Giveaway: FRESH INK: AN ANTHOLOGY (US Only)

FRESH-INK

FRESH INK: AN ANTHOLOGY (US Only)

Edited by: Lamar Giles

Release Date: August 14, 2018

Publisher: Crown Books for Young Readers

About the Book:

Careful—you are holding fresh ink. And not hot-off-the-press, still-drying-in-your-hands ink. Instead, you are holding twelve stories with endings that are still being written—whose next chapters are up to you.

Because these stories are meant to be read. And shared.

Thirteen of the most accomplished YA authors deliver a label-defying anthology that includes ten short stories, a graphic novel, and a one-act play from Walter Dean Myers never before in-print. This collection addresses topics like gentrification, acceptance, untimely death, coming out, and poverty and ranges in genre from contemporary realistic fiction to adventure and romance. It will inspire you to break conventions, bend the rules, and color outside the lines. All you need is fresh ink.

AUTHORS INCLUDE: Schuyler Bailar, Melissa de la Cruz, Sara Farizan, Sharon G. Flake, Eric Gansworth, Malindo Lo, Walter Dean Myers, Daniel José Older, Thien Pham, Jason Reynolds, Aminah Mae Safi, Gene Luen Yang, and Nicola Yoon.

About the Editor:

LAMAR GILES writes novels and short stories for teens and adults. He is the author of the Edgar Award nominees Fake ID and Endangered, as well as the YA novel Overturned. He is a founding member of We Need Diverse Books, and he resides in Virginia with his wife. Check him out online at lamargiles.com, or follow @LRGiles on Twitter.

WE NEED DIVERSE BOOKS™ is a grassroots organization of children’s book lovers that advocates for essential changes in the publishing industry to produce and promote literature that reflects and honors the lives of all young people. Their mission is to put more books featuring diverse characters into the hands of all children.

Learn More:

Website | Twitter | Instagram | Facebook

Giveaway Details:

One winner will receive a copy of FRESH INK.

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. Winners will be announced on this site and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30 days after the giveaway ends.

During each giveaway, we ask entrants a question pertaining to the book. Here is the question they’ll be answering in the comments below for extra entries: What do you think of the cover & synopsis?

*Click the Rafflecopter link to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Featured Review: Ink and Ivy (Sara Martin)
Author Chat with Katrin van Dam (Come November), P...

Related Posts

 

Comments 9

Already Registered? Login Here
Debra Branigan on Saturday, 10 November 2018 21:24

This sounds so exciting! Good luck with the anthology.

0
This sounds so exciting! Good luck with the anthology.
Kara S on Monday, 19 November 2018 17:54

The cover is unusually eye-catching, and this line-up of authors plus the one-of-a-kind theme of this anthology make it irresistible to me! Thanks for this chance to win, Kara S

0
The cover is unusually eye-catching, and this line-up of authors plus the one-of-a-kind theme of this anthology make it irresistible to me! Thanks for this chance to win, Kara S
Lily M. on Saturday, 01 December 2018 04:22

I've been curious about his book ?

0
I've been curious about his book ?
Amy Bernal on Monday, 03 December 2018 22:37

Love, Love, love this cover!! It's an amazing cover. This sounds like a one of a kind book and I really can't wait to read this book!!!

0
Love, Love, love this cover!! It's an amazing cover. This sounds like a one of a kind book and I really can't wait to read this book!!!
Penny Olson on Tuesday, 04 December 2018 23:01

The cover is just bursting with color. Very eye catching. This sounds like a great collection of stories.

0
The cover is just bursting with color. Very eye catching. This sounds like a great collection of stories.
Danielle Hammelef on Friday, 07 December 2018 15:42

I love the cover's colors. The synopsis sounds inspirational and emotional.

0
I love the cover's colors. The synopsis sounds inspirational and emotional.
Jayda on Friday, 07 December 2018 20:26

The colors on the cover make it really pop. The synopsis sounds very interesting.

0
The colors on the cover make it really pop. The synopsis sounds very interesting.
Nancy Hernandez on Friday, 07 December 2018 22:12

Love the neon colors makes me think of a party.

0
Love the neon colors makes me think of a party.
Cynthia M. Parkhill on Sunday, 09 December 2018 14:03

I'm a big fan of anthologies for the variety in viewpoints, and in this case, in format and genre. (A graphic novel! A one-act play!) I'm disappointed that this giveaway no longer accepts entries on the listed expiration date (as opposed to that date being THE LAST DAY on which entries can be submitted).

As a woman on the autism spectrum who works in a library, I have both personal and professional investment in respectfully-diverse books.

Publishing has a depressingly poor record regarding its treatment of ability. Characters with disabilities are frequently described via ableist terms and assumptions, but in this case, they simply seem absent. Maybe I'm wrong, but what struck me is that nothing in the synopsis communicated to me that ability is included in the anthology.

0
I'm a big fan of anthologies for the variety in viewpoints, and in this case, in format and genre. (A graphic novel! A one-act play!) I'm disappointed that this giveaway no longer accepts entries on the listed expiration date (as opposed to that date being THE LAST DAY on which entries can be submitted). As a woman on the autism spectrum who works in a library, I have both personal and professional investment in respectfully-diverse books. Publishing has a depressingly poor record regarding its treatment of ability. Characters with disabilities are frequently described via ableist terms and assumptions, but in this case, they simply seem absent. Maybe I'm wrong, but what struck me is that nothing in the synopsis communicated to me that ability is included in the anthology.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

The Twin
 
3.7
"When Ivy and Iris were ten, their parents divorced. Ivy lived with their father and Iris with their mother. Then..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
The Slug Queen Chronicles
 
5.0
"When Cricket finds out that the dust she's seen her whole life has magical properties and her late mother could..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
5.0
"Another chilling story from L.V. Pires. This one started out with the main character from Book 1, Casey, fighting an..."
Ghosting You
 
4.8
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A heartwarming love story. The Story: Tommy..."
A Pain Less Ordinary
 
5.0
"A Pain Less Ordinary is a tragic tale of a modern girl whose family has fallen apart. Becca struggles to..."