It's Live!! Cover Reveal: If You Were Here by Jennie Yabroff + Giveaway (US/Canada)

It's Live!! Cover Reveal: If You Were Here by Jennie Yabroff + Giveaway (US/Canada)

Hi, YABCers!

Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for IF YOU WERE HERE by Jennie Yabroff, releasing January 2, 2017 from Merit Press. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Jennie:

Hey YABCers! “Thanks for getting my undies back.” “Thanks for coming over.” “Thanks for coming to get me.” If you are as big a fan as I am of the classic 1980s movie 16 Candles, you’ll know exactly what those quotes mean. And I hope you are, because otherwise you’ll think I’m very weird. 16 Candles plays a big role in my novel IF YOU WERE HERE – watching it allows my main character, Tess, to escape the grim reality of her life for a few hours. But when tragedy strikes, Tess starts questioning how much of reality she can even trust. My book is about friendship, and family, and 16 Candles (obviously,) but it’s also about the possibility of magic everywhere: the magic of being different, the magic of staying true to yourself, the magic of growing up. I hope you enjoy it!

~Jennie Yabroff (IF YOU WERE HERE, Merit Press)

 

Ready to see?

Scroll, YABCers! Scroll!

...

...

...

...

...

...

...

Here it is!

 
 
 

*** If you choose to share this image elsewhere, please include a courtesy link back to this page so others can enter Jennie's giveaway. Thank you! ***

IF YOU WERE HERE

by Jennie Yabroff
Release date: January 2, 2017
Publisher: Merit Press
ISBN: 9781507200025
 
About the Book

Is there a line between gifted and insane? How do you know if you've crossed it?

Tess was semi-successfully passing for normal before her mother's erratic behavior turned her into social cyanide. Now life is only bearable thanks to weekend 16 Candles and Oreo binges with her best (and only) friend, Tabitha. Then Tabitha inexplicably drops Tess, leaving her alone with her fears about her mother and the troubling visions that leave her shaking with dread. Before Tess can come to terms with this loss, a horrific tragedy occurs at school, and everyone is blaming her. Now, Tess must find answers, fast: What really happened that night at school? Is she responsible? And do her visions mean she has a gift of prophecy, or the same mental illness
that is stealing her mom?

To learn more about this book and see our review, click HERE.
 
 

About the Author

Jennie Yabroff was born and raised in Berkeley, California and received her MFA from Columbia University. She was a staff arts and culture writer for Newsweek and now writes freelance criticism and essays. Based in New York, she currently lives in Rome, Italy, with her family. This is her first novel.

Preorder| Goodreads

Giveaway Details

Five winners will each receive an ARC of IF YOU WERE HERE, when available. One winner of the 5 will receive a grand prize of one free book, one DVD of Sixteen Candles (which features prominently in the book), and one package of fudge-covered Oreos (also featured in the book).

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. Winners will be announced on this site and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30 days after the giveaway ends.

During each giveaway, we ask entrants a question pertaining to the book. Here is the question they'll be answering in the comments below for extra entries:

What do you think about the cover and synopsis?

Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

It's Live!! Cover Reveal: Alterations by Stephanie...
Featured Review: Gemina (Jay Kristoff & Amie Kaufm...
 

Comments 17

Already Registered? Login Here
Tiffany Engler on Wednesday, 19 October 2016 11:33

This sounds like it's going to be a great book!!

0
This sounds like it's going to be a great book!!
Kara S on Monday, 24 October 2016 08:11

The cover is beautiful, and the line between gifted and insane is a fascinating premise! Thanks, Kara S

0
The cover is beautiful, and the line between gifted and insane is a fascinating premise! Thanks, Kara S
Dianna G. on Tuesday, 25 October 2016 21:52

What an interesting concept...kind of like A Beautiful Mind!
The cover is lovely. Those dark colors really set the mood for the story.

0
What an interesting concept...kind of like A Beautiful Mind! The cover is lovely. Those dark colors really set the mood for the story.
Caity Dooley on Thursday, 27 October 2016 01:05

I like how this cover only really uses a blue-ish pallet and I loved 16 candles so this book really appeals to me

0
I like how this cover only really uses a blue-ish pallet and I loved 16 candles so this book really appeals to me
Linda Romer on Thursday, 27 October 2016 08:30

If you were here sounds like a great story and the cover is very pretty ♡ I love the colors. Thank You

0
If you were here sounds like a great story and the cover is very pretty ♡ I love the colors. Thank You
John on Wednesday, 02 November 2016 23:56

Intriguing cover and synopsis.

0
Intriguing cover and synopsis.
Maggie on Saturday, 05 November 2016 01:33

I love them. The cover is so peaceful and the book sounds wonderfully unique!

0
I love them. The cover is so peaceful and the book sounds wonderfully unique!
Eddie Black on Saturday, 05 November 2016 15:35

I'm always happy to see more books where kids have to cope with a parent's mental illness. Books are such a great way for kids to find someone they can relate to, but too few books touch on this subject. Glad this was written.

0
I'm always happy to see more books where kids have to cope with a parent's mental illness. Books are such a great way for kids to find someone they can relate to, but too few books touch on this subject. Glad this was written.
KM on Monday, 07 November 2016 14:25

This is a total must-read for me.

0
This is a total must-read for me.
Amie Lambert-Gaudet on Tuesday, 08 November 2016 13:00

The cover is good but the synopsis is excellent. I love the movie 16 Candles even though it has been years since I watched it.
Mental illness is finally getting talked about more, but there is still a social stigma attached to it. I love the fact that this is being addressed in this book.
Thanks for offering a chance to win such an awesome prize

0
The cover is good but the synopsis is excellent. I love the movie 16 Candles even though it has been years since I watched it. Mental illness is finally getting talked about more, but there is still a social stigma attached to it. I love the fact that this is being addressed in this book. Thanks for offering a chance to win such an awesome prize

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Life Below
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful world as you...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The inspiring, deeply patriotic true story of John Glenn, a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A wildly imaginative introduction to yoga and nutrition by bestselling...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A book jam-packed with eight creative activities to make beautiful...
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King, is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It had been a great day. Perhaps the Best Day…...

Latest Member Reviews

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
The Slug Queen Chronicles
 
5.0
"When Cricket finds out that the dust she's seen her whole life has magical properties and her late mother could..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
5.0
"Another chilling story from L.V. Pires. This one started out with the main character from Book 1, Casey, fighting an..."
Ghosting You
 
4.8
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A heartwarming love story. The Story: Tommy..."
A Pain Less Ordinary
 
5.0
"A Pain Less Ordinary is a tragic tale of a modern girl whose family has fallen apart. Becca struggles to..."
The Waiting Mortuary
 
5.0
"I'm not normally one to read horror fiction, but I thought I'd give this book a chance and was blown..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"After Cassie witnesses the murder of her mother, she develops anxiety over just about everything. She doesn't talk to anyone..."
Seneca Lake
 
4.8
"Meg lives in a small town in upstate NY (outside Ithaca) in the later years of WWII. She is torn..."