It's Live!! Cover Reveal: City of Grit and Gold by Maud Macrory Powell + Giveaway (US Only)

It's Live!! Cover Reveal: City of Grit and Gold by Maud Macrory Powell + Giveaway (US Only)

Hi, YABCers!

Today we're super excited to celebrate the cover reveal for CITY OF GRIT AND GOLD by Maud Macrory Powell, releasing May 1, 2017 from Allium Press of Chicago. Before we get to the cover, here's a note from Maud:

I’m very excited to share the cover of my debut novel, City of Grit and Gold. The split images, one an intimate photo of a nineteenth century girl and the other an illustration of the Haymarket labor riot, cleverly depicts the nature of the book—the story of one girl’s perspective of a dramatic moment in history.  The girl in the photo is a beautiful representation of Addie, who has donned a fancy hat from her father’s shop and appears to be looking off distractedly at the exciting and dramatic events of her life in Chicago in 1886. The type set on the cover resembles a newspaper font, another lovely detail that conveys the sense of the novel. Thanks to publisher Emily Victorson for designing such an evocative and beautiful cover.

~Maud Macrory Powell (CITY OF GRIT AND GOLD, Allium Press of Chicago)

 

Ready to see?

Scroll, YABCers! Scroll!

...

...

...

...

...

...

...

Here it is!

 
 
 
 
  

*** If you choose to share this image elsewhere, please include a courtesy link back to this page so others can enter Maud's giveaway. Thank you! ***

CITY OF GRIT AND GOLD

by: Maud Macrory Powell
Release date: May 1, 2017
Publisher: Allium Press of Chicago
 ISBN: 978-0996755856
 
About the Book

The streets of Chicago in 1886 are full of turmoil. Striking workers clash with police…illness and injury lurk around every corner…and twelve-year-old Addie must find her way through it all. Torn between her gruff Papa—who owns a hat shop and thinks the workers should be content with their American lives—and her beloved Uncle Chaim—who is active in the protests for the eight-hour day—Addie struggles to understand her topsy-turvy world, while keeping her family intact. Set in a Jewish neighborhood of Chicago during the days surrounding the Haymarket Affair, this novel vividly portrays one immigrant family’s experience, while also eloquently depicting the timeless conflict between the haves and the have-nots.


 
 
 
About the Author

Maud Macrory Powell comes from a family of writers. She was born and raised in Washington, DC. She studied comparative religion in college and environmental studies in graduate school. She now lives in rural Oregon with her family, where they run an organic farm and she teaches at Oregon State University. Her essay “The Fruits of My Labor” was published in the anthology Greenhorns: The Next Generation of American Farmers. This is her debut novel.

Website - Facebook - Goodreads - YABC Profile - Pinterest

Giveaway Details

5 winners will each receive one signed copy of CITY OF GRIT AND GOLD.

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. Winners will be announced on this site and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30 days after the giveaway ends.

During each giveaway, we ask entrants a question pertaining to the book. Here is the question they'll be answering in the comments below for extra entries:

What do you think about the cover and synopsis?

Click the Rafflecopter link below to enter the giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Waiting On Wednesday ~ April 5th, 2017
Giveaway: MOTOR GIRLS (US Only)

Related Posts

 

Comments 5

Already Registered? Login Here
John on Wednesday, 05 April 2017 22:40

The cover is very cool, and the synopsis gave me a good idea of what the book is about!

0
The cover is very cool, and the synopsis gave me a good idea of what the book is about!
Linda Romer on Wednesday, 12 April 2017 16:13

City of grit and gold sounds great! I love the cover! Thank you

0
City of grit and gold sounds great! I love the cover! Thank you
Danielle Hammelef on Saturday, 29 April 2017 11:16

I love the cover as it matches the exciting synopsis well.

0
I love the cover as it matches the exciting synopsis well.
Penny Olson on Wednesday, 03 May 2017 23:04

I really like the cover and it fits with the synopsis. It sounds like the book portrays an exciting moment in time.

0
I really like the cover and it fits with the synopsis. It sounds like the book portrays an exciting moment in time.
Shelly Hart on Thursday, 04 May 2017 21:03

This sounds really good!

0
This sounds really good!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...

Latest Member Reviews

Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
"A wonderful book about an amazing woman. The Story: Kamala Harris has lived quite the life. Raised as..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."