Interview with Jennifer L. Armentrout

Interview with Jennifer L. Armentrout

 

YABC recently got the chance to interview Jennifer L. Armentrout, author of The Covenant and Lux SeriesCursed, and the forthcoming Don’t Look Back. Check out her answers to our questions below!

 

Thank you for joining us on YABC today!  You are one busy lady and the next few months are jammed packed with book releases... Onyx (Lux Series #2) (Entangled) just came out August 14th; Cursed (Spencer Hill) September 18, 2012; Deity (Covenant Series #3) (Spencer Hill) November 6, 2012; and Elixir (Covenant Series #3.5) (Spencer Hill)  November 27, 2012.  You also have another YA book scheduled for publication in Spring 2014, Don't Look Back (Disney-Hyperion). 

 

With a total of 5 different series to write, do you ever have trouble keeping all of your characters straight?  For example, does Seth ever pop in when you're writing for Daemon or vice versa?

 

Most of the time, it's easy to keep the characters separate because they are so different, but sometimes, I do see another character's voice start to show in another character. Take Alex (Covenant Series) for example. She has such a strong, snarky voice and sometimes she'll pop up in other characters and I'll have to tone them back. I like to think of Daemon as Seth with no filter, so that keeps them apart. I do have another character in manuscript not yet acquired that puts Daemon and Seth to shame. I try not to write or edit one series while working on another, which also helps keep them from blending together.

 

 

What is the last book you read?

 

I have been in such a reading slump lately! So I've been re-reading the Black Dagger Brotherhood. It's an adult series. The last YA book I read was Before I Wake from Rachel Vincent (LOVED IT)

 

 

What is your go-to writing snack/beverage?

 

I really don't have a snack, but I do love me some 5 Hour Energy drinks.

 

 

Which singer/band would you kill to see live in concert?

 

David Bowie? LOL. I know. Most of people would be like WHAT? But I'd love to see David Bowie in concert.

 

 

If you could be any literary hero or heroine, who would you be?

 

Kaylee from Soul Screamers. She's such an amazingly real character and her love interest is yumtastic.

 

 

Last but not least, what has been your biggest SQUEE! moment since becoming a published author?

 

There's been a lot of SQUEE! moments. The first editorial call, the first contract, the first person emailing me to tell me they liked my book. I think the most SQIEE! moment was probably having someone recognize me in a sea of faces at BEA and come up to me. That was pretty awesome.

 

 

Thanks so much Jenn!

 

Thank you for having me!

 

 

Head over to Jenn’s website for more information about her books as well as contests and appereances. http://www.jenniferarmentrout.com/

 

You can also follow her on twitter @JLArmentrout

 

 

Defiance Release Blog Tour
Trailer Tuesday: Entice Teaser

Related Posts

 

Comments 1

Already Registered? Login Here
YABC on Friday, 24 August 2012 15:31

3 Jennifer! Gret interview!!! I have yet to read anything by Rachel Vincent... maybe I should fix that

1
3 Jennifer! Gret interview!!! I have yet to read anything by Rachel Vincent... maybe I should fix that :D

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...

Latest Member Reviews

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
"CHRISTMAS PARADE is another cute and brightly colored board book from Boynton. In this book, children see a Christmas parade,..."
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
"BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD is a sweet picture book about friends and doing the right thing. Roland lives..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
Bird Show
 
4.3
"If birds had a fashion show, they would show off their unique plumage! BIRD SHOW is a brightly colored book..."
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
"MY BOOK OF FEELINGS is a great conversation starter for emotions with toddlers. The book features spinning emoji faces of..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."