It’s Live!! Cover Reveal: The Bird and the Blade by Megan Bannen + Giveaway (US/Canada)

BirdandtheBlade_jkt-final-header

Hi, YABCers!

Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for THE BIRD AND THE BLADE by Megan Bannen, releasing June 5, 2018 from Balzer + Bray. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Megan:

Hi, YABC-ers! I’m over the moon to be unleashing the cover of my debut novel, THE BIRD AND THE BLADE, right here on YA Books Central. When my editor suggested the title for this book, she mentioned that it had the potential to inspire fantastic cover art, and, whew, she wasn’t kidding: feathers and sparks and Mongolian metalwork – oh my! And the lettering that looks like blades?? I can’t even. Designer Michelle Taormina and the good folks at Vault 49 have officially knocked my socks off. All I can say is that those of you who have longed for a retelling of an eighteenth century French fairy tale based on a medieval Persian poem set in the thirteenth century Mongol empire (and even those of you who never knew this is what you always wanted) will surely drool all over the gobsmackingly beautiful cover as it appears in high resolution on your computer screens. Drool away, y’all. I know I did.

~Megan





Ready to see?

Scroll, YABCers! Scroll!

...

...

...

...

...

...

...

Here it is!

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

*** If you choose to share this image elsewhere, please include a courtesy link back to this page so that others can enter the giveaway. Thank you! ***

THE BIRD AND THE BLADE

By: Megan Bannen

Release date: June 5, 2018
Publisher: Balzer + Bray
 
 
 
About the Book

As a slave in the Kipchak Khanate, Jinghua has lost everything: her home, her family, her freedom … until she finds herself an unlikely conspirator in the escape of Prince Khalaf and his irascible father as they flee from their enemies across the vast Mongol Empire. On the run, with adversaries on all sides and an endless journey ahead, Jinghua hatches a scheme to use the Kipchaks’ exile to return home, a plan that becomes increasingly fraught as her feelings for Khalaf evolve into a hopeless love.

Jinghua’s already dicey prospects take a downward turn when Khalaf seeks to restore his kingdom by forging a marriage alliance with Turandokht, the daughter of the Great Khan. As beautiful as she is cunning, Turandokht requires all potential suitors to solve three impossible riddles to win her hand—and if they fail, they die.

Jinghua has kept her own counsel well, but with Khalaf’s kingdom—and his very life—on the line, she must reconcile the hard truth of her past with her love for a boy who has no idea what she’s capable of ... even if it means losing him to the girl who’d sooner take his life than his heart.

THE BIRD AND THE BLADE is a lush, powerful story of life and death, battles and riddles, lies and secrets from debut author Megan Bannen.

 
 
 
 
About the Author

Megan Bannen is a librarian who has an odd habit of collecting graduate degrees from Kansas colleges and universities in her spare time. While most of her professional career has been spent in public libraries, she has also sold luggage, written grants, and taught English at home and abroad. She lives in the Kansas City area with her husband, their two sons, and a few too many pets with literary names. You can find her online at www.meganbannen.com.

Website - Twitter - Facebook - Goodreads - Instagram - Preorder

 

Giveaway Details

One winner will receive a signed ARC of THE BIRD AND THE BLADE, when available.

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. Winners will be announced on this site and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30 days after the giveaway ends.

During each giveaway, we ask entrants a question pertaining to the book. Here is the question they'll be answering in the comments below for extra entries:

What do you think about the cover and synopsis?

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Spooktacular Stories Giveaway of 2017! (Children's...
YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ October 16th, 2017
 

Comments 11

Already Registered? Login Here
Julie on Wednesday, 18 October 2017 03:16

Oooh. That's tough. As a young teen, I loved the Clique series (silly as those books are).

0
Oooh. That's tough. As a young teen, I loved the Clique series (silly as those books are).
Shannon Mizikoski on Sunday, 22 October 2017 23:05

The cover is SO pretty! I adore it! And I think the synopsis sounds really unique, and quite gritty!

0
The cover is SO pretty! I adore it! And I think the synopsis sounds really unique, and quite gritty!
John on Monday, 23 October 2017 17:03

"What was your favorite book that you read when you were a Teen? Comment below!" Penrod, Brave New World.

0
"What was your favorite book that you read when you were a Teen? Comment below!" Penrod, Brave New World.
Lily M. on Tuesday, 24 October 2017 05:35

Wow I've never seen this book before the cover looks amazing and it sounds amazing ? my favorite book as a teen was Daughter of the Forest by Juliet Marillier ??

0
Wow I've never seen this book before the cover looks amazing and it sounds amazing ? my favorite book as a teen was Daughter of the Forest by Juliet Marillier ??
Mindy on Tuesday, 24 October 2017 21:41

The Alchemist was my favorite book as a teen

0
The Alchemist was my favorite book as a teen
Cinder Blaze on Monday, 30 October 2017 21:10

The cover looks very pretty, and I love the font. The synopsis sounds amazing, and I really want to read it!
I really enjoyed the I Am Number Four series when I was a teen.

0
The cover looks very pretty, and I love the font. The synopsis sounds amazing, and I really want to read it! I really enjoyed the I Am Number Four series when I was a teen.
Kelly G on Sunday, 12 November 2017 23:30

When I was a teen my favorite book was Leftovers by Laura Weiss.

0
When I was a teen my favorite book was Leftovers by Laura Weiss.
Penny Olson on Monday, 13 November 2017 00:48

I liked To Kill a Mockingbird, Brave New World and the Handmaid's Tale.

0
I liked To Kill a Mockingbird, Brave New World and the Handmaid's Tale.
Danielle Hammelef on Tuesday, 14 November 2017 14:12

My favorite book as a teen was Little Women.

0
My favorite book as a teen was Little Women.
Sarah on Wednesday, 15 November 2017 00:31

I liked To Kill a Mockingbird when I had to read it in middle school.

0
I liked To Kill a Mockingbird when I had to read it in middle school.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...

Latest Member Reviews

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
"A compilation of excerpts from fifteen noteworthy speeches, selected from across American history. The chosen pieces represent great variety,..."
Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
"BERNARD MAKES A SPLASH is an overall cute story about stepping outside of your comfort zone. Bernard practices diving whenever..."
Lost for Words
 
5.0
"LOST FOR WORDS is a sweet picture book about finding your own way to express yourself. Tapir has a new..."
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
"WILD GIRL: HOW TO HAVE INCREDIBLE OUTDOOR ADVENTURES is written by Helen Skelton, a veteran wild girl herself. In this..."
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S PAINT BOX is a charming board book about colors. Stanley is helping Sophie, Little Woo, and Benjamin paint boxes...."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."