It’s Live!! Cover Reveal: The Blue Witch by Alane Adams + Giveaway (US Only)

COVER-The-Blue-Witch-by-Alane-Adams-final-header

Hi, YABCers!

Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for THE BLUE WITCH by Alane Adams, releasing on October 23, 2018 from Spark Press. Before we get to the reveal, here's a note from Alane:

Hello and welcome to the cover reveal of my new book The Blue Witch!

I’m so excited to share this fantasy adventure book with you! My new The Witches of Orkney series is written especially for a middle grade reader. The Blue Witch, book one in my new series, offers the same Norse mythology inspired exciting action and adventure as my The Legends of Orkney YA series, along with plenty of witch magic. Having been an avid reader my entire life, books based on mythology have always fascinated me the most. I think it’s the idea of magic and the unlimited potential behind the surreal. Building an entirely new world like the fantastical realm of Orkney in both of my series has been a wonderful challenge. You will be able to find The Blue Witch in stores on October 23rd.  I hope you enjoy it!

Alane Adams (The Blue Witch)

 


Ready to see?

Scroll, YABCers! Scroll!

...

...

...

...

...

...

...

Here it is!

 
  
 
 
 
 

*** If you choose to share this image elsewhere, please include a courtesy link back to this page so that others can enter the giveaway. Thank you! ***

THE BLUE WITCH

By: Alane Adams

Release Date: October 23, 2018

ISBN:  9781943006779

Publisher: Spark Press

 
 
About the Book

Before Sam Baron broke Odin’s curse on the witches to become the first son born to a witch and the hero of the Legends of Orkney series, his mother was a young witchling growing up in the Tarkana Witch Academy. In this first book of the prequel series, the Witches of Orkney, nine-year-old Abigail Tarkana is determined to grow up to be the greatest witch of all, even greater than her evil ancestor Catriona. Unfortunately, she is about to fail Spectacular Spells class because her witch magic hasn’t come in yet. Even worse, her nemesis, Endera, is making life miserable by trying to get her kicked out. When her new friend Hugo’s life is put in danger by a stampeding sneevil, a desperate Abigail manages to call up her magic—only to find out it’s unlike any other witchling’s at the Tarkana Witch Academy! Witchfire is meant to be green, but Abigail’s burns bright blue, something that’s bound to get her into trouble. After a competition is announced to see who can bespell the most powerful creature, Abigail enters the swamps, only to be snatched up by an Omera, a powerful winged beast capable of tearing Abigail to pieces. This one is a mother with a stubborn hatchling that won’t hatch—and if Abigail can’t find a way to help, Big Mama may just decide to eat her! Fortunately, Hugo arrives in time to help Abigail discover the truth about her magic: it was given by her father, Rigel, the morning star. Rigel was once a mighty warrior named Aurvendil and companion to the mighty Thor. Rich in Norse mythology, The Blue Witch is the first of a fast-paced middle-grade series in which Abigail and Hugo must also travel to the Netherworld, along with a glitch-witch named Calla, to rescue her nemesis and save herself from being kicked out of the coven.


 

 
 
 
Find the Author

Website - Twitter - Facebook - Instagram - Goodreads - Preorder

Giveaway Details

1 winner will receive a galley copy of THE BLUE WITCH, when available.

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. Winners will be announced on this site and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30 days after the giveaway ends.

During each giveaway, we ask entrants a question pertaining to the book. Here is the question they'll be answering in the comments below for extra entries:

What do you think about the cover and synopsis?

a Rafflecopter giveaway

What's New In YA ~ April 17th, 2018
Featured Review: Ace Of Shades (Amanda Foody)
 

Comments 5

Already Registered? Login Here
John on Monday, 16 April 2018 21:17

The cover is cool, and I'd enjoy reading about Norse-influenced witches and magic!

0
The cover is cool, and I'd enjoy reading about Norse-influenced witches and magic!
Julie Daniels on Wednesday, 25 April 2018 06:23

This sounds so exciting and fun! I've really been into Midle Grade Fantasy lately and I love find in books to try to get my daughter to read as well. This one sounds like it woul be a hit with us both! I love all types of mythology so I can't wait to see how this one incorporates it!

0
This sounds so exciting and fun! I've really been into Midle Grade Fantasy lately and I love find in books to try to get my daughter to read as well. This one sounds like it woul be a hit with us both! I love all types of mythology so I can't wait to see how this one incorporates it!
Marisa Fort on Wednesday, 25 April 2018 14:14

The cover is awesome and the synopsis sounds amazing!

0
The cover is awesome and the synopsis sounds amazing!
Penny Olson on Wednesday, 09 May 2018 00:16

The cover is adventurous. The story sounds really fun.

0
The cover is adventurous. The story sounds really fun.
Danielle Hammelef on Monday, 14 May 2018 11:17

The cover is fun and the synopsis also sounds fun to read, especially with the promised magic.

0
The cover is fun and the synopsis also sounds fun to read, especially with the promised magic.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

Admission
 
5.0
"‘Admission’ by Julie Buxbaum is a modern and definitely current read on a topic that has been in the news...."
Running
 
5.0
"‘Running’ by Natalia Sylvester is a trend-setting anthem for anyone who has ever wanted to be the change they wish..."
The Fire in the Glass
 
4.7
"Lily can see the future and when she sees her friend killed, she tries to save her. Lily is an..."
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
"CHRISTMAS PARADE is another cute and brightly colored board book from Boynton. In this book, children see a Christmas parade,..."
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
"BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD is a sweet picture book about friends and doing the right thing. Roland lives..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
Bird Show
 
4.3
"If birds had a fashion show, they would show off their unique plumage! BIRD SHOW is a brightly colored book..."
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
"MY BOOK OF FEELINGS is a great conversation starter for emotions with toddlers. The book features spinning emoji faces of..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."