Four Dead Queens Blog Tour: Author Guest Post

FourDeadQueens_BlogBanner

Today we're excited to spotlight Four Dead Queens by Astrid Scholte.

Read on for more about Astrid and her book, plus a guest post!

 

 

 

Meet Astrid Scholte! 


 
 

Raised on a diet of Spielberg, Lucas and Disney, Astrid knew she wanted to be surrounded by all things fantastical from a young age. She’s spent the last 10 years working in film, animation and television as both an artist and manager. Career highlights include working on James Cameron's Avatar, Steven Spielberg's The Adventures of Tin Tin and Happy Feet 2 by George Miller. She’s a visual writer and aims to capture the vivid stories that play like movies in her head. When she’s not writing, she’s painting her favorite fictional characters and obliging her furry overlords, Lilo and Mickey.

FOUR DEAD QUEENS (Putnam, 26th of February 2019) is her debut novel.

 

Website | Twitter | Instagram 

 

 

 

 

Meet Four Dead Queens! 
 

An enthralling and beguiling murder mystery fantasy perfect for fans of Red Queen and Three Dark Crowns.

Keralie Corrington is a talented pickpocket in the kingdom of Quadara. She steals under the guidance of her mentor Mackiel, who runs a black market selling their bounty to buyers desperate for what they can't get in their own quadrant. For Quadara is a nation divided into four regions, each strictly separated from the other. Toria, the intellectual quadrant values education and ambition. Ludia, the pleasure quadrant values celebration and passion. Archia, the agricultural quadrant, values simplicity and nature. Eonia, the futurist quadrant values technology, stoicism and harmonious community. Four queens, one from each quadrant, rule as one.

When on Mackiel's orders Keralie steals a particularly valuable item from a messenger, what seems like a routine theft goes horribly wrong. Keralie discovers she's intercepted instructions to murder the queens. Hoping that discovering the intended recipient will reveal the culprit--valuable information that she can barter with--Keralie teams up with Varin Bollt, the messenger she stole from, to complete his delivery and uncover the would-be murderer. But with Keralie and Varin each keeping secrets—and the lives of the queens hanging in the balance—everything is at stake, and no one can be trusted.


 
 
 
 
 
 
~ Guest Post ~
 

It sounds a little cliché, but the first sparks of inspiration for Four Dead Queens was from a dream. I dreamed that I was sitting in a horse-drawn carriage wearing an elaborate dress from the Victorian era when a futuristic silver car flew past. When I woke, I wondered what kind of world would exist with such contrasting technologies and how this would impact the people who lived there. It first began as an idea of a world without time, where different eras coexisted in fractions of one nation. From there, I developed the idea of quadrants inspired by four different eras, but existing within the same timeline.

I didn’t know what the plot would be yet, but I wanted to include a murder mystery. I’ve been a fan of murder mysteries since I was a little kid, loving Clue and Agatha Christie-style whodunnits. I thought a murder mystery set in a fantasy world sounded unique and would be fun to write. As I was brainstorming, an image popped into my head of multiple queens, sitting back-to-back in one court. Ruling together, yet apart. As soon as I saw these queens, I knew they had to be the ones who would be murdered, one-by-one.

Throughout the drafting process, I developed the different quadrants. I wanted to have one futuristic region, inspired by the silver car I’d seen in my dream. I thought technology would likely be the focus of this revolutionary quadrant and that the next step would be to evolve humankind, leading to genetic manipulation. I named this region Eonia, for a land that is eons more technologically advanced than present day.

I also knew I wanted the different regions to be in contrast with each other, which would generate friction between the characters from these different areas. Therefore, I needed a region that would seem archaic to those who live in Eonia. This became Archia. It would be a region that valued simplicity, nature and hard physical work. A direct challenge to Eonia’s way of life. I also wanted to develop a quadrant in contrast to Eonia’s controlled, structured and emotionally supressed society. This region would be about all the frivolous things in life: art, music, literature and plays. This was Ludia.

While I was happy with these contrasting regions, I needed one region that was the glue holding the disparate lands together. A region that wanted to be involved with the other quadrants. A region that was enterprising and full of curious, business-minded folk. This became Toria, named after the Victorian times and a nod to my original dream.

Once I had my quadrants, I could start to play with the queens’ personalities and how they fit, or didn’t fit, with their home regions. The regions also directly impacted the creation of the other characters of Keralie and Mackiel from Toria, and Varin from Eonia. Without my original dream, I doubt I would’ve come up with the idea of such distinct cultures and regions, which is what drove the plot, characters and entire book. The moral of the story is to keep a notebook by your bed to jot down any interesting ideas!

 
 
 
 

Four Dead Queens

Author: Astrid Scholte

Publisher: Putnam BYR

Release Date: February 26th, 2019

Giveaway: WHERE THE HEART IS
Author Chat with Day Leitao (Kissing Magic) , Plus...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Hope in the Mail: Reflections on Writing and Life
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Part writing guide and part memoir, this inspiring book from...
Daniela and the Pirate Girls
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Who hasn’t heard of the legendary vessel, the Black Croc!...
Child of Galaxies
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Your body was made from the stuff of the stars,...
Shy Ones
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
He's not the type to stand out. In fact, unless...
You Brought Me the Ocean
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The voices that shaped LGBTQ Young Adult literature, Lambda Award-Winning...
The Most Dangerous Place on Earth
 
2.0
 
0.0 (0)
In an idyllic community of wealthy California families, new teacher...
Slamdown Town
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ollie and his older brother, Hollis, have wrestling in their...
The Speed of Starlight: An Exploration of Physics, Sound, Light, and Space
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A contemporary exploration of physics, light, and sound told through...
1,000 Facts About Ancient Egypt
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mummies, pyramids, pharaohs, King Tut! Kids everywhere are fascinated by...
Pumpkinheads
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Deja and Josiah are seasonal best friends. ...
Ragweed and Poppy
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
The first new book about Poppy in more than ten...
Burn
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
On a cold Sunday evening in early 1957, Sarah Dewhurst...
The Right Place
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
A squirrel wakes from hibernation feeling something is wrong with...
I'm Sorry!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect story for teaching young children the importance of...
Wonder Woman: Tempest Tossed
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Laurie Halse Anderson (Speak, Shout)...
The Archer at Dawn (The Tiger at Midnight, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Romantic intrigue and electric action fill the gripping sequel to...

Latest Member Reviews

Hope in the Mail: Reflections on Writing and Life
 
5.0
"HOPE IN THE MAIL is an autobiographical account of the author’s life as it relates to her writing. Wendelin Van..."
Crave
 
4.3
"After the death of her parents, Grace comes to an Alaskan boarding school. Once there, she senses something is 'off'..."
Daniela and the Pirate Girls
 
3.5
"DANIELA AND THE PIRATE GIRLS is a fun high-seas adventure about helping others and making new friends. Daniela is the..."
Child of Galaxies
 
4.0
"CHILD OF GALAXIES is a lovely poem about life and the broad meaning of it all. The poem begins by..."
Shy Ones
 
5.0
"SHY ONES is a sweet look at friendship and the people (or sea creatures) who are shy. The story is..."
Once Upon an Eid
 
5.0
"This collection has a wide variety of stories about different aspects of Eid, and is particularly poignant during this time..."
You Brought Me the Ocean
 
3.7
"YOU BROUGHT ME THE OCEAN is a graphic novel of the origin story for Aqualad. Jake is 17 and living..."
The Suicide Journal
 
4.8
"The Suicide Journal is novella centered around a teenager named Cal. The story essentially centers around Cal's decision to kill..."
The Most Dangerous Place on Earth
 
2.0
" I received a free copy from the publisher through Netgalley. The Most Dangerous Place on Earth centers around a..."
Slamdown Town
 
4.0
"Ollie is in 6th grade and is small for his age. His older brother, Hollis, is in 8th, and has..."
The Speed of Starlight: An Exploration of Physics, Sound, Light, and Space
 
5.0
"Seriously, this book is huge and gorgeous on a creative level, and a treasure trove of knowledge on an academic..."
1,000 Facts About Ancient Egypt
 
5.0
"1,000 Facts about Ancient Egypt is a National Geographic KIDS book chock full of amazing facts about one of the..."
Pumpkinheads
 
4.7
"I am pretty new to graphic novels so when I won a copy of 'Pumpkin Heads' on GoodReads I was..."
Ragweed and Poppy
 
3.5
"RAGWEED AND POPPY is an interesting middle grade novel that follows Ragweed, a mouse who is on a journey. Ragweed..."
Burn
 
3.7
"BURN imagines a world that is just like ours, except that dragons exist. Dragons have been around for longer than..."
Legacy of Light (Legends of the Tri-Gard Book 2)
 
4.8
"FEEDBACK Well, this story has gone in a completely different direction than I expected it to. Davion didn’t die..."
Rising
 
4.0
"The story: In a dystopian future, the former state of Alaska is now home to what remains..."
Call of the Rift: Flight
 
4.3
"The Call of the Rift: Flight by Jae Waller is the first book in an alternate-historical fantasy about Kateiko, a..."
The Right Place
 
3.5
"THE RIGHT PLACE is a picture book that stresses the importance of friends and home. Squirrel wakes up after a..."
I'm Sorry!
 
5.0
"I'M SORRY! is a fantastic picture book about apologizing and compromise. Swoop and Scribble are an owl and squirrel who..."