Giveaway: Divah by Savannah Applebaum (US & Canada Only)

Giveaway: Divah by Savannah Applebaum (US & Canada Only)

Divah

by Susannah Appelbaum
 
Release Date: 3/15/16

 

About the Book



Seventeen-year-old Itzy Nash is spending the summer at the exclusive Carlyle hotel in New York City. But the hotel harbors more than the rich and privileged; it is host to a gorgeous fallen angel, reclusive movie stars, and—Itzy soon learns—demons of the worst sort. When the Queen of the Damned checks in, all Hell breaks loose. Itzy is called upon to save herself—and all of humanity—from the ravages of the Underworld. There’s only one problem: Itzy’s possessed.

Part gothic thriller, part historical fiction, the novel straddles the Upper East Side and the lush trappings of the Carlyle hotel, and Paris during the Reign of Terror in 1789. Marie Antoinette is the Queen of the Damned. Marilyn Monroe is an expert demon hunter. To kill a demon, Hermès scarves, Evian water, and a guillotine are the weapons of choice.

For anyone who loved Daughter of Smoke and Bone, this has an epic battle between angels and demons with a doomed love story at its core. But it’s also darkly funny, for fans of Hold Me Closer, Necromancer, and more than anything it’s something original—dark, funny, clever, and glamorous.


To learn more about this book and see our review, go HERE.
 


About the Author



Susannah Appelbaum realized at an early age that the world contains both good and evil—and she wanted nothing more than to write about it. By day, she does so. The night is reserved for keeping the world safe from shadows and demons. She has lived both in Paris and at the Carlyle hotel, where the service is exquisite and the food is never burnt. Susannah resides in New York’s Hudson Valley and is the critically acclaimed author of the Poisons of Caux series.

Learn more Website | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads | Indiebound | Instagram



Giveaway Details



3 winners will each receive an ARC.

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. Winners will be announced on this site and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30 days after the giveaway ends.

During each giveaway, we ask entrants a question pertaining to the book. Here is the question they'll be answering in the comments below for extra entries: What do you think of the cover & synopsis?

*Click the Rafflecopter link to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway
What's New in YA--January 12, 2016
Clean Reads

Related Posts

 

Comments 8

Already Registered? Login Here
Guest - Cindy on Monday, 11 January 2016 23:56

The cover isn't one that stands out very much to me, although the synopsis makes up for what the cover lacks, and sounds quite interesting!

0
The cover isn't one that stands out very much to me, although the synopsis makes up for what the cover lacks, and sounds quite interesting!
Guest - Chloe Marasigan on Sunday, 17 January 2016 15:23

The cover does not live up to the compelling synopsis. Overall, it sounds like an engaging book!

0
The cover does not live up to the compelling synopsis. Overall, it sounds like an engaging book!
Guest - Emily Edwards (website) on Wednesday, 20 January 2016 13:55

I love this cover! and the synopsis makes me want to read it now!

0
I love this cover! and the synopsis makes me want to read it now!
Fia (website) on Wednesday, 20 January 2016 16:44

What do you think about the cover and synopsis?

The cover looks amazing! I love how the girl seems to be on top of the city, and the font used totally comes with! Is that blood at the top corner? I am intrigued by how the girl seems deep in thoughts, and looks hopeless, and sad as she looks up. Considering the synopsis, when I read that Itzy was possessed, I was urged to keep reading and find out how she's going to do it.How is she going to do it? The cover defiantly stands out to me, but I think it defiantly matches the synopsis. My sister says the colors in the cover could be more demonic, but I think they are just fine! I hope I get my hands on DIVAH!

0
[b]What do you think about the cover and synopsis?[/b] The cover looks amazing! I love how the girl seems to be on top of the city, and the font used totally comes with! Is that blood at the top corner? I am intrigued by how the girl seems deep in thoughts, and looks hopeless, and sad as she looks up. Considering the synopsis, when I read that Itzy was possessed, I was urged to keep reading and find out how she's going to do it.[b]How is she going to do it?[/b] The cover defiantly stands out to me, but I think it defiantly matches the synopsis. My sister says the colors in the cover could be more demonic, but I think they are just fine! I hope I get my hands on DIVAH!
Guest - bn100 on Friday, 22 January 2016 22:40

sounds interesting

0
sounds interesting
Linda Romer on Monday, 01 February 2016 12:38

Divah sounds awesome ♡ can't wait to read this book. The cover is fabulous! I love it! Thank you

0
Divah sounds awesome ♡ can't wait to read this book. The cover is fabulous! I love it! Thank you
Danielle Hammelef on Tuesday, 02 February 2016 17:29

I was not expecting this synopsis based on the cover. to better fit, the cover should have had more refenece to the magic, the setting, and be darker.

0
I was not expecting this synopsis based on the cover. to better fit, the cover should have had more refenece to the magic, the setting, and be darker.
Michelle Willms on Tuesday, 09 February 2016 18:28

The cover really doesn't appeal to me much. It doesn't seem connected to the synopsis, though it might be related to something inside the book. The synopsis is outstanding and immediately made me want to have this book.

0
The cover really doesn't appeal to me much. It doesn't seem connected to the synopsis, though it might be related to something inside the book. The synopsis is outstanding and immediately made me want to have this book.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Dugout: The Zombie Steals Home
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twins Stacy and Gina Cavallaro are on rival little league...
The Fountains of Silence
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Madrid, 1957. Under the fascist dictatorship of General Francisco...
Dinosnores (Boynton on Board)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
“Honk SHOOOOOO! Honk SHOOOOOO! . . .” ...
Good Day, Good Night
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now in a sturdy board book format, perfect for little...
TBH, This May Be TMI (TBH, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Told entirely in text messages, the second book in this...
Creep
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
The haunting tale of a family that moves into...
Girl at Heart
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
As the daughter of a successful Major League pitcher,...
The Last of the Firedrakes
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She never felt like she belonged…until magic pulled her...
Crown of Oblivion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this mesmerizing YA fantasy mash-up of The Road...
When the Stars Lead to You
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Nicola Yoon meets Jenny Han in a heated first-love...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Disturbing dreams are nothing new for Kyra. But when her...
I've Loved You Since Forever
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times #1 Bestseller! ...
My Baby Loves Christmas
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the My Baby Loves Christmas board book, celebrate all...
Riverland
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When things go bad at home, sisters Eleanor and Mike...
The Return of the Dragon Queen
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The epic conclusion of The Avalonia Chronicles is here ....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How far will you go to save magic? Dad’s...

Latest Member Reviews

Dugout: The Zombie Steals Home
 
4.0
"Gina and Stacy are twins who play for rival baseball teams. This flows off the field into intense and sometimes..."
Dinosnores (Boynton on Board)
 
5.0
"DINOSNORES is another absolutely charming and delightfully ridiculous board book from Sandra Boynton. Here, the dinosaurs get ready for bed,..."
Good Day, Good Night
 
4.0
"GOOD DAY, GOOD NIGHT follows a bunny on his journey from sun-up to sunset, as he travels around town, plays..."
TBH, This May Be TMI (TBH, #2)
 
4.0
"TBH, THIS MAY BE TMI is the second in a contemporary middle grade series, though it can easily function as..."
I've Loved You Since Forever
 
5.0
"This gorgeous board book celebrates the parent-child bond in an absolutely stunning way. I'VE LOVED YOU SINCE FOREVER suggests that..."
My Baby Loves Christmas
 
5.0
"Babies and toddlers will love the colorful celebration of Christmas in this delightful board book. MY BABY LOVES CHRISTMAS is..."
Riverland
 
4.0
"RIVERLAND is a riveting and complex middle grade magical realism novel. Eleanor and her sister, Mike (nickname, everyone except their..."
All You Need Is a Pencil: The Totally Sick Sick-Day Activity Book
 
5.0
"THE TOTALLY SICK SICK-DAY ACTIVITY BOOK is exactly what the title describes. There are crossword puzzles, places to doodle, word..."
Animazes
 
5.0
"ANIMAZES shows the migration patterns of fourteen different creatures. It shows that there are several different paths these creatures can..."
Christmas Cheer for The Grouchy Ladybug
 
3.5
"CHRISTMAS CHEER FOR THE GROUCHY LADYBUG talks about everything exciting Christmas has to offer. There's snowflakes, fires, bells, presents, stockings,..."
Baby Loves the Five Senses: Hearing!
 
4.7
"BABY LOVES THE FIVE SENSES: HEARING teaches everything you need to know about how hearing, the ears, and sound all..."
 
5.0
"In 1935, ten-year-old Alex Maki is disgusted when he finds out that his pen-pal Charlie is a girl. Still, they..."
Under the Snow
 
5.0
"When you see snow, you think of how pretty it is or how cold it is. UNDER THE SNOW opens..."
Laugh-Out-Loud Halloween Jokes: Lift-the-Flap
 
4.0
"LAUGH OUT LOUD HALLOWEEN JOKES is full of cute jokes that are perfect for children aged four and up. The..."
Little Tigers
 
4.0
"After hearing humans and their dogs nearby, Mother Tiger knows it's time for them to find somewhere safer to live...."
Explorer Academy Codebreaking Activity Adventure
 
5.0
"Fans of the Explorer Academy series won't want to miss out on this Codebreaking Activity Adventure. Enter into Explorer Academy..."
One Fox: A Counting Book Thriller
 
5.0
"ONE FOX counts from one to ten in a thrilling way. The fox is hunting for some food and he..."
Hard Work, but It's Worth It: The Life of Jimmy Carter
 
5.0
"Before reading this, I didn't know much about Jimmy Carter except that he had been one of the presidents. I..."
Ready to Fly: How Sylvia Townsend Became the Bookmobile Ballerina
 
5.0
"READY TO FLY is a biography of Sylvia Townsend and how she became a ballerina. She always loved to dance..."
Odd Dog Out
 
4.0
"In a busy city of normal dogs, there's one that stands out. She does her own thing and dresses her..."