Need THE OTHER F WORD on your shelves: 1.) The list of contributors: The range of..."
 
5.0
"Tristan Strong isn't doing too well. He lost his best friend, Eddie, in a bus accident, lost a boxing match,..."
 
5.0
"*This review contains spoilers for book one, A BLADE SO BLACK* A DREAM SO DARK, sequel to A BLADE..."
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
"Cog looks like an ordinary twelve year old boy, but he is an advanced android that the scientists at uniMind..."
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
"Hazel lives on a farm with her two mothers and her older brother Rowan. They have a heard of goats..."
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
"Albiorix is a young Medieval wizard from the mystical realm of Bríandalör who is Hall Master for the role playing..."
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
"Why we still need biographies of first wave feminists: "A married woman taking her husband's name reflected that under legal..."
The Lady Rogue
 
5.0
"THE LADY ROGUE is an absolutely thrilling historical fiction/fantasy. In the vein of THE MUMMY but in Romania and with..."
The Burning Shadow (Origin Series, #2)
 
3.7
"What worked: I'm a huge fan of the Lux series and LOVE Daemon. The relationship between Daemon and Kat is..."
The Owls Have Come to Take Us Away
 
3.0
"THE OWLS HAVE COME TO TAKE US AWAY is a middle grade sci-fi/horror (though not too scary) that follows a..."
A Very Pikmi Halloween (Pikmi Pops)
 
4.0
"Celebrate Halloween with the Pikmi Pops in this cute story about friendship. Wubbs the Bat and Vampy the Bat are..."
Apocalypse Taco
 
4.0
"APOCALYPSE TACO is a horror graphic novel that follows two middle school aged boys, Axl and Ivan. Axl and Ivan..."
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
"VOYAGES IN THE UNDERWORLD OF ORPHEUS BLACK is a story about brotherhood, war, and the power of art. Harry is..."
Awesome Achievers in Technology: Super and Strange Facts about 12 Almost Famous History Makers
 
4.3
"AWESOME ACHIEVERS IN TECHNOLOGY is an approachable middle grade non-fiction book about people behind every day inventions that you may..."