Guest Post & Giveaway: The Lies About Truth by Courtney C. Stevens (US & Canada Only)

Guest Post & Giveaway: The Lies About Truth by Courtney C. Stevens (US & Canada Only)

The Lies About Truth

by Courtney C Stevens

Release Date: November 3rd, 2015

 

Guest Post

The Lies About Truth started with a question.
 
Is there such a thing as a good lie?
 
My answer: yes, but there’s no such thing as a lie without consequences. I wanted to examine the lies that friends tell each other, and the consequences of those lies on relationships and identity.
 
This is the story of five friends. Four alive. One dead. Three boys. Two girls. And three massive lies that these friends tell about a car accident they had with each other.
 
Now that I’ve told you my origin story for The Lies About Truth, I thought I might share a few practical writing tips because it is almost November. November is National Novel Writing Month, and in the spirit of all those brave souls attempting brand new novels, here are a few things I learned from writing The Lies About Truth.  
 
1. Getting a story wrong is only wrong if you stop before you get it right. I wrote five complete drafts of The Lies About Truth before I landed on the story I was trying to tell. Keep going! Tell the best story you can tell.
 
2. When you get stuck, study! Sometimes the gap between where you want to be and where you are is education. There are so many great craft books out there. Here are three of my favorites: The Anatomy of Story by John Truby, On Writing by Stephen King, and Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott.
 
3. Lock into your personal attachment to the novel. Why are you the one who has to tell this story? The whole book doesn’t have to be ripped from the headlines of your life, but investing a tiny piece of you in each novel you write changes the way you view the characters, storyline, and publication process.

 

About the Book

In the same vein as Jandy Nelson and Gayle Forman comes a novel from the gifted author of Faking Normal, Courtney C. Stevens, about hope and courage and the struggle to overcome the pain of loss.
Sadie Kingston is living in the aftermath. A year after surviving a car accident that killed her friend Trent and left her body and face scarred, she can't move forward. The only person who seems to understand her is Trent's brother, Max.
As Sadie begins to fall for Max, she's unsure if she is truly healed enough to be with him. But Max looks at her scars and doesn't shy away. And Max knows about the list she writes in the sand at the beach every night, the list of things that Sadie knows she must accomplish before she can move on from the accident. And while he can help her with number six (kiss someone without flinching), she knows she's on her own with number three (forgive Gina and Gray) and the rest of the seemingly impossible tasks that must be made possible before she can live in the now again.


To learn more about this book and see our review, go HERE.
 


b2ap3_thumbnail_ccs.jpgAbout the Author

Courtney C. Stevens grew up in Kentucky and lives in Nashville, Tennessee. She is an adjunct professor at Lindsey Wilson College, the author of Faking Normal, The Blue-Haired Boy (Novella), The Lies About Truth, and two forthcoming titles, as well as the Author-in-Residence for JKS Communications, a national book publicity firm. Faking Normal is a 2015-16 Georgia Peach nominee, 2016 Bluegrass Award nominee, 2016 Volunteer State Book Award nominee, and the recipient of a Crystal Kite. As an educator, author and marketer, Courtney visits schools, designs retreats, and teaches workshops on marketing, revision, character development, John Truby, and Channeling Your Brave. You can find out more at courtneycstevens.com or follow her on Twitter @quartland.

Learn more Website | Pre-order | Facebook | Twitter | Goodreads | Tumblr | Pinterest | Instagram
 


Giveaway Details

One winner will receive an annotated copy of The Lies About Truth.

b2ap3_thumbnail_image1.JPG

Also, Courtney has 200 pins to go to folks who send her their pre-order receipt from Parnassus Books.

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. Winners will be announced on this site and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30 days after the giveaway ends.

During each giveaway, we ask entrants a question pertaining to the book. Here is the question they'll be answering in the comments below for extra entries: If I preorder The Lies About Truth from Parnassus Books, what gift will I receive?

*Click the Rafflecopter link to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway
(HUGE) Spooktacular Stories Giveaway! (US only)
JEM AND THE HOLOGRAMS - Drive Through Movie Review

Related Posts

 

Comments 30

Already Registered? Login Here
Guest - Lily Cooper on Friday, 23 October 2015 12:37

You will get a pin

0
You will get a pin:)
Guest - Emma on Friday, 23 October 2015 16:08

A special pin that says "Channel your brave".

0
A special pin that says "Channel your brave".
Guest - Sandy on Friday, 23 October 2015 19:17

A pin that says "Channel your Brave"

0
A pin that says "Channel your Brave"
Kara S (website) on Saturday, 24 October 2015 07:31

A Channel Your Brave pin, as pictured above

0
A [i]Channel Your Brave[/i] pin, as pictured above :)
Guest - Jen (website) on Monday, 26 October 2015 12:49

There are 200 pins available if you pre-order and the picture of the pin is in this post.

0
There are 200 pins available if you pre-order and the picture of the pin is in this post.
Shannon Mizikoski (website) on Tuesday, 27 October 2015 01:01

A pin that says "Channel Your Brave" (which is so cute!)

0
A pin that says "Channel Your Brave" (which is so cute!)

Good Information and Thanks

0
Good Information and Thanks :D
Susan T. (website) on Tuesday, 27 October 2015 16:06

A Channel Your Brave pin!

0
A Channel Your Brave pin!

Information fun and thank you

0
Information fun and thank you
Guest - Danielle D. on Wednesday, 28 October 2015 16:57

A "Channel Your Brave" pin! Super pretty too

0
A "Channel Your Brave" pin! Super pretty too :D

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
The Slug Queen Chronicles
 
5.0
"When Cricket finds out that the dust she's seen her whole life has magical properties and her late mother could..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
5.0
"Another chilling story from L.V. Pires. This one started out with the main character from Book 1, Casey, fighting an..."
Ghosting You
 
4.8
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A heartwarming love story. The Story: Tommy..."
A Pain Less Ordinary
 
5.0
"A Pain Less Ordinary is a tragic tale of a modern girl whose family has fallen apart. Becca struggles to..."