Giveaway -- THE KEY TO EVERY THING (US & CANADA ONLY)

Screen-Shot-2018-04-08-at-11.16.09-AM

The Key to Every Thing (US & Canada Only)

Written by: Pat Schmatz

Release Date: May 8, 2018

Publisher: Candlewick Press

About the Book:

Tash didn’t want to go to camp, didn’t want to spend the summer with a bunch of strangers, didn’t want to be separated from the only two people she has ever been able to count on: her uncle Kevin, who saved her from foster care, and Cap’n Jackie, who lives next door. Camp turns out to be pretty fun, actually, but when Tash returns home, Cap’n Jackie is gone. And Tash needs her — the made-up stories of dolphin-dragons, the warm cookies that made everything all right after a fight, the key Cap’n Jackie always insisted had magic in it. The Captain always said all Tash had to do was hold it tight and the magic would come. Was it true? Could the key bring Cap’n Jackie back? In a heartfelt and stunningly written story, Pat Schmatz introduces readers to a tenacious, fiercely loyal girl struggling to let go of the fantasies and fears of her childhood . . . and say yes to everything that lies ahead.

For eleven-year-old Tash, Cap’n Jackie isn’t just the elderly next-door neighbor — she’s family. When she disappears, only Tash holds the key that might bring her back.

 

 

About the Author:

Pat Schmatz is the author of the critically acclaimed Bluefish as well as Lizard Radio, which won the James Tiptree, Jr. Literary Award for exploring and expanding the understanding of gender. Pat Schmatz lives in Minneapolis.

 

Learn More:

Website | Twitter | Author Facebook | Newsletter Sign-Up

Goodreads | Instagram  

Giveaway Details:

10 winners will each receive a hardcover copy of THE KEY TO EVERY THING. 

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. Winners will be announced on this site and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now! ) within 30 days after the giveaway ends.

During each giveaway, we ask entrants a question pertaining to the book. Here is the question they’ll be answering in the comments below for extra entries: What do you think of the cover & synopsis?

*Click the Rafflecopter link to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ April 9th, 2018
YABC Favorite Covers Of The Month & Giveaway ~ Mar...

Related Posts

 

Comments 8

Already Registered? Login Here
Kara S on Sunday, 08 April 2018 19:07

The cover is so fun with that irresistible blue color and the laid-back style of the lettering and the spare image depicted. It would make me take up the book to learn more about it, for sure; also, it reminds me of at least one other Pat Schmatz novel (the title of which isn't jumping to mind I'm afraid). The one puzzle presented by the cover is that it doesn't allude much to the realistic depiction of any of the myriad forms of suffering and ugly truths about aging in contemporary society. That wouldn't be at all unusual except that I understand that Schmatz doesn't soften the substance of this issue inasmuch as it is part of the story of the protagonist's missing elder friend. In any case, the mix of a likeable, quirky, fun protagonist who also deals with complex life issues is something I've seen Schmatz do in her work before, and I want to see it again. So great but slightly incongruous cover design, all in all!

0
The cover is so fun with that irresistible blue color and the laid-back style of the lettering and the spare image depicted. It would make me take up the book to learn more about it, for sure; also, it reminds me of at least one other Pat Schmatz novel (the title of which isn't jumping to mind I'm afraid). The one puzzle presented by the cover is that it doesn't allude much to the realistic depiction of any of the myriad forms of suffering and ugly truths about aging in contemporary society. That wouldn't be at all unusual except that I understand that Schmatz doesn't soften the substance of this issue inasmuch as it is part of the story of the protagonist's missing elder friend. In any case, the mix of a likeable, quirky, fun protagonist who also deals with complex life issues is something I've seen Schmatz do in her work before, and I want to see it again. So great but slightly incongruous cover design, all in all!:)
John on Sunday, 08 April 2018 22:09

The cover is a pretty blue, and the story sounds like an interesting combo of reality and fantasy!

0
The cover is a pretty blue, and the story sounds like an interesting combo of reality and fantasy!
Marisa Fort on Wednesday, 25 April 2018 13:28

The cover is catching and clever, the synopsis sounds so interesting!

0
The cover is catching and clever, the synopsis sounds so interesting!
wendy rinebold on Friday, 04 May 2018 21:25

The cover is really nice. The story sounds really different.

0
The cover is really nice. The story sounds really different.
Dan Denman on Saturday, 05 May 2018 13:06

I like the colorful book cover. I want to read about Tash's adventure and find out about the key.

0
I like the colorful book cover. I want to read about Tash's adventure and find out about the key.
Danielle Hammelef on Saturday, 05 May 2018 19:22

The cover is amazing and intriguing. The synopsis sounds unique and emotional for these characters.

0
The cover is amazing and intriguing. The synopsis sounds unique and emotional for these characters.
Penny Olson on Sunday, 06 May 2018 23:21

I like the bright blue color and the multigenerational story.

0
I like the bright blue color and the multigenerational story.
Hannah on Tuesday, 08 May 2018 23:52

Sounds great!

0
Sounds great!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...
The Night Walk
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mama opened our bedroom door. "Wake up, you two," she...
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the perfect, ugly expression of holiday cheer in this...
You and Me
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This sweet celebration of love is perfect for sharing with...
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Babies and toddlers can lift the flaps to look inside...
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join a tiny mouse as she searches for the biggest...
The Shadow War
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inglourious Basterds meets Stranger Things in this dark and...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. ...

Latest Member Reviews

shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
"A wonderful book about an amazing woman. The Story: Kamala Harris has lived quite the life. Raised as..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."
You and Me
 
5.0
"YOU AND ME is a sweet book about love between caregiver and child. The lyrical poetry of the rhyming text,..."
Baby's First Farm
 
4.5
"BABY'S FIRST FARM takes readers on a delightful lift-the-flap journey around the farm. The board book is a simple story..."
Can I Come Too?
 
4.0
"CAN I COME TOO? tells the story of a small mouse who decides to go on a big adventure to..."
A Dark and Hollow Star (A Dark and Hollow Star, #1)
 
4.7
"A DARK AND HOLLOW STAR is a slowly building YA fantasy that takes the reader on a wild ride through..."
Daughters of Jubilation
 
5.0
"It's South Carolina in 1962. Sixteen-year-old Evvie has two little sisters to take care of, a single mother, and finally..."
Dark Stars
 
4.0
"DARK STARS by Danielle Rollins is the third book in her series of the same name. It begins with Dorothy..."
Karma Moon: Ghost Hunter
 
3.0
"Karma Moon loves living with her dad in their New York neighborhood, answering phone calls for his Totally Rad documentary..."
Muted
 
5.0
"Denver loves music and dreams of life making it with her R&B group, Angelic Voices. When the group (Denver, Dali,..."
Anchored
 
5.0
"Unlike anything I've read before. The Story: Alora is of two worlds. During her..."