Giveaway & Review: This Is Not That Kind Of Book (Christopher Healy)!

44300399._SX318_

This Is Not That Kind Of Book (US Only)

Written by: Christopher Healy

Illustrated by: Ben Mantle

Release Date: October 15th, 2019

Publisher: Random House BYR

 

 

 

About the Book

At the Convent of Sweet Mercy, young girls are raised to be killers. In some few children the old bloods show, gifting rare talents that can be honed to deadly or mystic effect. But even the mistresses of sword and shadow don’t truly understand what they have purchased when Nona Grey is brought to their halls.

A bloodstained child of nine falsely accused of murder, guilty of worse, Nona is stolen from the shadow of the noose. It takes ten years to educate a Red Sister in the ways of blade and fist, but under Abbess Glass’s care there is much more to learn than the arts of death. Among her class Nona finds a new family—and new enemies.

Despite the security and isolation of the convent, Nona’s secret and violent past finds her out, drawing with it the tangled politics of a crumbling empire. Her arrival sparks old feuds to life, igniting vicious struggles within the church and even drawing the eye of the emperor himself.

Beneath a dying sun, Nona Grey must master her inner demons, then loose them on those who stand in her way.

 

 

About the Author & Illustrator:

CHRISTOPHER HEALY held numerous other jobs before becoming a children's book author, including actor, ad copywriter, toy-store display designer, fact-checker, dishwasher, journalist, costume maker, video-game reviewer, and haunted-house zombie (though not in that order). He is the author of the popular Hero's Guide series, and lives in New Jersey with his wife, their two children, and a dog named Duncan.

Illustrator Bio: BEN MANTLE has most recently been working as a children's book illustrator from his shared studio in Brighton, England. He also produces screen prints and digital artwork for exhibitions. Ben has illustrated numerous picture books, including the popular books Five Little Pumpkins and There Was an Old Dragon Who Swallowed a Knight.

Learn More:

Website | TwitterInstagram | Facebook | Goodreads

 

 

 

 

** Review Contributed By Olivia Farr Staff Reviewer**

 

 

THIS IS NOT THAT KIND OF BOOK is a humorous jaunt through book genres and classification with some messages about the necessity of expectation flexibility and friendship. The book starts out seeming like an alphabet book, before turning into a fairytale into a science fiction and then a classroom story with mystery, pirates, and joke book characters. In the end, it turns out that this is a book all of its own.

The book features colorful, cartoonish characters with their own fun quirks that come together to create a uniquely adorable story. Much of the book is conveyed through dialogue with some overhead narration, making it a book that is better for older picture book readers who can follow along with who is speaking and also who can understand the comedy. Children will adore the apple who only says “I’m an apple!” but has particularly expressive facial expressions, and whose one phrase could thus convey those emotions as per Groot (for people familiar with The Guardians). There is also the letter A, who only says words which begin with A, and the young girl in a cape, who may be a superhero in sci-fi but is likely not as she is from fairytale books, and even the tenacious Hedgible T. Hedgehog, who is awaiting her new friends who she is sure will be other animals in people clothes.

What I loved: The storyline is certainly giggle-worthy as the diverse characters appear and add their own charm. The plot will make little ones laugh as they explore different genres and types of characters, and as such, this is a great introduction into how stories are classified. The main lessons of the book are about teamwork and unlikely friends, as well as not being too quick to judge or make assumptions about a book (or a person/character, such as a person in person clothes or a letter or a robot), which are certainly universal lessons important to many situations. Children will love laughing along with the story and the many humorous situations.

Final verdict: Ultimately, this is a charming and funny book that literally crosses literary genres and will certainly be enjoyed by preschoolers and young elementary schoolers. With many delightful characters, some important lessons, and a big dose of comedy, this picture book is a win!

 

 

 

**Giveaway Details**

Five (5) winners will each receive one copy of This Is Not That Kind Of Book (Christopher Healy)! ~ (US Only)

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. Winners will be announced on this site and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30 days after the giveaway ends.

During each giveaway, we ask entrants a question pertaining to the book. Here is the question they’ll be answering in the comments below for extra entries: What do you think of the cover & synopsis?

 

*Click the Rafflecopter link to enter the giveaway*

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Spooktacular Stories Giveaway of 2019! (YA Edition...
Spooktacular Stories Giveaway of 2019! (YA Edition...

Related Posts

 

Comments 1

Already Registered? Login Here
Zachary Snyder on Thursday, 24 October 2019 15:07

I think the cover looks great and does a great job of explaining the premise of the book. I hope I win a copy as I think my twins will love this book!

0
I think the cover looks great and does a great job of explaining the premise of the book. I hope I win a copy as I think my twins will love this book!

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
"BERNARD MAKES A SPLASH is an overall cute story about stepping outside of your comfort zone. Bernard practices diving whenever..."
Lost for Words
 
5.0
"LOST FOR WORDS is a sweet picture book about finding your own way to express yourself. Tapir has a new..."
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
"WILD GIRL: HOW TO HAVE INCREDIBLE OUTDOOR ADVENTURES is written by Helen Skelton, a veteran wild girl herself. In this..."
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S PAINT BOX is a charming board book about colors. Stanley is helping Sophie, Little Woo, and Benjamin paint boxes...."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."