Giveaway: Faking Normal by Courtney C. Stevens (US only)

Giveaway: Faking Normal by Courtney C. Stevens (US only)

 

FAKING NORMAL

Author’s name: Courtney C. Stevens
Release date: 2/25/14
Publisher: HarperTeen
ISBN: 978-0-06-224538-0


 

ABOUT THE BOOK

Alexi Littrell hasn't told anyone what happened to her over the summer. Ashamed and embarrassed, she hides in her closet and compulsively scratches the back of her neck, trying to make the outside hurt more than the inside does.
 
At school, nobody sees the scratches or her pain. The only person she connects with is the mysterious Captain Lyric, who writes song lyrics on her fourth-period desk for her to complete. With pencil marks and music, Alexi carves out a comfortable space for herself as she and the Captain finish each other's songs—words on a desk feel safer than words spoken aloud.
 
But when Bodee Lennox, the quiet and awkward boy next door, comes to live with the Littrells, Alexi discovers an unlikely friend who understands her better than anyone. He has secrets of his own and knows all about suffering in silence. As they lean on each other for support, Alexi gives him the strength to deal with his past, and Bodee helps her find the courage to finally speak up.
 

 

b2ap3_thumbnail_CourtneyStevens0036.jpg

ABOUT THE AUTHOR


Courtney C. Stevens grew up in Kentucky and lives in Nashville, Tennessee. She is an adjunct professor and a former youth minister. Her other skills include playing hide-and-seek, climbing trees, and being an Olympic torch bearer.

 

LINK UP!

Twitter: @quartland Facebook | Goodreads | Pinterest | Tumblr | Web | YouTube | Preorder Now!

 

 

GIVEAWAY DETAILS

One winner will receive a signed hard copy of Faking Normal plus swag. 
A second winner will receive a Channel Your Brave t-shirt plus swag.
 
Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. Winners will be announced on this site and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30 days after the giveaway ends. 
 

During each giveaway, we ask entrants a question pertaining to the book. Here is the question they'll be answering in the comments below for extra entries:

Music can definitely help to soothe pain when we're going through tough times. How has music helped you during tough times?

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

 

Giveaway: NO MORE GODDESSES by Kim Baccellia (US/C...
YA Authors as YAs: The Megan Shepherd Edition + Gi...

Related Posts

 

Comments 61

Already Registered? Login Here
Cassie Gutman (website) on Saturday, 01 February 2014 12:22

I used to be involved heavily in musical theatre, and performing on stage and singing was my very favorite thing to do to get my mind off homework, applications, and all the drama taking place at school. I could just let everything go!

0
I used to be involved heavily in musical theatre, and performing on stage and singing was my very favorite thing to do to get my mind off homework, applications, and all the drama taking place at school. I could just let everything go!
Guest - Kendra on Saturday, 01 February 2014 13:52

Music has definitely helped me feel not so alone during hard times.

0
Music has definitely helped me feel not so alone during hard times.
Vivien (website) on Saturday, 01 February 2014 21:28

It can center my whole being!

0
It can center my whole being!
leandra (website) on Sunday, 02 February 2014 14:23

Music helps me deal with my emotions. If im angry I listen to an angry song and get it out in the car. If im sad it helps me to sort out what my feelings.

0
Music helps me deal with my emotions. If im angry I listen to an angry song and get it out in the car. If im sad it helps me to sort out what my feelings.
Kayla DeGroote on Sunday, 02 February 2014 23:48

Music helps me deal with my emotions when they go all over the place. It helps express my feelings in a way that I never could on my own

0
Music helps me deal with my emotions when they go all over the place. It helps express my feelings in a way that I never could on my own :)
Andrea Strube on Sunday, 02 February 2014 23:58

I used to be a serious drug addict. Because of music, mainly the bands The Postal Service and Say Anything, I was able to not only decide I wanted to quit, but was able to. January 16th was my 7th year sober

0
I used to be a serious drug addict. Because of music, mainly the bands The Postal Service and Say Anything, I was able to not only decide I wanted to quit, but was able to. January 16th was my 7th year sober :)
Guest - Andrea Strube on Sunday, 02 February 2014 23:59

I used to be a serious drug addict. Because of music, mainly the bands The Postal Service and Say Anything, I was able to not only decide I wanted to quit, but was able to. January 16th was my 7th year sober

0
I used to be a serious drug addict. Because of music, mainly the bands The Postal Service and Say Anything, I was able to not only decide I wanted to quit, but was able to. January 16th was my 7th year sober :)
Molly (website) on Monday, 03 February 2014 17:12

I can always count on music to be there for me when I'm in a bad mood. The right song can just brighten up my day.

0
I can always count on music to be there for me when I'm in a bad mood. The right song can just brighten up my day.
Agustina Gonzalez (website) on Tuesday, 04 February 2014 12:54

yes! music is a part of my life

0
yes! music is a part of my life :)
Agustina Gonzalez (website) on Tuesday, 04 February 2014 12:54

yes! music is a part of my life

0
yes! music is a part of my life :)

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Awakened Are the Starry-Eyed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new city and unexpected freedom give Andrea the fresh...
A Brutal Justice
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
A Tale of Ashes
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Across the country, human teens are going missing, and all...
The Captain's Daughters
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What would you do if you were abducted by aliens,...
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Truth or Dare
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Summervale… One of the USA’s top vacation...
Around Curiosity's Edge: Hidden Meridians
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A hidden world waits, a dark society schemes, and a...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...

Latest Member Reviews

On the Way to Birdland
 
5.0
"Reviewed By Vincent Dublado for Readers’ Favorite A touching coming of age novel by Frank Morelli, On..."
The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
"THE HOLLOW INSIDE is a shocking and riveting YA thriller. Phoenix and her mother Nina have been living out of..."
The Promised Prince
 
5.0
"Hello viewers, I am Eva Joe, from the USA, i want to use this opportunity to thank Dr. DAVID ..."
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
"SPELLS TROUBLE is a thrilling YA fantasy that takes the reader from Salem during the witch trials to the midwest..."
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
"Gus is the pack leader at Miss Lottie's house, and has kept the peace well with excitable Roo, loyal and..."
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
"HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL: THE MUSICAL: THE SERIES: THE ROAD TRIP is a fun book that compliments the show by diving..."
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
"When Renna goes swimming in a pond, she never expects to meet a boy named Trev in the most unladylike..."
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
"I'LL MEET YOU IN YOUR DREAMS is a gorgeously illustrated picture book about parental love that spans space and time...."
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
"COLORS OF HABITATS is a beautifully illustrated oversized book of inspiration for artists. The book walks through different habitats from..."
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
"10 TRUTHS AND A DARE is a book about family and owning up to your mistakes. Olivia is about to..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
"It's the start of Grand Season and Nina's chance to join the Beautiful Ones, Loisail's notable socialites, hasn't gone well...."
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #1)
 
5.0
"This was... one of the best books I've read in a long time. It was one of my absolute favorite..."
Yes No Maybe So
 
5.0
"I should start by saying I don't normally read books involving politics because I read to escape real life. That..."
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
"I AM THE SHARK is a fun and educational picture book about self-confidence. A great white shark is introducing the..."
The Bachmann Family Secret
 
3.0
"This book had some good ideas, especially a young man coming to terms with his sexuality, but it felt somewhat..."
Made in Korea
 
4.7
"MADE IN KOREA is a sweet romantic-comedy about competition, family, and reaching for your dreams. Valerie runs a very successful..."
The Keeper of Night
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF DR.IFADE CONTACT ON WHATS_APP NUMBER +1(551)333-5249. OR HIS EMAIL ..."
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
"PERFECTLY PARVIN is a laugh-out-loud, charming YA contemporary fiction read. Parvin is about to begin her freshman year of high..."
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
Photos Framed: A Fresh Look at the World's Most Memorable Photographs
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."