Featured Review: Tin Heart (Shivaun Plozza)

40607217

About This Book:

When Marlowe gets a heart transplant and a second chance at life, all she wants is to thank her donor’s family. Maybe then she can move on. Maybe then she’ll discover who she is if she’s no longer ‘The Dying Girl’.

But with a little brother who dresses like every day is Halloween, a vegan warrior for a mother and an all-out war with the hot butcher’s apprentice next door, Marlowe’s life is already pretty complicated. And her second chance is about to take an unexpected turn…
 

 

 

 

*Review Contributed By Elisha Jachetti Staff Reviewer*

 

 

 

TIN HEART by Shivaun Plozza is a YA contemporary novel that follows Marlowe Jensen after she receives a heart transplant. She’s happy, but there is a little voice in the back of her head reminding her someone else had to die for her to live. If she could connect with the donor’s family and get to know them, then she wouldn’t feel like Frankenstein’s monster 2.0. The only problem is the family has asked not to be contacted. When Marlowe goes against their wishes, she must ask herself if her need to honor the donor has become selfish, and in the backlash, she learns that not all scars are visible.

My favorite part about this book is Marlowe’s voice. It’s so fresh and relatable, particularly in her life-is-stranger-than-fiction moments. Like Marlowe, there have been countless times when I have also wondered, “how did I get here?” I love how Plozza lets Marlowe ramble on, especially when she sets the scene and asks rhetorical questions. Marlowe is a sympathetic character, but isn’t written for sympathy, hero worship, or inspiration porn. She’s written like a human and meets every situation like one too.

The star-crossed lovers’ subplot is also a lot of fun. Two hot-blooded teenagers working next door to each other at their parents’ shops. One is a butcher. The other is a hippie vegan. What could possibly go wrong? This part of the story could have easily been too cheesy, but Plozza walks the line carefully, and because Marlowe and Leo’s relationship is not the main focus of the book, it works. Marlowe and Leo’s banter make me laugh and I love how dynamic Leo is.

With that being said, there are multiple stock characters in this book that detract from the story. For example, there’s the angry dad who wants his son to take over the family business and doesn’t want him to go to college, the school bully who is relentless and has no remorse, and the dumb teacher who is completely out of touch with what is happening in his classroom. I also had no idea where the book was taking place until I was about one third of the way through. I would have appreciated a stronger setting, especially since I’ve never been to Australia and it would have been nice to be able to visualize it better.

Overall though, TIN HEART is a wonderful book, full of humor, romance, friendship, and playing dress-up.

 

 

 

*Find More Info On This Book HERE!*

 

 

Waiting On Wednesday ~ May 1st, 2019
Top Ten Tuesday ~ Top Ten YA Fantasy Books Of 2019

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...

Latest Member Reviews

Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
N/A
"Advice to save your marriage and get your Ex Boyfriend/girlfriend back ,contact assurancesolutionhome@gmail.com for Urgent effective love Spell to get..."
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
5.0
"Advice to save your marriage and get your Ex Boyfriend/girlfriend back ,contact assurancesolutionhome@gmail.com for Urgent effective love Spell to get..."
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
5.0
"Advice to save your marriage and get your Ex Boyfriend/girlfriend back ,contact assurancesolutionhome@gmail.com for Urgent effective love Spell to get..."
Look Both Ways
 
5.0
"I often hear it said that writers are bred, and sure you can breed some decent writers with whatever amount..."
 
4.8
"This is a beautiful book—both in how it is designed and how it is written. The prose is lyrical, yet..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."