Giveaway: FLYING IN A CAGE (US Only)

Flying-in-a-Cage_ebook

Flying in a Cage (US Only)

by: Melody J. Bremen

Release Date: March 26, 2018

Publisher: Createspace Independent Publishing Platform

 

About the Book:

 

A song tugs inside me,

like a string pulling on my heart.

It wants to fly free.

 

Ivory Strade lives in a world of song.

As she goes to school, as she eats breakfast, as she walks down the road, she creates melodies in her mind. Every sound she hears - a distant birdsong, the wind in the trees - becomes a symphony.

No one knows about her music because Ivory is not like other ten-year-olds. When people speak to her, it's difficult for her to untangle the words in her mind and she retreats into her own private world.

Without the words to explain what she hears, the music stays trapped inside her until, one day, an amazing music teacher shows her how to set her music free.

Fans of Sharon Draper's Out of My Mind and Ellie Terry's Forget Me Not will enjoy this novel-in-verse that follows a young girl who finds her place despite being different.

About the Author:

Melody J. Bremen spent most of her childhood in her imagination. She has written several novels for middle grade readers and one young adult fantasy novel, The Prince of Korin. She lives in New Jersey with her family and a faithful computer named Oswald. Visit her website at www.melodyjbremen.com to learn more.

Learn More:

Website | Goodreads | Author Newsletter

 

Author Interview:

Who is your favorite character in the book?

Miss Reeves, the teacher who is the first to tap into Ivory's potential, has a special place in my heart. She is unique because she doesn't only do what she has to do, or what she's paid to do. She goes above and beyond to do what she felt her student needed. She is what I think every teacher can be: someone with the power to impact a child's life an a very powerful way.

Which came first, the title or the novel?

Definitely the novel. The title went though a few iterations until I found the right one. Originally it was called "The Sound of Wind Chimes," then that was shortened to "Wind Chimes." That whole line of thinking was scrapped and I switched to "Can't Fly in a Cage," which came from a line in the story. That was flipped around to "Flying in a Cage." I was well into the editing process by the time I settled on the title.

Thinking way back to the beginning, what’s the most important thing you've learned as a writer from then to now?

One of the things that was really difficult for me way back when I started writing (before I was anywhere near being published) was accepting criticism. I had a hard time understanding that just because everything made sense and sounded good in my head, that didn't mean it translated well for the reader. Over the years, I've become a lot better at listening to critique without taking it personally. I'm at the point where I love to hear constructive criticism so much, I get excited about it. I know it will make my story better.

What do you like most about the cover of the book?

I love how the rays of light and the floating music notes look like how I imagine the protagonist, Ivory, sees the world. It's like you're getting a glimpse into her head.

What was your favorite book in 2017?

The Girl Who Drank the Moon by Kelly Barnhill was one of the most memorable books I read in 2017. It's so magical and beautifully written. I recommend it to everyone of all ages, particularly those who enjoy fairy tales.

Which character gave you the most trouble when writing your latest book?

Ivory's mom was a hard character to get right. I needed her to be flawed without becoming a "villain". It needed to be clear that her heart was in the right place even if she made some wrong choices. I ended going back after I wrote the first draft to edit a lot of her dialogue to help keep that balance.

Which part of the writing process do you enjoy more: Drafting or Revising?

Drafting is my favorite part. I love creating characters and writing fun dialogue. Going back and fixing up all the issues? Not as much fun.

Is there an organization or cause that is close to your heart?

I really admire the efforts of SBSK, which stands for Special Books by Special Kids. They feature interviews with different people from all around the globe (mostly children, but adults as well) who have different diagnoses. They help spread awareness about different syndromes, some rare, some more common, such as dwarfism, cerebral palsy, and autism. You can see these interviews on their YouTube channel.

What’s up next for you?

I am currently working on a middle grade road trip novel called Plan B. It is the companion novel to one of my other books, Room 42. I also plan to begin working on the sequel to my young adult fantasy novel, The Prince of Korin, very soon.

What would you say is your superpower?

I don't drink coffee. I just get up and go.

 

Giveaway Details:

2 winners will each receive a copy of FLYING IN A CAGE.

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. Winners will be announced on this site and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30 days after the giveaway ends.

During each giveaway, we ask entrants a question pertaining to the book. Here is the question they’ll be answering in the comments below for extra entries: What do you think of the cover & synopsis?

*Click the Rafflecopter link to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway

What's Hot in KU
Featured Review: Oshun Rising: Trinity Forest Book...

Related Posts

 

Comments 6

Already Registered? Login Here
Marisa Fort on Friday, 17 August 2018 12:17

The cover is amazing and the synopsis sounds awesome!

0
The cover is amazing and the synopsis sounds awesome!
Danielle Hammelef on Monday, 10 September 2018 09:18

I love the cover and the unique synopsis.

0
I love the cover and the unique synopsis.
Debra Branigan on Tuesday, 11 September 2018 14:01

The cover fits your character and helps us see inside her. The synopsis sounds good. I have always like these stories. So many kids need that teacher who connects.

0
The cover fits your character and helps us see inside her. The synopsis sounds good. I have always like these stories. So many kids need that teacher who connects.
Dan Denman on Thursday, 13 September 2018 09:58

I like the colorful book cover. Ivory sounds like a great character in a really good story.

0
I like the colorful book cover. Ivory sounds like a great character in a really good story.
Penny Olson on Friday, 14 September 2018 23:46

The cover is beautiful. The story sounds interesting and exciting.

0
The cover is beautiful. The story sounds interesting and exciting.
Andrea Carroll on Sunday, 16 September 2018 21:38

A mystical cover... my YA readers will enjoy Ivory.

0
A mystical cover... my YA readers will enjoy Ivory.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Annie and Lee were just children when a brutal revolution...
Artemis Fowl: The Graphic Novel
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In 2001, audiences first met and fell in love with...
On the Come Up
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Bri wants to be one of the greatest rappers...
Spin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Paris Secord's (aka DJ ParSec) career--and life--has come to...
Leah on the Offbeat
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leah Burke—girl-band drummer, master of deadpan, and Simon Spier’s best...
The Brightsiders
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A teen rockstar has to navigate family, love, coming out,...
IMG_4918.jpg
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The black X of the Aramach Rebels marks the...
City of Beasts
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
"If you see a beast, and you have the...
The Grace Year
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
No one speaks of the grace year. It’s forbidden....
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Ceithren Empire is finally at peace, but for...
The Survival List
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sloane Weber is devastated when her older sister dies...
To Kill a Kingdom
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This action-packed YA debut pits a deadly siren princess and...

Latest Member Reviews

Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
3.3
"FIREBORNE is a new YA fantasy that follows two teens, Lee and Anna (Antigone) in alternating points-of-view. Lee and Anna..."
Artemis Fowl: The Graphic Novel
 
4.0
"As Middle Grade graphic novel adaptations go, this urban fantasy is above par. The artwork has a bit..."
Into the Crooked Place (Into the Crooked Place, #1)
 
4.0
"INTO THE CROOKED PLACE is an engaging YA fantasy that follows five characters on a quest of aligned goals- even..."
To Kill a Kingdom
 
5.0
"TO KILL A KINGDOM is a wonderful YA fantasy about a siren and a pirate. Told in alternating points of..."
A Warm Friendship
 
4.5
"A WARM FRIENDSHIP is a story of friendship and loss, celebrating the time that you have together. Squirrel finds Snowman..."
Winter's Captive
 
5.0
"YA fantasy has always been my favorite. However, the past few months, I'd been in a slump. I struggled getting..."
The Rift
 
3.3
"THE RIFT is a unique YA fantasy that takes place on Black Water Island, a place prized for the herd..."
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
"I don’t know where to start! The Fractured Empire by Robin D. Mahle is the first in the World Apart..."
Abraham Lincoln: The Making of America #3
 
4.5
"A highly accessible biographical overview of (arguably) the most renowned and history-altering of all the United States presidents. The book..."
The Beautiful (The Beautiful, #1)
 
3.3
"THE BEAUTIFUL takes place in New Orleans, primarily following a young woman, Celine. Celine fled France after a terrible event..."
Hilda and the Mountain King (Hilda, #6)
 
5.0
"HILDA AND THE MOUNTAIN KING is an engaging and thrilling children's fantasy adventure. This graphic novel tells the story of..."
 
5.0
"Eighteen-year-old Daniel Matheson goes to Madrid, Spain with his family in order for his mother to reconnect with the country..."