Featured Review: Things That Should Stay Buried (Casey L. Bond)

53481286._SY475_

About This Book:

Some destinies are written in the stars. Others must be bought with blood… The Zodia are real. Clawing their way from a long-forgotten tomb, they emerge, ravenous to claim everyone born under their star signs. Plotting to resurrect kingdoms no human knew existed, they are driven by a hunger for vengeance against the one who buried them: Aries. Larken is a natural born sprinter, but even she can’t outrun the darkness closing in. A shelter-in-place order has been issued, causing widespread panic. Some brush the alarm off as a drill, until people begin to disappear... vanishing without a trace. Left with only one option, Larken’s brother does what he must to save her life... and calls forth Aries. Considered a traitor by his own kind, only Aries has the power to stand against the Zodia. But he can’t do it alone. Mystically bonded to Larken, the pair must band together for the fight to come if either hope to make it out alive. Neither anticipated the passion that would ignite between them. Yet, in a world suddenly thrust into chaos, it may be the key to their survival. The Zodia are out for blood with their attentions inexplicably focused on Larken. When long buried truths finally come to light, will their love be their salvation or their curse?

 

 

*Review Contributed By Lillian McCurry Staff Reviewer*

 

 

 

Casey L. Bond has been on my reading list for years, and now I can finally say I have read one of her books and not just read it but loved it! Things That Should Stay Buried is unlike anything I’ve ever read, drawing me into the story with the first words and not letting me go until long after it was over. Loosely based on Beauty and the Beast—my all-time favorite fairy tale—Things That Should Stay Buried follows the story of one family as the Zodia awake and tear the world as we know it apart.

Larken is no stranger to the mysterious and unknown. When her twin brother died in front of her years prior and inexplicably came back to life, it wasn’t really her brother inhabiting the body. Larken doesn’t know what Kes is, but she trusts him and has even grown to love him in the years since he became her brother. This bond is unshakable, and one of the reasons I found myself admiring her. She loves this boy even if he isn’t her brother, she trusts him to protect her and have her best interests at heart, and she worries for him. When the Zodia awake, only Kes can keep Larken safe. She knows that, and yet there is something in her that wants to protect him as well. I can’t help but love this about her.

Kes isn’t the main character of the story, but I adore him. He’s lived a thousand lives as the protector of Aries, but this life as Larken’s brother is clearly the one he is at home in. There’s a moment when Larken confronts him right after he possesses her brother that cements their bond. This bond is what leads to his decision to ask Aries to bond with Larken, to protect her from what is to come. He’s desperate, and that is clear, but his actions reflect the love he has for his sister, and I couldn’t help but love him for it.

Aries is one of the twelve Zodia who have awoken from millenia of sleep. Otherworldly and powerful, he grants Kes’s request first and then whisks them away to his kingdom. In the blink of an eye, anyone born under Aries now resides within his kingdom. The same goes for the entire world, whatever star you were born under is now your home. Families are ripped apart, including Larken’s. Few are together. While sympathetic, Aries promises to make their new home pleasant, but he cannot promise the same for those under the other Zodia. I love Aries! He isn’t the beast he appears to be. He is kind and gentle, a fair ruler, and above all he wants to protect those in his care. How can you not love him?

The story focuses mostly on the bond between Aries and Larken. Larken is a Taurus, and the bull wants her. Not only that but it was Aries who betrayed the Zodia, forcing them to sleep all those years ago. Taurus has allies who would kill Aries and then Larken would be his. I love the world and mythology that Bond has created here. Taking the zodiac signs and making them real living and breathing creatures is genius! An entire mythology is set up and explored within the pages of the book, and I could not get enough! It adds a layer of mystery to the romance and helps drive the plot.

Overall I really enjoyed Things That Should Stay Buried. I love the world Bond created for her story, and I love how seamlessly she wove her tale with the original Beauty and the Beast. While this is truly a love story between Aries and Larken, it is so much more. I love the bond and banter between Larken and Kes, showing you that family doesn’t have to be blood. I highly recommend this one to anyone that enjoys mythology with a dash of romance and adventure.

 

 

 

*Find More Info & Buy This Book Here!*

It’s Live! Cover Reveal: Fractures (Book two in t...
Author Chat with Elizabeth Bunce (Premediated Myrt...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A prince of two kingdoms. A woman fighting against the...
All These Bodies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. ...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and...
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
What makes the great white shark (one of) the greatest...

Latest Member Reviews

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
"THE HOLLOW INSIDE is a shocking and riveting YA thriller. Phoenix and her mother Nina have been living out of..."
The Promised Prince
 
5.0
"Hello viewers, I am Eva Joe, from the USA, i want to use this opportunity to thank Dr. DAVID ..."
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
"SPELLS TROUBLE is a thrilling YA fantasy that takes the reader from Salem during the witch trials to the midwest..."
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
"Gus is the pack leader at Miss Lottie's house, and has kept the peace well with excitable Roo, loyal and..."
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
"HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL: THE MUSICAL: THE SERIES: THE ROAD TRIP is a fun book that compliments the show by diving..."
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
"When Renna goes swimming in a pond, she never expects to meet a boy named Trev in the most unladylike..."
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
"I'LL MEET YOU IN YOUR DREAMS is a gorgeously illustrated picture book about parental love that spans space and time...."
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
"COLORS OF HABITATS is a beautifully illustrated oversized book of inspiration for artists. The book walks through different habitats from..."
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
"10 TRUTHS AND A DARE is a book about family and owning up to your mistakes. Olivia is about to..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
"It's the start of Grand Season and Nina's chance to join the Beautiful Ones, Loisail's notable socialites, hasn't gone well...."
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #1)
 
5.0
"This was... one of the best books I've read in a long time. It was one of my absolute favorite..."
Yes No Maybe So
 
5.0
"I should start by saying I don't normally read books involving politics because I read to escape real life. That..."
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
"I AM THE SHARK is a fun and educational picture book about self-confidence. A great white shark is introducing the..."
The Bachmann Family Secret
 
3.0
"This book had some good ideas, especially a young man coming to terms with his sexuality, but it felt somewhat..."
Made in Korea
 
4.7
"MADE IN KOREA is a sweet romantic-comedy about competition, family, and reaching for your dreams. Valerie runs a very successful..."
The Keeper of Night
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF DR.IFADE CONTACT ON WHATS_APP NUMBER +1(551)333-5249. OR HIS EMAIL ..."
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
"PERFECTLY PARVIN is a laugh-out-loud, charming YA contemporary fiction read. Parvin is about to begin her freshman year of high..."
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
Photos Framed: A Fresh Look at the World's Most Memorable Photographs
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
Book Nerd
 
N/A
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."