Four Dead Queens Blog Tour: Author Guest Post

FourDeadQueens_BlogBanner

Today we're excited to spotlight Four Dead Queens by Astrid Scholte.

Read on for more about Astrid and her book, plus a guest post!

 

 

 

Meet Astrid Scholte! 


 
 

Raised on a diet of Spielberg, Lucas and Disney, Astrid knew she wanted to be surrounded by all things fantastical from a young age. She’s spent the last 10 years working in film, animation and television as both an artist and manager. Career highlights include working on James Cameron's Avatar, Steven Spielberg's The Adventures of Tin Tin and Happy Feet 2 by George Miller. She’s a visual writer and aims to capture the vivid stories that play like movies in her head. When she’s not writing, she’s painting her favorite fictional characters and obliging her furry overlords, Lilo and Mickey.

FOUR DEAD QUEENS (Putnam, 26th of February 2019) is her debut novel.

 

Website | Twitter | Instagram 

 

 

 

 

Meet Four Dead Queens! 
 

An enthralling and beguiling murder mystery fantasy perfect for fans of Red Queen and Three Dark Crowns.

Keralie Corrington is a talented pickpocket in the kingdom of Quadara. She steals under the guidance of her mentor Mackiel, who runs a black market selling their bounty to buyers desperate for what they can't get in their own quadrant. For Quadara is a nation divided into four regions, each strictly separated from the other. Toria, the intellectual quadrant values education and ambition. Ludia, the pleasure quadrant values celebration and passion. Archia, the agricultural quadrant, values simplicity and nature. Eonia, the futurist quadrant values technology, stoicism and harmonious community. Four queens, one from each quadrant, rule as one.

When on Mackiel's orders Keralie steals a particularly valuable item from a messenger, what seems like a routine theft goes horribly wrong. Keralie discovers she's intercepted instructions to murder the queens. Hoping that discovering the intended recipient will reveal the culprit--valuable information that she can barter with--Keralie teams up with Varin Bollt, the messenger she stole from, to complete his delivery and uncover the would-be murderer. But with Keralie and Varin each keeping secrets—and the lives of the queens hanging in the balance—everything is at stake, and no one can be trusted.


 
 
 
 
 
 
~ Guest Post ~
 

It sounds a little cliché, but the first sparks of inspiration for Four Dead Queens was from a dream. I dreamed that I was sitting in a horse-drawn carriage wearing an elaborate dress from the Victorian era when a futuristic silver car flew past. When I woke, I wondered what kind of world would exist with such contrasting technologies and how this would impact the people who lived there. It first began as an idea of a world without time, where different eras coexisted in fractions of one nation. From there, I developed the idea of quadrants inspired by four different eras, but existing within the same timeline.

I didn’t know what the plot would be yet, but I wanted to include a murder mystery. I’ve been a fan of murder mysteries since I was a little kid, loving Clue and Agatha Christie-style whodunnits. I thought a murder mystery set in a fantasy world sounded unique and would be fun to write. As I was brainstorming, an image popped into my head of multiple queens, sitting back-to-back in one court. Ruling together, yet apart. As soon as I saw these queens, I knew they had to be the ones who would be murdered, one-by-one.

Throughout the drafting process, I developed the different quadrants. I wanted to have one futuristic region, inspired by the silver car I’d seen in my dream. I thought technology would likely be the focus of this revolutionary quadrant and that the next step would be to evolve humankind, leading to genetic manipulation. I named this region Eonia, for a land that is eons more technologically advanced than present day.

I also knew I wanted the different regions to be in contrast with each other, which would generate friction between the characters from these different areas. Therefore, I needed a region that would seem archaic to those who live in Eonia. This became Archia. It would be a region that valued simplicity, nature and hard physical work. A direct challenge to Eonia’s way of life. I also wanted to develop a quadrant in contrast to Eonia’s controlled, structured and emotionally supressed society. This region would be about all the frivolous things in life: art, music, literature and plays. This was Ludia.

While I was happy with these contrasting regions, I needed one region that was the glue holding the disparate lands together. A region that wanted to be involved with the other quadrants. A region that was enterprising and full of curious, business-minded folk. This became Toria, named after the Victorian times and a nod to my original dream.

Once I had my quadrants, I could start to play with the queens’ personalities and how they fit, or didn’t fit, with their home regions. The regions also directly impacted the creation of the other characters of Keralie and Mackiel from Toria, and Varin from Eonia. Without my original dream, I doubt I would’ve come up with the idea of such distinct cultures and regions, which is what drove the plot, characters and entire book. The moral of the story is to keep a notebook by your bed to jot down any interesting ideas!

 
 
 
 

Four Dead Queens

Author: Astrid Scholte

Publisher: Putnam BYR

Release Date: February 26th, 2019

Giveaway: WHERE THE HEART IS
Author Chat with Day Leitao (Kissing Magic) , Plus...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Red at The Bone
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Moving forward and backward in time, Jacqueline Woodson's taut and...
Bid My Soul Farewell (Give the Dark My Love, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lunar Island is trying to heal. The necromantic plague that...
There Will Come a Darkness
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Age of Darkness approaches. Five lives stand...
Frankly in Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
wo friends. One fake dating scheme. What could possibly go...
Serpent & Dove
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two years ago, Louise le Blanc fled her coven and...
American Royals
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if America had a royal family? If you can't...
Capturing the Devil (Stalking Jack the Ripper, Book#4)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the shocking finale to the bestselling series that began...
Five Dark Fates (Three Dark Crowns Book, #4)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the final book in the #1 New York Times...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt, the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Whenever another kid goes missing in October, the kids in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A crucial, genre-bending tale, equal parts Ned Vizzini and Patrick...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming and poignant story that explores the bonds of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sana Khan is a cheerleader and a straight A student....
Crown of Dragons
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The normal world is an illusion. Separated from other realms...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
At seventeen, June Hardie is everything a young woman in...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"Alma knows that if good girls were girls with no questions, she wasn't a good girl. She has SO MANY..."
 
3.3
"Urban legend in the town of Pender has it every October the Mumbler snatches a kid. Local authorities brush the..."
COLD DAY IN THE SUN
 
4.3
"An adorable story that has a lot to say. The story: Holland is the only..."
 
5.0
"3 Reasons TELL ME HOW YOU REALLY FEEL needs to be on your shelf immediately: 1.) The spot-on comparison:..."
 
4.0
"Amy Lukavics is one of my favorite horror writers. All of Lukavics's books are a little odd (in the best..."
 
3.0
"You might think that being the daughter of Eros, Kali might be good at the whole cupid thing. Kali would..."
The Cold is in Her Bones
 
3.7
"What I Loved About THE COLD IS IN HER BONES: Milla lives an isolated life on..."
Wilder Girls
 
4.3
"The top 3 reasons you need WILDER GIRLS by Rory Power on your shelf: 1.) The characters:..."
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
"BUTTERFLY YELLOW is a heartfelt and engrossing historical fiction. H?ng is in the US, searching for her younger brother. After..."
 
5.0
"3 Reasons You Need THE OTHER F WORD on your shelves: 1.) The list of contributors: The range of..."
 
5.0
"Tristan Strong isn't doing too well. He lost his best friend, Eddie, in a bus accident, lost a boxing match,..."
 
5.0
"*This review contains spoilers for book one, A BLADE SO BLACK* A DREAM SO DARK, sequel to A BLADE..."