Featured Review: Wayfarer (Alexandra Bracken)

Featured Review: Wayfarer (Alexandra Bracken)

About This Book: 

I've been orphaned by my time. The timeline has changed. My future is gone. Etta Spencer didn't know she was a traveler until the day she emerged both miles and years from her home. Now, robbed of the powerful object that was her only hope of saving her mother, Etta finds herself stranded once more, cut off from Nicholas-the eighteenth century privateer she loves-and her natural time. When Etta inadvertently stumbles into the heart of the Thorns, the renegade travelers who stole the astrolabe from her, she vows to finish what she started and destroy the astrolabe once and for all. Instead, she's blindsided by a bombshell revelation from their leader, Henry Hemlock: he is her father. Suddenly questioning everything she's been fighting for, Etta must choose a path, one that could transform her future. Still devastated by Etta's disappearance, Nicholas has enlisted the unlikely help of Sophia Ironwood and a cheeky mercenary-for-hire to track both her and the missing astrolabe down. But as the tremors of change to the timeline grow stronger and the stakes for recovering the astrolabe mount, they discover an ancient power far more frightening than the rival travelers currently locked in a battle for control. . . a power that threatens to eradicate the timeline altogether. From colonial Nassau to New York City, San Francisco to Roman Carthage, imperial Russia to the Vatican catacombs, New York Times #1 best-selling author Alexandra Bracken charts a gorgeously detailed, thrilling course through time in this stunning conclusion to the Passenger series.

 

 

*Review Contributed By Rose Tomasto, Staff Reviewer*

 

 

An Unforgettable Adventure!

I almost feel ashamed that this series is my first by Alexandra Bracken. It’s clear that she has a gift for creating elaborate worlds with the most captivating, yet relatable characters. Not to mention her rich writing style that flows so effortlessly you literally can’t take your eyes away from the pages. 

If you have not read the first book there may be some tiny spoilers from that, but otherwise nothing will spoil this one for you! 

Side note: If you haven’t read the first book, I highly recommend. It is fun, romantic, and beautifully written- you won’t regret it!


While I adored Passenger, I admit that it was slow at certain parts [note: slow does not necessarily mean bad, there just wasn’t a lot going on at certain parts of the novel]. Wayfarer, however, was anything BUT slow. From the beginning, my jaw was constantly hitting the ground from all the surprises and twists! So much was happening in the first 4 chapters, I could hardly stop to think for a second!

Etta is thrown into an unfamiliar territory, with unfamiliar people and forced to trust those who may ultimately betray her. Nicholas is forced to partner up with one of his worst enemies, to find the only person who has ever understood him. They have to find a way back together, while also stopping the one man who could destroy their whole world. 

That’s all I can say about this book without spoiling, I’m sorry! What I can talk about, though, is:

Bracken tackling some major issues in this book. I often applaud authors who use their stories to continue to shed a light on racism/sexism/homophobia/etc, but Bracken deserves a standing ovation. The way she discussed racism through Nicholas’ character was so on point, and never sugar coated. She spoke on the difficult truth of racism and how people of color have been oppressed through all of history and even today.

There is so much that she spoke on that I couldn’t possibly write it all out, but mainly she spoke on sexism throughout history / today, white privilege, gender/sexuality, and of course racism. It takes a special kind of author [or maybe just one who does her research], to properly speak on these topics and I can gladly say that she did. As a woman of color, I truly appreciated how all of this was taken very seriously by Bracken. 

OH! And we got new characters! So many too! While Passenger mainly focused on Etta and Nicholas, Wayfarer had a whole TON of new characters. Pretty much all of them are characters that would shock you, so I won’t say any names but trust me, you will be happily surprised! 

Final Thoughts?

Bracken created a fast-paced, complex, exciting, and beautifully written sequel. I could list a billion reasons as to why you’ll love this book [or maybe just one: Sophia!], but just trust me and go out and try this series! It’s absolutely wonderful, completely new, and addictive in the best way possible.

 

 

 

*Find More Info On This Book HERE!!*

Chapter 7 Read Along: Tendrils of Darkness
Giveaway: ALL YOU NEED IS LOVE (International)

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...

Latest Member Reviews

Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."