Giveaway: Divah by Savannah Applebaum (US & Canada Only)

Giveaway: Divah by Savannah Applebaum (US & Canada Only)

Divah

by Susannah Appelbaum
 
Release Date: 3/15/16

 

About the Book



Seventeen-year-old Itzy Nash is spending the summer at the exclusive Carlyle hotel in New York City. But the hotel harbors more than the rich and privileged; it is host to a gorgeous fallen angel, reclusive movie stars, and—Itzy soon learns—demons of the worst sort. When the Queen of the Damned checks in, all Hell breaks loose. Itzy is called upon to save herself—and all of humanity—from the ravages of the Underworld. There’s only one problem: Itzy’s possessed.

Part gothic thriller, part historical fiction, the novel straddles the Upper East Side and the lush trappings of the Carlyle hotel, and Paris during the Reign of Terror in 1789. Marie Antoinette is the Queen of the Damned. Marilyn Monroe is an expert demon hunter. To kill a demon, Hermès scarves, Evian water, and a guillotine are the weapons of choice.

For anyone who loved Daughter of Smoke and Bone, this has an epic battle between angels and demons with a doomed love story at its core. But it’s also darkly funny, for fans of Hold Me Closer, Necromancer, and more than anything it’s something original—dark, funny, clever, and glamorous.


To learn more about this book and see our review, go HERE.
 


About the Author



Susannah Appelbaum realized at an early age that the world contains both good and evil—and she wanted nothing more than to write about it. By day, she does so. The night is reserved for keeping the world safe from shadows and demons. She has lived both in Paris and at the Carlyle hotel, where the service is exquisite and the food is never burnt. Susannah resides in New York’s Hudson Valley and is the critically acclaimed author of the Poisons of Caux series.

Learn more Website | Amazon | Barnes & Noble | Goodreads | Indiebound | Instagram



Giveaway Details



3 winners will each receive an ARC.

Entering is simple, just fill out the entry form below. Winners will be announced on this site and in our monthly newsletter (sign up now!) within 30 days after the giveaway ends.

During each giveaway, we ask entrants a question pertaining to the book. Here is the question they'll be answering in the comments below for extra entries: What do you think of the cover & synopsis?

*Click the Rafflecopter link to enter the giveaway*

a Rafflecopter giveaway
What's New in YA--January 12, 2016
Clean Reads

Related Posts

 

Comments 8

Already Registered? Login Here
Guest - Cindy on Monday, 11 January 2016 23:56

The cover isn't one that stands out very much to me, although the synopsis makes up for what the cover lacks, and sounds quite interesting!

0
The cover isn't one that stands out very much to me, although the synopsis makes up for what the cover lacks, and sounds quite interesting!
Guest - Chloe Marasigan on Sunday, 17 January 2016 15:23

The cover does not live up to the compelling synopsis. Overall, it sounds like an engaging book!

0
The cover does not live up to the compelling synopsis. Overall, it sounds like an engaging book!
Guest - Emily Edwards (website) on Wednesday, 20 January 2016 13:55

I love this cover! and the synopsis makes me want to read it now!

0
I love this cover! and the synopsis makes me want to read it now!
Fia (website) on Wednesday, 20 January 2016 16:44

What do you think about the cover and synopsis?

The cover looks amazing! I love how the girl seems to be on top of the city, and the font used totally comes with! Is that blood at the top corner? I am intrigued by how the girl seems deep in thoughts, and looks hopeless, and sad as she looks up. Considering the synopsis, when I read that Itzy was possessed, I was urged to keep reading and find out how she's going to do it.How is she going to do it? The cover defiantly stands out to me, but I think it defiantly matches the synopsis. My sister says the colors in the cover could be more demonic, but I think they are just fine! I hope I get my hands on DIVAH!

0
[b]What do you think about the cover and synopsis?[/b] The cover looks amazing! I love how the girl seems to be on top of the city, and the font used totally comes with! Is that blood at the top corner? I am intrigued by how the girl seems deep in thoughts, and looks hopeless, and sad as she looks up. Considering the synopsis, when I read that Itzy was possessed, I was urged to keep reading and find out how she's going to do it.[b]How is she going to do it?[/b] The cover defiantly stands out to me, but I think it defiantly matches the synopsis. My sister says the colors in the cover could be more demonic, but I think they are just fine! I hope I get my hands on DIVAH!
Guest - bn100 on Friday, 22 January 2016 22:40

sounds interesting

0
sounds interesting
Linda Romer on Monday, 01 February 2016 12:38

Divah sounds awesome ♡ can't wait to read this book. The cover is fabulous! I love it! Thank you

0
Divah sounds awesome ♡ can't wait to read this book. The cover is fabulous! I love it! Thank you
Danielle Hammelef on Tuesday, 02 February 2016 17:29

I was not expecting this synopsis based on the cover. to better fit, the cover should have had more refenece to the magic, the setting, and be darker.

0
I was not expecting this synopsis based on the cover. to better fit, the cover should have had more refenece to the magic, the setting, and be darker.
Michelle Willms on Tuesday, 09 February 2016 18:28

The cover really doesn't appeal to me much. It doesn't seem connected to the synopsis, though it might be related to something inside the book. The synopsis is outstanding and immediately made me want to have this book.

0
The cover really doesn't appeal to me much. It doesn't seem connected to the synopsis, though it might be related to something inside the book. The synopsis is outstanding and immediately made me want to have this book.

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Send Me Their Souls (Bring Me Their Hearts, #3)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
There are worse things than death. ...
The Walrus and the Caribou
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When the earth was new, words had the power to...
The Elephant's Umbrella
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Elephant is always ready and willing to share her prized...
Calvin Gets the Last Word
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The dictionary as narrator? YES! ...
Goblin King (Permafrost, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Kara Barbieri's Goblin King, the stunning sequel in the...
Hollowpox: The Hunt for Morrigan Crow (Nevermoor, #3)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Morrigan battles a new evil as a strange, frightening illness...
The Gilded Wolves (The Gilded Wolves, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
*AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER* From New York...
Earth-Shattering Events: Volcanoes, earthquakes, cyclones, tsunamis and other natural disasters
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An atlas of the most extreme meteorological and geological disasters...
Among the Beasts and Briars
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Ashley Poston, acclaimed author of Heart of Iron, returns...
Gut Garden: A journey into the wonderful world of your microbiome
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
A journey into the wonderful world of your microbiome! Within...
ICK! Delightfully Disgusting Animal Dinners, Dwellings, and Defenses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Animals--they're cute and fluffy, cuddly and puffy, and ... sometimes...
Dinosaurs Are Not Extinct: Real Facts About Real Dinosaurs
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Drew Sheneman brings budding paleontologists the truth about...
The Camelot Betrayal
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The second book in a new fantasy trilogy from New...
Soulswift
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A dark, epic fantasy about a girl who must rethink...
Goblin King
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Kara Barbieri's Goblin King, the stunning sequel in the...
Beautiful Wild
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
You are invited to set sail on the maiden voyage...

Latest Member Reviews

Sting Magic
 
4.8
"What a start to the series! Sting Magic by Sarah K.L. Wilson is a fantastic, quick read that takes you..."
Kingdom of the Wicked
 
4.3
"Thrills and chills abound in Kerri Maniscalco‘s new release Kingdom of the Wicked. I don’t know where to start! This..."
Send Me Their Souls (Bring Me Their Hearts, #3)
 
4.3
"SEND ME THEIR SOULS is a gut-wrenching finale to a fantastic YA fantasy series. In this third book, we begin..."
The Walrus and the Caribou
 
4.5
"THE WALRUS AND THE CARIBOU is a delightful picture book that captures Indigenous folklore about the creation of animals. Guk..."
The Elephant's Umbrella
 
3.5
"THE ELEPHANT'S UMBRELLA is a picture book with great illustrations and a moral of kindness. The elephant has a special..."
Calvin Gets the Last Word
 
4.0
"CALVIN GETS THE LAST WORD is a cute picture book told from the perspective of Calvin's beloved dictionary. He is..."
Goblin King (Permafrost, #2)
 
4.0
"GOBLIN KING is a much faster-paced and action-packed YA fantasy sequel. Janneke has taken the mantle of the stag, though..."
Hollowpox: The Hunt for Morrigan Crow (Nevermoor, #3)
 
5.0
"HOLLOWPOX is an engaging middle grade fantasy that takes the reader on a magical journey to the Wundrous Society. Morrigan..."
Earth-Shattering Events: Volcanoes, earthquakes, cyclones, tsunamis and other natural disasters
 
5.0
"Earth-Shattering Events by Robin Jacobs is a wonderfully thought-out book that details different natural disasters: what they are, how we..."
Gut Garden: A journey into the wonderful world of your microbiome
 
4.7
"Gut Garden by Katie Brosnan is a well-thought out journey through our digestive system, introducing kids to the bacteria and..."
ICK! Delightfully Disgusting Animal Dinners, Dwellings, and Defenses
 
5.0
"National Geographic Kids is always sure to be a winner at my house. Their newest release has been deemed the..."
Dinosaurs Are Not Extinct: Real Facts About Real Dinosaurs
 
4.3
"Dinosaurs Are Not Extinct by Drew Sheneman is a short, illustrated nonfiction book introducing children to one of the more..."
Swamp Thing: Twin Branches
 
4.3
"SWAMP THING: TWIN BRANCHES is a graphic novel about finding yourself, remembering history, and forging your own path forward. Alec..."
The Mirror: Broken Wish (The Mirror, #1)
 
5.0
"BROKEN WISH is a beautifully composed fairytale. The book begins with the story of Mathilda and Agnes, neighbors who have..."
How to Catch a Yeti
 
5.0
"HOW TO CATCH A YETI is a delightful picture book about a group of children who, as the title implies,..."
Along Came a Fox
 
4.0
"ALONG CAME A FOX is the story of Bramble, who is excited to find some fireflies. Her friends tell her..."
Rosa's Big Pizza Experiment (Rosa's Workshop)
 
5.0
"ROSA'S BIG PIZZA EXPERIMENT is a cute picture book about the process to make a pizza, beginning with the flour,..."
The Gilded Wolves (The Gilded Wolves, #1)
 
5.0
"THE GILDED WOLVES is a fantastic YA fantasy. Although given a year in the 1800s and a historical setting, the..."
The Silvered Serpents (The Gilded Wolves, #2)
 
4.3
"That ending!!! THE SILVERED SERPENTS is an engaging YA historical fantasy that picks up after the first book ended, and..."
Among the Beasts and Briars
 
4.7
"Ashley Poston has crafted a new fairy tale for the ages! Among the Beasts and Briars may very well be..."