Featured Review: The Verity (MJ Lawrie)

41n4G7txV5L

About This Book:

My name is Scarlett.
My job is to kill.
And I'm damn good at my job.

Fifty years ago, a series of catastrophic disasters ended modern civilisation as we knew it. When the world was on the brink of starvation, a pill made to save us instead turned most of the human population into blood-thirsty monsters.

Now, what's left of humanity lives behind a fifty-foot high wall, in a town dubbed The Haven.
On the day I was born, I was donated as a sacrificial soldier to the last human army. Every waking moment of my life is dedicated to learning how to kill the millions of monsters now occupying England.

The Haven, as well as its residents, are governed by an order known as 'The Verity' .
They rule with cruelty, violence and threats of banishment if ever disobeyed.
We are told when to eat. When to sleep. When to kill and when to die.
But when I'm ordered to give up the man I love and instead marry the cruellest and most tyrannical man I have ever known, I make an impossible choice.
A choice that leads me to a terrible truth.
That the Verity has a far darker agenda for humanity than any human-eating monster could ever have.

Ideal for fans of "The Walking Dead" and "The Hunger Games."

 

 

*Review Contributed By Stephanie Augustine Staff Reviewer*

Friends. FRIENDS. This book was so good. I apologize in advanced if it’s just a bunch of rambling because I’m going to try to get my thoughts cohesive. First off, I love this retelling of how the zombie apocalypse started. This really interested me and I thought it was pretty clever. The book also starts off with a very clear description of how the current world is. I love the visualization and the explanation of everything. I was never left guessing about what type of world or govern was being executed. Honestly, a lot of it reminded me of the manga/anime Attack on Titan, without the zombies all being overly sized. Regardless, the story itself was so interesting. The pacing was fantastic and every event had me wanting more. Everything about this book I really enjoyed.

While I loved the world of zombies it was really the characters who did it. Scarlett is one of the best written characters I’ve read in a long time. An issue I find with “strong, independent” main characters is sometimes they come off either too whiny or too bitchy (sorry for the swear). Everytime I thought Scarlett was being the latter or inconsiderate she was like “Wait a minute” and revealed the opposite. To me, this is perfect character writing. I loved this about Scarlett. She was always so strong but her weakness showed through at exactly the right times. Her character was amazing. I wanted her to succeed and see her plans carried out. There is just so much complexity about her but at the same time, she is so simple. To really portray that enhanced this story immensely. All of the other characters were perfect as well but honestly, Scarlett stole this whole story.

FINAL THOUGHTS
Overall, The Verity: Part One by M.J. Lawrie is such a fantastic book. The way the zombie apocalypse started was really unique and I really enjoyed the way everything developed. The whole story had an interesting flow to it. I really appreciated all the events that happened. Even with a fantastic story, it was the main character who really made it fantastic. I highly recommend this story if you want a post-apocalypetic world with one of the best written characters I’ve read in a long time.
 
 
*Find More Info & Buy This Book HERE!*
Rockstar Book Tours: Excerpt & Giveaway: Broken Wi...
Spooktacular Stories Giveaway of 2020! (Children's...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Wings of Ebony (Wings of Ebony, #1)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this riveting, keenly emotional debut fantasy, a Black teen...
Unchosen
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Katharyn Blair crafts a fiercely feminist fantasy with a horrifying...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Leanne Strong hates June eighth even though it's supposed to...
The Memory Thief  (Thirteen Witches #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Rosie Singer’s mom is missing whatever it is that...
Singled Out: The True Story of Glenn Burke
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
On October 2nd, 1977, Glenn Burke, outfielder for the Los...
The Elephant in the Room
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It's been almost a year since Sila's mother traveled halfway...
Alone in the Woods
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jocelyn and Alex have always been best friends...until they aren't....
Disaster Days
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hannah Steele loves living on Pelling, a tiny island near...
Wild River
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Daniel Redmayne is fast asleep on the first night of...
In the Penalty Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Willow Figure skating was supposed to be my...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
3 nights, 2 days, and 1 massive music fest ....
The Afterlife of the Party (Afterlife, #1)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
I didn’t even want to go to the party. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tianna Morgan and her friends run Cadie Mae High. Great...
The Alcazar (The Cerulean, #2)
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Amy Ewing comes the...
Tears of Frost (Heart of Thorns, #2)
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
This captivating second book in Bree Barton’s Heart of...
The Broken Raven (Shadow Skye, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the heart-pounding second book in the Shadow Skye...

Latest Member Reviews

Wings of Ebony (Wings of Ebony, #1)
 
4.7
"WINGS OF EBONY is a beautifully crafted YA fantasy. A year has passed since Rue's life was irrevocably changed. Her..."
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0
"I don't know how this series keeps getting better, but it does. This third book is just... so much happens..."
The Tempest Sea
 
5.0
"This book... oof. It hurt. But if you know me at all, you know my favorite books are the kind..."
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
"This book grabbed me from the very beginning, throwing me into this beautifully-crafted, intriguing new world. The plot is fast-paced..."
The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1)
 
4.3
"THE GILDED ONES by Namina Forna is a YA fantasy novel and the first book in the Deathless series. The..."
Unchosen
 
5.0
"UNCHOSEN is a fantastic and completely captivating YA apocalyptic fantasy, filled with feminism, friendship, sisterhood, and romance. Charlotte is the..."
The Memory Thief  (Thirteen Witches #1)
 
5.0
"Rosie has always taken care of herself and her mother in their house overlooking the coast of Maine. Her mother..."
Singled Out: The True Story of Glenn Burke
 
4.5
"Maraniss, whose Strong Inside covered Black basketball player Perry Wallace, turns his incredible research skills the the story of Glenn..."
The Elephant in the Room
 
5.0
"Sila's family has been happy in Oregon, even though her father, who is a mechanical engineer, has to work as..."
Alone in the Woods
 
5.0
"Jocelyn always looks forward to the vacation in a cabin that she and her friend Alex's family take every year...."
Disaster Days
 
5.0
"Hannah doesn't understand why her parents are SO overprotective, even though she occasionally has a hard time dealing with her..."
We Dream of Space
 
4.0
"Bird, her twin brother Fitch, and their older brother Chase are all doing the best they can in 1986 Park,..."
Wild River
 
5.0
"Daniel isn't all that sure why he was chosen to go on an outdoor experience trip with four other students..."
In the Penalty Box
 
4.0
"IN THE PENALTY BOX is a cute YA contemporary hockey romance. Willow is a figure skater heading for the Olympics,..."
The Afterlife of the Party (Afterlife, #1)
 
4.7
"THE AFTERLIFE OF THE PARTY is a YA vampire book for anyone who doesn't want to make out with the..."
The Alcazar (The Cerulean, #2)
 
3.0
"THE ALCAZAR wraps up an intriguing YA fantasy duology. The book continues to follow four main characters in alternating points-of-view,..."
Super Fake Love Song
 
4.0
"Super Fake Love Song is about Sunny Dae, a Korean American teenager who is a mega-nerd trying to survive at..."
Hot British Boyfriend
 
4.3
"Ellie lives in Washington D.C. and attends an elite school, even though the tuition is a stretch for her single..."
Charlie Thorne and the Lost City (Charlie Thorne #2)
 
5.0
"After her adventures in Charlie Thorne and the Last Equation, Charlie is hiding out in the Galapagos Islands in Ecuador,..."
Amari and the Night Brothers
 
4.0
"Amari has struggled in the private school she attends on scholarship because the other students are mean to her, and..."