Featured Review: Tin Men (Amalie Jahn)

37883600

About This Book:

Charlie's love for Brooke has grown in the years they've been together, but when his father dies in a tragic climbing accident, he discovers a well-hidden family secret which turns his life upside down and threatens to destroy his sense of self as well as his relationship with Brooke.

Although deep down Charlie always suspected his family wasn't what it seemed, the truth of his adoption compels him to search for his birth mother. In the quest to find her, he realizes traveling to the past for the truth he seeks will jeopardize his relationship with the person he cherishes most in the world.

Brooke almost lost everything traveling back in time to save her brother. Will Charlie make the same mistake?
 

 

 

*Review Contributed By Beth Rodgers Staff Reviewer*

 

 

 

'Tin Men' by Amalie Jahn is the second in her Clay Lion series. The story revolves around Charlie, who learns of his adoption after his father dies. Not knowing what to make of his life, and trying to decipher the truth from the lies he has grown up with, he struggles with who he is and what to do next. By his side are his girlfriend, Brooke, and his sister, Melody, as well as his mom and Brooke's parents. While he tries to figure out the truth about his father's death and how his biological mother fits into it all, he uncovers truths that make him wonder what more there might be that he hasn't yet found.

In his attempts to discover more about himself, he finds the need to use the one trip back in time that everyone is allowed. The problem is that nothing can be changed, or else dire consequences will come into play. Guided by his sister's insistence and his own dogged determination to learn about his past, he goes against Brooke's wishes and not only goes back into the past, but finds himself making changes that he didn't even realize were happening. Of course this throws things off course in ways he could have never imagined, causing a cycle of events to transpire that turn his world even more upside down than he thought it already was.

A gripping story that will take readers on a trip into the past and make them question their own decisions and how life can seemingly turn out differently with one small change, 'Tin Men' is yet another wonderfully written story from Amalie Jahn. The first in this series, 'The Clay Lion,' sets the stage for 'Tin Men'. Both novels teach the ever-important lesson of learning to know one's limits. In 'Tin Men,' Charlie is so focused on how to make things better for himself that he doesn't always consider the consequences of his actions, which can sometimes have unnecessarily harsh consequences if one doesn't watch out. The story teaches how the power of truth-finding can sometimes weigh more on one's character than he intends, providing hope and love when only honesty was expected.

Good Points
'Tin Men' teaches the ever-important lesson of learning to know one's limits. Charlie is so focused on how to make things better for himself that he doesn't always consider the consequences of his actions, which can sometimes have unnecessarily harsh consequences if one doesn't watch out. The story teaches how the power of truth-finding can sometimes weigh more on one's character than he intends, providing hope and love when only honesty was expected.
 
 
 
 
*Find More Info On This Book HERE!*
 
 
 

 

YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ May 20th, 2019
Giveaway: BABY SCIENTIST Books (US Only)

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...

Latest Member Reviews

Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
N/A
"Advice to save your marriage and get your Ex Boyfriend/girlfriend back ,contact assurancesolutionhome@gmail.com for Urgent effective love Spell to get..."
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
5.0
"Advice to save your marriage and get your Ex Boyfriend/girlfriend back ,contact assurancesolutionhome@gmail.com for Urgent effective love Spell to get..."
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
5.0
"Advice to save your marriage and get your Ex Boyfriend/girlfriend back ,contact assurancesolutionhome@gmail.com for Urgent effective love Spell to get..."
Look Both Ways
 
5.0
"I often hear it said that writers are bred, and sure you can breed some decent writers with whatever amount..."
 
4.8
"This is a beautiful book—both in how it is designed and how it is written. The prose is lyrical, yet..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."