Giveaway: Faking Normal by Courtney C. Stevens (US only)

Giveaway: Faking Normal by Courtney C. Stevens (US only)

 

FAKING NORMAL

Author’s name: Courtney C. Stevens
Release date: 2/25/14
Publisher: HarperTeen
ISBN: 978-0-06-224538-0


 

ABOUT THE BOOK

Alexi Littrell hasn't told anyone what happened to her over the summer. Ashamed and embarrassed, she hides in her closet and compulsively scratches the back of her neck, trying to make the outside hurt more than the inside does.
 
At school, nobody sees the scratches or her pain. The only person she connects with is the mysterious Captain Lyric, who writes song lyrics on her fourth-period desk for her to complete. With pencil marks and music, Alexi carves out a comfortable space for herself as she and the Captain finish each other's songs—words on a desk feel safer than words spoken aloud.
 
But when Bodee Lennox, the quiet and awkward boy next door, comes to live with the Littrells, Alexi discovers an unlikely friend who understands her better than anyone. He has secrets of his own and knows all about suffering in silence. As they lean on each other for support, Alexi gives him the strength to deal with his past, and Bodee helps her find the courage to finally speak up.
 

 

b2ap3_thumbnail_CourtneyStevens0036.jpg

ABOUT THE AUTHOR


Courtney C. Stevens grew up in Kentucky and lives in Nashville, Tennessee. She is an adjunct professor and a former youth minister. Her other skills include playing hide-and-seek, climbing trees, and being an Olympic torch bearer.

 

LINK UP!

Twitter: @quartland Facebook | Goodreads | Pinterest | Tumblr | Web | YouTube | Preorder Now!

 

 

GIVEAWAY DETAILS

One winner will receive a signed hard copy of Faking Normal plus swag. 
A second winner will receive a Channel Your Brave t-shirt plus swag.
 
Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. Winners will be announced on this site and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30 days after the giveaway ends. 
 

During each giveaway, we ask entrants a question pertaining to the book. Here is the question they'll be answering in the comments below for extra entries:

Music can definitely help to soothe pain when we're going through tough times. How has music helped you during tough times?

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

Giveaway: NO MORE GODDESSES by Kim Baccellia (US/C...
YA Authors as YAs: The Megan Shepherd Edition + Gi...

Related Posts

 

Comments 61

Already Registered? Login Here
Cassie Gutman (website) on Saturday, 01 February 2014 12:22

I used to be involved heavily in musical theatre, and performing on stage and singing was my very favorite thing to do to get my mind off homework, applications, and all the drama taking place at school. I could just let everything go!

0
I used to be involved heavily in musical theatre, and performing on stage and singing was my very favorite thing to do to get my mind off homework, applications, and all the drama taking place at school. I could just let everything go!
Guest - Kendra on Saturday, 01 February 2014 13:52

Music has definitely helped me feel not so alone during hard times.

0
Music has definitely helped me feel not so alone during hard times.
Vivien (website) on Saturday, 01 February 2014 21:28

It can center my whole being!

0
It can center my whole being!
leandra (website) on Sunday, 02 February 2014 14:23

Music helps me deal with my emotions. If im angry I listen to an angry song and get it out in the car. If im sad it helps me to sort out what my feelings.

0
Music helps me deal with my emotions. If im angry I listen to an angry song and get it out in the car. If im sad it helps me to sort out what my feelings.
Kayla DeGroote on Sunday, 02 February 2014 23:48

Music helps me deal with my emotions when they go all over the place. It helps express my feelings in a way that I never could on my own

0
Music helps me deal with my emotions when they go all over the place. It helps express my feelings in a way that I never could on my own :)
Andrea Strube on Sunday, 02 February 2014 23:58

I used to be a serious drug addict. Because of music, mainly the bands The Postal Service and Say Anything, I was able to not only decide I wanted to quit, but was able to. January 16th was my 7th year sober

0
I used to be a serious drug addict. Because of music, mainly the bands The Postal Service and Say Anything, I was able to not only decide I wanted to quit, but was able to. January 16th was my 7th year sober :)
Guest - Andrea Strube on Sunday, 02 February 2014 23:59

I used to be a serious drug addict. Because of music, mainly the bands The Postal Service and Say Anything, I was able to not only decide I wanted to quit, but was able to. January 16th was my 7th year sober

0
I used to be a serious drug addict. Because of music, mainly the bands The Postal Service and Say Anything, I was able to not only decide I wanted to quit, but was able to. January 16th was my 7th year sober :)
Molly (website) on Monday, 03 February 2014 17:12

I can always count on music to be there for me when I'm in a bad mood. The right song can just brighten up my day.

0
I can always count on music to be there for me when I'm in a bad mood. The right song can just brighten up my day.
Agustina Gonzalez (website) on Tuesday, 04 February 2014 12:54

yes! music is a part of my life

0
yes! music is a part of my life :)
Agustina Gonzalez (website) on Tuesday, 04 February 2014 12:54

yes! music is a part of my life

0
yes! music is a part of my life :)

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
A Story of Giants - Book 1
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if I told you that we are not alone,...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...

Latest Member Reviews

Bird Show
 
4.3
"If birds had a fashion show, they would show off their unique plumage! BIRD SHOW is a brightly colored book..."
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
"MY BOOK OF FEELINGS is a great conversation starter for emotions with toddlers. The book features spinning emoji faces of..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
"A wonderful book about an amazing woman. The Story: Kamala Harris has lived quite the life. Raised as..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."