Giveaway: The How-To Handbook (US/Canada)

b2ap3_thumbnail_How-To-Handbook---FRONT-cover---WEB.jpg

 

The How-To Handbook: Shortcuts and Solutions for the Problems of Everyday Life

by Martin Oliver and Alexandra Johnson

Release Date: 4/23/13
 

 

There are certain things that everyone just has to know how to do in life: unjamming a jar, for instance, fixing a flat tire, and removing a particularly embarrassing stain. They may seem simple in retrospect, but you don’t have to turn all your laundry pink more than once before you learn that it’s best to just get things right the first time. The How-To Handbook packs over 50 essential life skills into one handy reference book and uses dozens of illustrations to show readers the very best ways to thread a needle, pitch a tent, tie a tie, chop an onion, and more!

 

Giveaway Details

Win one of 15 copies of the book by entering the form below. 
US/Canada only

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Giveaway: ICONS Prize Pack by Margaret Stohl (US/C...
Interview with Christian Schoon, author of Zenn Sc...

Related Posts

 

Comments 19

Already Registered? Login Here
YABC on Wednesday, 01 May 2013 20:38

I think every person must learn to be kind to others.

0
I think every person must learn to be kind to others.
Kathryn Lynn Frank (website) on Wednesday, 01 May 2013 21:53

I think people should know basic car maintenance.

0
I think people should know basic car maintenance.
Amanda Collins on Wednesday, 01 May 2013 23:24

I think everyone needs to learn to multi task.

0
I think everyone needs to learn to multi task.
YABC on Wednesday, 01 May 2013 23:34

I think an essential life skill is money management.

0
I think an essential life skill is money management.
Sam (website) on Thursday, 02 May 2013 02:27

To survive off the land! or wild or whatever u want to call it.

0
To survive off the land! or wild or whatever u want to call it.
Tressa (Wishful Endings) (website) on Thursday, 02 May 2013 13:33

I'm thinking very basic here - to boil water. I've known some people who really can't.

1
I'm thinking very basic here - to boil water. I've known some people who really can't. :)
Karen G. (website) on Thursday, 02 May 2013 13:48

I think it is vital to develop some common sense and then apply it to all areas of your life.

0
I think it is vital to develop some common sense and then apply it to all areas of your life.
MrsErica Beaton (website) on Thursday, 02 May 2013 18:35

As a teacher, I can see how it's essential for people to learn to read. Illiteracy closes doors of opportunity and success.

0
As a teacher, I can see how it's essential for people to learn to read. Illiteracy closes doors of opportunity and success.
Alexis Cain (website) on Thursday, 02 May 2013 21:59

I sewing is a pretty important skill to learn, because there are so many instances in life where its needed. Of course there are others, but this one seemed to jump out first in my mind.

0
I sewing is a pretty important skill to learn, because there are so many instances in life where its needed. Of course there are others, but this one seemed to jump out first in my mind.
Elizabeth (website) on Friday, 03 May 2013 09:08

How to listen and communicate well with others.

0
How to listen and communicate well with others.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...
Chess Not Checkers
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Chess not Checkers is a teen novel with adult adventures...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After surviving the Crossing, Zahru has sworn off adventures. While...
Curse of the Specter Queen
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
MAY THE HAZEL BRING YOU WISDOM AND THE ASPEN...
Revolution in Our Time: The Black Panther Party’s Promise to the People
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
With passion and precision, Kekla Magoon relays an essential account...
Kneel
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This fearless debut novel explores racism, injustice, and self-expression through...

Latest Member Reviews

Fiver Finds Home
 
5.0
"'Fiver Finds Home' by Jill Bugbee, illustrated by Jennifer Davison, is a story of friendly Fiver, a blue giraffe who..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"The Lost Legends is one of those books that has everything in it. A princess, an evil king, pirates, a..."
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
"DUCKS ON THE ROAD is a charming and simple picture book with a counting theme. Mama and Papa Duck are..."
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
"SLOTH AND SMELL THE ROSES is another charming and colorful book from the fantastic sister duo, Eunice and Sabrina Moyle...."
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
"CURIOUS ABOUT INSECTS is a great non-fiction board book that lays out some basic facts about insects. Each page has..."
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
"THE BOX IN THE WOODS is a fantastic continuation of Stevie's story with a whole new cold case to solve...."
 
4.7
"Miles "Pudge" Halter seeks for a "Great Perhaps", and attends Culver Creek, a boarding school. Yet, he finds himself with..."
 
5.0
"To say that this book was one of my most anticipated releases for 2021 is an understatement. After the impact..."
 
5.0
"Oh my goodness what a way to end this series! I honestly took a little longer to finish this book..."
 
5.0
"I absolutely loved this sequel. The first one was such a good set up for this book. Nita is free..."
Not Even Bones
 
4.3
"So, this book was not what I was expecting it to be. First, it takes place in the real world...."
Bird House
 
5.0
"BIRD HOUSE is a lovely story about a young girl and her abuela, who find an injured bird. They treat..."
More Than Sunny
 
4.5
"MORE THAN SUNNY is a sweet picture book about siblings, seasons, and childhood fun. The story features two siblings who..."
Whose Big Rig?
 
4.7
"WHOSE BIG RIG? is a delightful board book that takes children through the vehicles involved in building a light rail,..."
Busy Little Ladybug
 
3.5
"BUSY LITTLE LADYBUG is a cute board book about a ladybug that loves colors. Ladybug wants to figure out what..."
One Springy, Singy Day
 
4.5
"ONE SPRINGY, SINGY DAY is a brightly colored and fun celebration of spring. Told in rhyming text, the book follows..."
Blade of Mad Vision
 
5.0
"Loved it! It makes me want to be an artist and a fencer and learn languages and go on adventures..."
The Lost Continent (Wings of Fire, Book 11)
 
5.0
"It was a good book i really want to buy is so i can read it all the time. I..."
The Curie Society
 
4.2
"Three roommates at Edmonds University all face different challenges in settling into college life. Biologist Simone is very young to..."
Spi-ku: A Clutter of Short Verse on Eight Legs
 
4.3
"From the creative team that brought us Amphibian Acrobats and Superlative Birds, we now have this poetic treatment about every..."