Featured Review: These Feathered Flames (Alexandra Overy)

51NNDM1b0OL._SX327_BO1204203200_

About This Book:

When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates are decided at a young age. While Izaveta remained at court to learn the skills she’d need as the future queen, Asya was taken away to train with her aunt, the mysterious Firebird, who ensured magic remained balanced in the realm.

But before Asya’s training is completed, the ancient power blooms inside her, which can mean only one thing: the queen is dead, and a new ruler must be crowned.

As the princesses come to understand everything their roles entail, they’ll discover who they can trust, who they can love—and who killed their mother.

 

 

*Review Contributed by Olivia Farr, Staff Reviewer*

THESE FEATHERED FLAMES is an enchanting YA fantasy about sisterhood, power, and destiny. When twins are born in the royal line, one is destined to become the immortal firebird and the other queen. Although not born every generation, Asya and Izaveta are currently being trained in their destined roles, Asya to be the Firebird and Izaveta to be queen.

Asya is scared of who she will become - the Firebird is a magical creature that ensures the cost of magic is paid. When someone casts a spell, they should give something to the spell. If their price is not high enough, the Firebird is called and takes something from them to maintain the balance. The price can be a limb or even their life.

Izaveta is being trained in manipulation and power by their mother, who has mastered the indifference and cruelty needed to rule the country. She does not recognize who she used to be when she grew up with her twin sister. Her life is a game of people.

When the Queen (their mother) dies, the twins must come into their destined roles, a dangerous process when the country is seemingly conspiring against them to destroy the Firebird and the Queen.

What I loved: This was an absolutely captivating and atmospheric read. The world-building of this unique queendom and the parts the two sisters play was really intriguing. It was easy to get caught up in each of their roles and lives. The book is told from the perspectives of both twins, and I appreciated the ability to get into their minds and see all the sides of the situation. Neither twin has fully embraced their destiny, and their conflicts along with those of the world around them, propel the plot forward in unexpected ways. I appreciated the twists that I did not see coming and which blew me away towards the end.

There were also some really thought-provoking themes in the book about power, morality, destiny, religion, and sisterhood. Where would you draw the lines of acceptable actions if you felt that the end was right? How much power would you need to stop something you felt was wrong? The interplay of characters and the potent roles held by the twins was really fascinating. Many of the decisions they must make are in the moral gray, and they each acknowledge this but also try to decide who they want to be. As their personalities and desires solidify into the characters they have become, the book crescendos, and the pieces will fall where they must.

Betrayals, lessons learned, and intense themes add to the compelling writing and characters throughout. The roles of side characters, some of whose roles have yet to be fully revealed (second book now, please!), added to the world and stories therein to make this a captivating read. The romances that build in the book were secondary to some of the other plots, but I really enjoyed them, particularly the f/f romance that has enemies-to-lovers vibes.

Final verdict: Atmospheric, compelling, and with intriguing themes, THESE FEATHERED FLAMES is a captivating YA fantasy. With unexpected betrayals, strong character development, and intense world building, this book is absolutely riveting and highly devourable. Highly recommend for fans of THE MERCIFUL CROW, RED QUEEN, and THE WINTER DUKE.

 

 

*Find More Info & Buy This Book HERE!*

Spotlight on Kate In Waiting (Becky Albertalli), E...
YABC Staff's Current Reads ~ April 19, 2021

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A prince of two kingdoms. A woman fighting against the...
All These Bodies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. ...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and...
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
What makes the great white shark (one of) the greatest...
Made in Korea
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Frankly in Love meets Shark Tank in this feel-good romantic...

Latest Member Reviews

Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
"SPELLS TROUBLE is a thrilling YA fantasy that takes the reader from Salem during the witch trials to the midwest..."
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
"Gus is the pack leader at Miss Lottie's house, and has kept the peace well with excitable Roo, loyal and..."
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
"HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL: THE MUSICAL: THE SERIES: THE ROAD TRIP is a fun book that compliments the show by diving..."
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
"When Renna goes swimming in a pond, she never expects to meet a boy named Trev in the most unladylike..."
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
"I'LL MEET YOU IN YOUR DREAMS is a gorgeously illustrated picture book about parental love that spans space and time...."
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
"COLORS OF HABITATS is a beautifully illustrated oversized book of inspiration for artists. The book walks through different habitats from..."
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
"10 TRUTHS AND A DARE is a book about family and owning up to your mistakes. Olivia is about to..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
"It's the start of Grand Season and Nina's chance to join the Beautiful Ones, Loisail's notable socialites, hasn't gone well...."
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #1)
 
5.0
"This was... one of the best books I've read in a long time. It was one of my absolute favorite..."
Yes No Maybe So
 
5.0
"I should start by saying I don't normally read books involving politics because I read to escape real life. That..."
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
"I AM THE SHARK is a fun and educational picture book about self-confidence. A great white shark is introducing the..."
The Bachmann Family Secret
 
3.0
"This book had some good ideas, especially a young man coming to terms with his sexuality, but it felt somewhat..."
Made in Korea
 
4.7
"MADE IN KOREA is a sweet romantic-comedy about competition, family, and reaching for your dreams. Valerie runs a very successful..."
The Keeper of Night
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF DR.IFADE CONTACT ON WHATS_APP NUMBER +1(551)333-5249. OR HIS EMAIL ..."
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
"PERFECTLY PARVIN is a laugh-out-loud, charming YA contemporary fiction read. Parvin is about to begin her freshman year of high..."
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
Photos Framed: A Fresh Look at the World's Most Memorable Photographs
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
Book Nerd
 
N/A
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
The Love Song of Ivy K. Harlowe
 
3.0
"THE LOVE SONG OF IVY K. HARLOWE is a new adult read about love, pining, and friendship. Andie is 19..."
The People We Choose
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."