Giveaway -- THE KEY TO EVERY THING (US & CANADA ONLY)

Screen-Shot-2018-04-08-at-11.16.09-AM

The Key to Every Thing (US & Canada Only)

Written by: Pat Schmatz

Release Date: May 8, 2018

Publisher: Candlewick Press

About the Book:

Tash didn’t want to go to camp, didn’t want to spend the summer with a bunch of strangers, didn’t want to be separated from the only two people she has ever been able to count on: her uncle Kevin, who saved her from foster care, and Cap’n Jackie, who lives next door. Camp turns out to be pretty fun, actually, but when Tash returns home, Cap’n Jackie is gone. And Tash needs her — the made-up stories of dolphin-dragons, the warm cookies that made everything all right after a fight, the key Cap’n Jackie always insisted had magic in it. The Captain always said all Tash had to do was hold it tight and the magic would come. Was it true? Could the key bring Cap’n Jackie back? In a heartfelt and stunningly written story, Pat Schmatz introduces readers to a tenacious, fiercely loyal girl struggling to let go of the fantasies and fears of her childhood . . . and say yes to everything that lies ahead.

For eleven-year-old Tash, Cap’n Jackie isn’t just the elderly next-door neighbor — she’s family. When she disappears, only Tash holds the key that might bring her back.

 

 

About the Author:

Pat Schmatz is the author of the critically acclaimed Bluefish as well as Lizard Radio, which won the James Tiptree, Jr. Literary Award for exploring and expanding the understanding of gender. Pat Schmatz lives in Minneapolis.

 

Learn More:

Website | Twitter | Author Facebook | Newsletter Sign-Up

Goodreads | Instagram  

Giveaway Details:

10 winners will each receive a hardcover copy of THE KEY TO EVERY THING. 

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. Winners will be announced on this site and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now! ) within 30 days after the giveaway ends.

During each giveaway, we ask entrants a question pertaining to the book. Here is the question they’ll be answering in the comments below for extra entries: What do you think of the cover & synopsis?

*Click the Rafflecopter link to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ April 9th, 2018
YABC Favorite Covers Of The Month & Giveaway ~ Mar...

Related Posts

 

Comments 8

Already Registered? Login Here
Kara S on Sunday, 08 April 2018 19:07

The cover is so fun with that irresistible blue color and the laid-back style of the lettering and the spare image depicted. It would make me take up the book to learn more about it, for sure; also, it reminds me of at least one other Pat Schmatz novel (the title of which isn't jumping to mind I'm afraid). The one puzzle presented by the cover is that it doesn't allude much to the realistic depiction of any of the myriad forms of suffering and ugly truths about aging in contemporary society. That wouldn't be at all unusual except that I understand that Schmatz doesn't soften the substance of this issue inasmuch as it is part of the story of the protagonist's missing elder friend. In any case, the mix of a likeable, quirky, fun protagonist who also deals with complex life issues is something I've seen Schmatz do in her work before, and I want to see it again. So great but slightly incongruous cover design, all in all!

0
The cover is so fun with that irresistible blue color and the laid-back style of the lettering and the spare image depicted. It would make me take up the book to learn more about it, for sure; also, it reminds me of at least one other Pat Schmatz novel (the title of which isn't jumping to mind I'm afraid). The one puzzle presented by the cover is that it doesn't allude much to the realistic depiction of any of the myriad forms of suffering and ugly truths about aging in contemporary society. That wouldn't be at all unusual except that I understand that Schmatz doesn't soften the substance of this issue inasmuch as it is part of the story of the protagonist's missing elder friend. In any case, the mix of a likeable, quirky, fun protagonist who also deals with complex life issues is something I've seen Schmatz do in her work before, and I want to see it again. So great but slightly incongruous cover design, all in all!:)
John on Sunday, 08 April 2018 22:09

The cover is a pretty blue, and the story sounds like an interesting combo of reality and fantasy!

0
The cover is a pretty blue, and the story sounds like an interesting combo of reality and fantasy!
Marisa Fort on Wednesday, 25 April 2018 13:28

The cover is catching and clever, the synopsis sounds so interesting!

0
The cover is catching and clever, the synopsis sounds so interesting!
wendy rinebold on Friday, 04 May 2018 21:25

The cover is really nice. The story sounds really different.

0
The cover is really nice. The story sounds really different.
Dan Denman on Saturday, 05 May 2018 13:06

I like the colorful book cover. I want to read about Tash's adventure and find out about the key.

0
I like the colorful book cover. I want to read about Tash's adventure and find out about the key.
Danielle Hammelef on Saturday, 05 May 2018 19:22

The cover is amazing and intriguing. The synopsis sounds unique and emotional for these characters.

0
The cover is amazing and intriguing. The synopsis sounds unique and emotional for these characters.
Penny Olson on Sunday, 06 May 2018 23:21

I like the bright blue color and the multigenerational story.

0
I like the bright blue color and the multigenerational story.
Hannah on Tuesday, 08 May 2018 23:52

Sounds great!

0
Sounds great!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A prince of two kingdoms. A woman fighting against the...
All These Bodies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. ...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and...
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
What makes the great white shark (one of) the greatest...

Latest Member Reviews

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
"THE HOLLOW INSIDE is a shocking and riveting YA thriller. Phoenix and her mother Nina have been living out of..."
The Promised Prince
 
5.0
"Hello viewers, I am Eva Joe, from the USA, i want to use this opportunity to thank Dr. DAVID ..."
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
"SPELLS TROUBLE is a thrilling YA fantasy that takes the reader from Salem during the witch trials to the midwest..."
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
"Gus is the pack leader at Miss Lottie's house, and has kept the peace well with excitable Roo, loyal and..."
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
"HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL: THE MUSICAL: THE SERIES: THE ROAD TRIP is a fun book that compliments the show by diving..."
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
"When Renna goes swimming in a pond, she never expects to meet a boy named Trev in the most unladylike..."
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
"I'LL MEET YOU IN YOUR DREAMS is a gorgeously illustrated picture book about parental love that spans space and time...."
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
"COLORS OF HABITATS is a beautifully illustrated oversized book of inspiration for artists. The book walks through different habitats from..."
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
"10 TRUTHS AND A DARE is a book about family and owning up to your mistakes. Olivia is about to..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
"It's the start of Grand Season and Nina's chance to join the Beautiful Ones, Loisail's notable socialites, hasn't gone well...."
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #1)
 
5.0
"This was... one of the best books I've read in a long time. It was one of my absolute favorite..."
Yes No Maybe So
 
5.0
"I should start by saying I don't normally read books involving politics because I read to escape real life. That..."
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
"I AM THE SHARK is a fun and educational picture book about self-confidence. A great white shark is introducing the..."
The Bachmann Family Secret
 
3.0
"This book had some good ideas, especially a young man coming to terms with his sexuality, but it felt somewhat..."
Made in Korea
 
4.7
"MADE IN KOREA is a sweet romantic-comedy about competition, family, and reaching for your dreams. Valerie runs a very successful..."
The Keeper of Night
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF DR.IFADE CONTACT ON WHATS_APP NUMBER +1(551)333-5249. OR HIS EMAIL ..."
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
"PERFECTLY PARVIN is a laugh-out-loud, charming YA contemporary fiction read. Parvin is about to begin her freshman year of high..."
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
Photos Framed: A Fresh Look at the World's Most Memorable Photographs
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
Book Nerd
 
N/A
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."