Featured Review: These Hollow Vows (Lexi Ryan)

41H8UtQk2gL._SX329_BO1204203200_

About This Book:

From New York Times best-selling author Lexi Ryan, Cruel Prince meets A Court of Thorns and Roses in this sexy, action-packed fantasy about a girl who is caught between two treacherous faerie courts and their dangerously seductive princes.

Brie hates the Fae and refuses to have anything to do with them, even if that means starving on the street. But when her sister is sold to the sadistic king of the Unseelie court to pay a debt, she'll do whatever it takes to get her back—including making a deal with the king himself to steal three magical relics from the Seelie court.

Gaining unfettered access to the Seelie court is easier said than done. Brie's only choice is to pose as a potential bride for Prince Ronan, and she soon finds herself falling for him. Unwilling to let her heart distract her, she accepts help from a band of Unseelie misfits with their own secret agenda. As Brie spends time with their mysterious leader, Finn, she struggles to resist his seductive charm.

Caught between two dangerous courts, Brie must decide who to trust with her loyalty. And with her heart.

 

 

*Review Contributed by Olivia Farr, Staff Reviewer*

THESE HOLLOW VOWS is a stunning and riveting YA fantasy with strong world-building and captivating writing. Brie lives with her sister in a tiny basement room and works for her aunt as an indentured servant. In this world, humans are often left without choice beyond creating life contracts that force them into servitude and are impossible to escape with penalties, fees, and interest. Brie entered into this contract when she was young and has now resorted to dangerous stealing to make the monthly payments.

However, when it is not enough, her younger sister's contract is sold anyway - to the worst possible person, the king of the Unseelie fae court. Brie will do anything to save her sister, and their treacherous king is counting on it. As she navigates a new bargain with him, she finds herself caught between two princes - the prince of the Seelie court, Prince Ronan, whose trust she must hold to be able to give the Unseelie king what he needs - and the rightful heir of the Unseelie court, Finn, who is trying to save his people as a banished outsider.

As she navigates the lies and untruths she is told, Brie must decide what of herself and others she is willing to sacrifice to save her sister. When all the dust settles, what would she want for herself?

What I loved: This is a masterfully plotted and perfectly paced read that quickly draws the reader in and keeps them reeling from twist after twist after twist. I absolutely did not see the end of the book coming, and it had me rethinking and rehashing many of the earlier reveals, as the crumbs were there. I love a book that can shock me, and this one delivered big time - I cannot wait to see where this series will go.

Brie was absolutely a highly compelling character, and she must redefine herself several times over during the course of the book. She has hated the fae since her mother left her and her sister to follow the fae she loved into the magical land and never looked back, leaving them to struggle in poverty. As she gets to know more about this other world, she must decide what she wants to stand for and what she wants her life to mean. Morality here is gray, with things neither fitting in good or evil, and this causes a reckoning for Brie as well. Other characters, particularly Finn and Sebastien, were also compelling, though, as we see them as Brie does, they are full of half-truths and untruths. I am curious to learn more about both, and the others around them, in future books.

The world-building was really fascinating, as the reader gets to see both the fae world and the consequences of its attachment to the human realm. The mythology that we get pieces of was really fascinating, and I loved the stories that she and her sister are able to recount from their mother. This atmospheric story really pulls the reader into this other world with the descriptions, characters, and history. We are only able to scratch the surface here on some topics, as we learn while Brie does, so I look forward to learning more in future books.

The book also touches upon some really thought-provoking themes around the morally gray, human nature, greed, power, wealth disparity, and the nature of free will when other options are just untenable. I found this last one to be a powerful thought as the reader must consider the seemingly bad choice to sign one of these contracts - but what if the alternative is death of a loved one, starving to death, or some other ghastly consequence? It could be considered free will as they still have a choice, but what is a choice when there are no good options? This was a theme that I would be interested to discuss further, and it also develops during the book, as we begin to see the consequences of these contracts. Another theme around love and trust and whether they can develop when they are also a means to an end is a theme I look forward to exploring as the books continue.

Final verdict: Enchanting, atmospheric, and shocking, THESE HOLLOW VOWS is a riveting and compelling YA fantasy read, perfect for fans of A COURT OF THORNS AND ROSES, THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US, and RED QUEEN.

 

 

*Find More Info & Buy This Book HERE!*

Waiting on Wednesday ~ July 21, 2021
Featured Review: My High School Valentine Boyfrien...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bluebird
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In 1946, Eva leaves behind the rubble of Berlin for...
Merci Suárez Can't Dance
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh grade is going to be a real trial...
When You Know What I Know
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This harrowing, and ultimately hopeful novel in verse sensitively...
Between Perfect and Real
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving YA debut about a trans boy finding...
The Cost of Knowing
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dear Martin meets They Both Die at the End...
Gold Spun
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
If Nor can't spin gold, she can always spin...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Dayna Walsh is struggling to cope with her somatic...
Small Favors
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Ellerie Downing is waiting for something to happen. Life...
If You Go Down to the Woods Today (Brown Bear Wood)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Journey through a magical woodland, with poems to read and...
Bunny Will Not Jump!: Ready-to-Read Level 1
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the endless imagination of Jason Tharp comes a hilarious...
Milo's Christmas Parade
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new picture book from Jennie Palmer starring Milo, a...
Slow Down: 50 Mindful Moments in Nature
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Slow down to watch 50 nature stories that command calm...
Once Upon A Pizza: Eight Crazy Ways Pizza Wasn't Really Invented, And One It Might Have Been
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone loves pizza, but how was it invented? ...
A Kid's Guide to Fandom: Exploring Fan-Fic, Cosplay, Gaming, Podcasting, and More in the Geek World!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Help young fans get in touch with their inner geeks...
Awaken    Book 1 The A'vean Chronicles
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
SOME PEOPLE AREN'T DESTINED TO BE ORDINARY. With a...
Pipsqueaks, Slowpokes, and Stinkers: Celebrating Animal Underdogs
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Underdogs, unite! Celebrated nonfiction author Melissa Stewart offers young readers...

Latest Member Reviews

Bluebird
 
5.0
"It's 1946 and Eva leaves behind destroyed Berlin for New York City. Eva carries a deadly secret. One that others..."
Incendiary (Hollow Crown #1)
 
4.3
"INCENDIARY is an intriguing YA fantasy with rebellion, magic, and intrigue. Renata was stolen from her parents as a child..."
Love and Other Sins
 
5.0
"Read it in one sitting and can’t wait to read the next one!!"
 
4.3
"This was definitely an interesting book. I really enjoyed all of the witchy aspects of the book! It starts off..."
Tell No Tales: Pirates of the Southern Seas
 
4.5
"TELL NO TALES is a graphic novel that features Anne Bonny and her tale of pirating. She has an amazing..."
Into Darkness (Stuffed, Book 2) (Stuffed, 2)
 
4.0
"STUFFED INTO DARKNESS features Clark who is so excited to go to camp, where the Stuffies protect them from monsters...."
If You Go Down to the Woods Today (Brown Bear Wood)
 
4.0
"IF YOU GO DOWN TO THE WOODS TODAY has a poem on each page which opens up to the items..."
Bunny Will Not Jump!: Ready-to-Read Level 1
 
4.0
"Bear wants nothing more than for Bunny to jump, but he won't do it. Bunny doesn't want to jump and..."
Milo's Christmas Parade
 
5.0
"MILO'S CHRISTMAS PARADE features a little opossum who wants nothing more than to join the Christmas parade. For this reason,..."
Taking Care of Mama Rabbit
 
3.5
"When Mama Rabbit falls ill, it's up to Papa Rabbit to go get medicine and her children to make her..."
More Ryan's World of Science: Ready-to-Read Level 1
 
5.0
"MORE RYAN'S WORLD OF SCIENCE features science experiments that are Ryan approved. Not only is this book full of science,..."
Slow Down: 50 Mindful Moments in Nature
 
5.0
"SLOW DOWN contains 50 moments in nature that people will miss on a normal day. Everyone is so busy with..."
A Kid's Guide to Fandom: Exploring Fan-Fic, Cosplay, Gaming, Podcasting, and More in the Geek World!
 
5.0
"A KID'S GUIDE TO FANDOM is exactly what it says and is full of anything and everything nerdy. From cosplaying,..."
Pipsqueaks, Slowpokes, and Stinkers: Celebrating Animal Underdogs
 
4.7
"PIPSQUEAKS, SLOWPOKES, and SQUEAKERS highlights the underdogs of the animal kingdom. There's an Amau from who is small enough to..."
Beneath the Waves
 
5.0
"BENEATH THE WAVES includes everything ocean related, from Secrets of the Shell, to poems, to creatures and their food sources...."
Mine
 
4.0
"Lily isn’t thrilled about her family’s move from Colorado to Florida. In Colorado, she had her drama club and her..."
Small Favors
 
4.7
"SMALL FAVORS is a compelling, spooky, and atmospheric YA fantasy/horror that keeps the reader guessing. Ellerie is a young woman..."
The Republic of Birds
 
3.0
"Once, birds and humans lived together until a war erupted over a firebird’s egg. Now, the humans have their own..."
Sidelined
 
4.7
"Julian is looking forward to his senior year in Meridien, Texas. He wants to play football and hopefully get scouted..."
Gold Spun
 
4.8
"WHAT I LOVED: GOLD SPUN is a fairytale reimagining of Rumpelstiltskin. To ensure peace following the war between Faradisia..."