Featured Review: What I Like About Me (Jenna Guillaume)

41SaqC60C1L._SX334_BO1204203200_

About This Book:

The last thing sixteen-year-old Maisie Martin thought she’d be doing on her vacation is entering a beauty pageant. Not when she’s spent most of her life hiding her body from everyone. Not when her Dad is AWOL and her gorgeous older sister has returned to rock Maisie’s already shaky confidence. And especially not when her best friend starts flirting with the boy she’s always loved. But Maisie’s got something to prove.

As she writes down all the ways this vacation is going from bad to worse in her school-assignment journal, what starts as a homework torture-device might just end up being an account of how Maisie didn’t let anything, or anyone, hold her back.

Jenna Guillame’s American debut features a plus-size protagonist with a compelling, funny, and authentic narrative voice. This relatable and charming novel about friendship, confidence, and self-love will draw readers in as Maisie’s realistic emotional journey unveils the importance of embracing one’s body and celebrating one’s self.

 

 

*Review Contributed by Olivia Farr, Staff Reviewer*

WHAT I LIKE ABOUT ME is a charming and comical YA contemporary read that tackles some important themes. Maisie is a 16-year-old girl who happens to be plus-sized. Her family travels for holiday vacation to an RV Park near the beach, and she is excited to see her vacation friends and long-time crush, Sebastian.

This year, things are a little different - her father is staying behind to work, her best friend Anna is coming along, and she was also given a homework assignment that her mother is enforcing to keep a Discovery Journal, where she writes her discoveries and the evidence behind them. The book we read is what she eventually affectionately calls her DJ.

As she struggles with her family, not only her parents but also her perfect and judgmental older sister Eva, and her crush having fallen for Anna, she makes new friends in the eccentric but friendly girl whose mother owns a B&B and dreams of being a fashion designer and begins to spend more time with Seb's annoying (or maybe not so annoying) best friend, Beamer, who always seems to be around. And, maybe, this will be the year she enters the beauty pageant she always said she'd enter with her sister (who entered and won alone when she was 16).

What I loved: The conversational writing and diary format were truly excellent at getting into Maisie's thoughts and characters, and I loved the mix of comedy in with the serious. There's a lot to love in the story, including romance, laugh-out-loud moments, and ultimately body positivity. Maisie is such a heartfelt and charming character, and I would love to put her story into the hands of young people who need to learn to love themselves more. Her journey is not always easy, but it is beautiful and genuine. I really appreciated the important conversations she has with others along the way, and in particular, Bess, who has come from where Maisie was to a place where she can love herself no matter her size. These, combined with the clear negativity of problematic messages Maisie frequently receives that young people will definitely have heard (stores don't carry certain sizes, inaccurate laziness attribution, off-hand comments, etc.), make for a really powerful theme.

The romance was totally charming, and I loved the way it all came together. I was definitely cheering for the person Maisie ends up with the whole way through, and I loved the way it built through her discoveries and related retellings.

Other important themes were about friendship, support, and family. It becomes readily apparent that Maisie's best friend, Anna, is not such a great friend, in no small part because of the way she views and treats Maisie. This is juxtaposed with Maisie's new fashion-designer friend, Leila, who has a different approach that shows the value of a real good friend. In addition, as we learn more about Eva and the way things happened in the past to where she is now, we also see character growth and a path forward for family/sibling love.

What left me wanting more: As a small point, I would have loved to learn more about other characters, particularly Beamer, to really dive deeper into their emotions and lives as well. As Maisie already knows him, we don't get to learn as much about his life and feelings as I wish we could (but we do still get a lot of fun tidbits throughout).

Final verdict: Charming, empowering, and comedic, WHAT I LIKE ABOUT ME is a fabulous YA contemporary read with important themes around body positivity, self-acceptance, relationships, and support. Highly recommend for fans of ANGUS, THONGS, AND FULL FRONTAL SNOGGING, ALL-AMERICAN GIRL, and THE SISTERHOOD OF THE TRAVELING PANTS.

 

 

*Find More Info & Buy This Book HERE!*

It's Live! Cover Reveal: Love and Other Sins (Emil...
Waiting on Wednesday ~ July 21, 2021

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bluebird
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In 1946, Eva leaves behind the rubble of Berlin for...
Merci Suárez Can't Dance
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh grade is going to be a real trial...
When You Know What I Know
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This harrowing, and ultimately hopeful novel in verse sensitively...
Between Perfect and Real
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving YA debut about a trans boy finding...
The Cost of Knowing
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dear Martin meets They Both Die at the End...
Gold Spun
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
If Nor can't spin gold, she can always spin...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Dayna Walsh is struggling to cope with her somatic...
Small Favors
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Ellerie Downing is waiting for something to happen. Life...
If You Go Down to the Woods Today (Brown Bear Wood)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Journey through a magical woodland, with poems to read and...
Bunny Will Not Jump!: Ready-to-Read Level 1
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the endless imagination of Jason Tharp comes a hilarious...
Milo's Christmas Parade
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new picture book from Jennie Palmer starring Milo, a...
Slow Down: 50 Mindful Moments in Nature
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Slow down to watch 50 nature stories that command calm...

Latest Member Reviews

Bluebird
 
5.0
"It's 1946 and Eva leaves behind destroyed Berlin for New York City. Eva carries a deadly secret. One that others..."
Incendiary (Hollow Crown #1)
 
4.3
"INCENDIARY is an intriguing YA fantasy with rebellion, magic, and intrigue. Renata was stolen from her parents as a child..."
Love and Other Sins
 
5.0
"Read it in one sitting and can’t wait to read the next one!!"
 
4.3
"This was definitely an interesting book. I really enjoyed all of the witchy aspects of the book! It starts off..."
Tell No Tales: Pirates of the Southern Seas
 
4.5
"TELL NO TALES is a graphic novel that features Anne Bonny and her tale of pirating. She has an amazing..."
Into Darkness (Stuffed, Book 2) (Stuffed, 2)
 
4.0
"STUFFED INTO DARKNESS features Clark who is so excited to go to camp, where the Stuffies protect them from monsters...."
If You Go Down to the Woods Today (Brown Bear Wood)
 
4.0
"IF YOU GO DOWN TO THE WOODS TODAY has a poem on each page which opens up to the items..."
Bunny Will Not Jump!: Ready-to-Read Level 1
 
4.0
"Bear wants nothing more than for Bunny to jump, but he won't do it. Bunny doesn't want to jump and..."
Milo's Christmas Parade
 
5.0
"MILO'S CHRISTMAS PARADE features a little opossum who wants nothing more than to join the Christmas parade. For this reason,..."
Taking Care of Mama Rabbit
 
3.5
"When Mama Rabbit falls ill, it's up to Papa Rabbit to go get medicine and her children to make her..."
More Ryan's World of Science: Ready-to-Read Level 1
 
5.0
"MORE RYAN'S WORLD OF SCIENCE features science experiments that are Ryan approved. Not only is this book full of science,..."
Slow Down: 50 Mindful Moments in Nature
 
5.0
"SLOW DOWN contains 50 moments in nature that people will miss on a normal day. Everyone is so busy with..."
A Kid's Guide to Fandom: Exploring Fan-Fic, Cosplay, Gaming, Podcasting, and More in the Geek World!
 
5.0
"A KID'S GUIDE TO FANDOM is exactly what it says and is full of anything and everything nerdy. From cosplaying,..."
Pipsqueaks, Slowpokes, and Stinkers: Celebrating Animal Underdogs
 
4.7
"PIPSQUEAKS, SLOWPOKES, and SQUEAKERS highlights the underdogs of the animal kingdom. There's an Amau from who is small enough to..."
Beneath the Waves
 
5.0
"BENEATH THE WAVES includes everything ocean related, from Secrets of the Shell, to poems, to creatures and their food sources...."
Mine
 
4.0
"Lily isn’t thrilled about her family’s move from Colorado to Florida. In Colorado, she had her drama club and her..."
Small Favors
 
4.7
"SMALL FAVORS is a compelling, spooky, and atmospheric YA fantasy/horror that keeps the reader guessing. Ellerie is a young woman..."
The Republic of Birds
 
3.0
"Once, birds and humans lived together until a war erupted over a firebird’s egg. Now, the humans have their own..."
Sidelined
 
4.7
"Julian is looking forward to his senior year in Meridien, Texas. He wants to play football and hopefully get scouted..."
Gold Spun
 
4.8
"WHAT I LOVED: GOLD SPUN is a fairytale reimagining of Rumpelstiltskin. To ensure peace following the war between Faradisia..."