It’s Live!! Cover Reveal: Everything I Thought I Knew by Shannon Takaoka + Giveaway (US/Canada)

YABC-cover-reveal-red

Today we're excited to celebrate the cover reveal for 

Everything I Thought I Knew by Shannon Takaoka,

releasing 10/13/2020 from Candlewick Press!

Before we get to the cover, here's a note from the author:

Hello YABC! It’s almost Valentine’s Day and I couldn’t ask for a better week to share the cover of EVERYTHING I THOUGHT I KNEW with you… you’ll see why when you scroll down!

This cover. I loved it from the second I saw it—it’s dreamy, ethereal, a little bit cosmic and perfectly captures the essence of my story, which focuses on a girl questioning everything about who she is and who she wants to be following a heart transplant. From the gorgeous, nebula-like colors, to the main image, to the dissolving font, it all just works together so beautifully. I can’t thank Candlewick’s designer, Matt Roeser, enough. He absolutely nailed it. (You can see some of his other work at www.mattmakesbooks.com – all of his covers are awesome.) Read on for more about the book and for details on how to win a signed ARC. Thanks for checking out my cover! 

Shannon Takaoka (EVERYTHING I THOUGHT I KNEW, Candlewick Press)

 

Ready?

--

--

--

--

--

--

--

--

--

Here it is!

 

*** If you choose to share this image elsewhere,

please include a courtesy link back to this page so that others can enter the giveaway. Thank you! ***

EVERYTHING I THOUGHT I KNEW

Shannon Takaoka

Release date: 10/13/2020

About the Book

Here’s one of the many things I thought I knew that turns out to be wrong: you need to fall in love to end up with a broken heart.

That’s not how it was for me. At least not at first.

Seventeen-year-old Chloe had a plan: work hard, get good grades, and attend a top-tier college. But after she collapses during cross-country practice and is told she needs a new heart, all her careful preparations are laid to waste. Six months after her transplant, everything is different. Stuck in summer school with the underachievers, the “new Chloe” takes heedless risks, like skipping her anti-rejection meds while running wild with the class party girl and nearly crashing a motorcycle she’s not even licensed to drive. Even more unsettling: her recurring nightmares of dying and the strange, vivid memories she doesn’t recognize as her own.

The only place Chloe feels at home is in the ocean, where she’s learning to surf the Pacific’s wild waves and slowly falling for her instructor, Kai. But as her strange symptoms continue, she becomes more and more convinced that something is wrong with her new heart—or even worse, her mind. As Chloe searches for answers, what she learns will lead her to question everything she thought she knew about life, death, love, identity and the true nature of reality.

 

About the Author

Shannon Takaoka is a YA fiction and marketing writer who loves books (of course), pop culture, podcasts, running, hiking, good food and lots of coffee. She’s especially into all things nerdy, spooky or a little bit strange. (Time travel? Weird science-y stuff? Speculative realities? Yes, please.) Originally from Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, Shannon now lives in the San Francisco Bay Area with her husband, two children and one very needy dog, who is probably trying to lean on her keyboard as we speak.

Website - Twitter - Instagram - Goodreads - Preorder Amazon - Preorder Barnes and Noble - Preorder IndieBound

Giveaway Details

3 winners will each receive a signed ARC of EVERYTHING I THOUGHT I KNEW, when available. Open US/Canada.

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. Winners will be announced on this site and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30 days after the giveaway ends.

During each giveaway, we ask entrants a question pertaining to the book.

Here is the question they'll be answering in the comments below for extra entries:

What do you think about the cover and synopsis?

Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Spotlight on Demon Bound (Chris Cannon), Excerpt, ...
Featured Review: The Subject's Aim (P.R. Castle)
 

Comments 3

Already Registered? Login Here
jamesblack on Thursday, 13 February 2020 01:01

Thanks for sharing this amazing information blog and i like that is well sell my house in Fort Myers fl.

0
Thanks for sharing this amazing information blog and i like that is well [url=https://webuyswflhomes.com/]sell my house in Fort Myers fl[/url].
Brittany Colpitts on Sunday, 16 February 2020 11:00

Beautiful synopsis, really hit home for me. I used to run competitively during high school until I was diagnosed with a respiratory disease that left me in the hospital for almost a month. I wish there was more rep like this in YA.

0
Beautiful synopsis, really hit home for me. I used to run competitively during high school until I was diagnosed with a respiratory disease that left me in the hospital for almost a month. I wish there was more rep like this in YA.
Rayne on Monday, 17 February 2020 23:36

I love the beautiful assortment of colours, the cover is very eye-catching and stands out! Judging by the synposis, this sounds like a really interesting and emotional concept. I love books that are hard hitting and make you think and it sounds like this is one of them.

0
I love the beautiful assortment of colours, the cover is very eye-catching and stands out! Judging by the synposis, this sounds like a really interesting and emotional concept. I love books that are hard hitting and make you think and it sounds like this is one of them.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
The Slug Queen Chronicles
 
5.0
"When Cricket finds out that the dust she's seen her whole life has magical properties and her late mother could..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
5.0
"Another chilling story from L.V. Pires. This one started out with the main character from Book 1, Casey, fighting an..."
Ghosting You
 
4.8
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A heartwarming love story. The Story: Tommy..."