Featured Review: The (Un)Popular Vote (Jasper Sanchez)

51jcOHf-QeL._SX329_BO1204203200_

About This Book:

Optics can make or break an election. Everything Mark knows about politics, he learned from his father, the Congressman who still pretends he has a daughter and not a son.

Mark has promised to keep his past hidden and pretend to be the cis guy everyone assumes he is. But when he sees a manipulatively charming candidate for student body president inflame dangerous rhetoric, Mark risks his low profile to become a political challenger.

The problem? No one really knows Mark. He didn’t grow up in this town, and his few friends are all nerds. Still, thanks to Scandal and The West Wing, they know where to start: from campaign stops to voter polling to a fashion makeover.

Soon Mark feels emboldened to engage with voters—and even start a new romance. But with an investigative journalist digging into his past, a father trying to silence him, and the bully frontrunner standing in his way, Mark will have to decide which matters most: perception or truth, when both are just as dangerous.

 

 

*Review Contributed by Olivia Farr, Staff Reviewer*

THE (UN)POPULAR VOTE is a fantastic YA contemporary about embracing your differences, standing up for what you believe in, and the power of acceptance. Mark is trans, and his coming out was really difficult. His mother believed in him and fought for him, while his father made him a bargain to hide who he is and pretend to be a cis guy with a very low profile, while he insists on constantly using his deadname and referring to it as a phase.

When he sees a fellow student being bullied for his queer identity and then forced by the administration to apologize for the resultant fight, Mark begins to question his hiding persona. When that student, Benji, writes a moving piece about why he won't apologize and why he shouldn't have to, Mark feels called to action. The school policies that allow hate speech and bullying but punish those that react to it need to be changed. After discussing with his BFF Jenny and his mother, Mark decides to run for school president, determined to make a change in unfair school policies and stand up for everyone who feels that they don't fit in at the school.

As he begins running, much to his congressman father's dismay, Mark will learn more about his classmates and himself than he ever could have expected.

What I loved: This book speaks to the soul, and the compelling characters and solid plot craft a story that needs to be heard. Mark felt so genuine, and he is dealing with the challenges of high school, the lack of acceptance from his father, and dynamics of friendships and relationships - while also running a campaign. The story is quite emotional at times (in the best way), but also manages to mix in some swoon and humor throughout.

I found the other characters to be well-developed and appreciated their inclusion and stories. Among Mark's French Club group (the informal GSA, since the GSA at their school is composed of only performative allies), there are some really memorable and delightful people who I would have loved getting to know even better. Of course, Mark's romantic interest certainly steals the heart, but I also adored Rachel and Nadia, who make a great power couple and have strong personalities and political prowess. Benji is also a compelling character who makes no apologies and embraces himself fully. Jenny and Pablo, Mark's BFFs, are also people I would love to get to know better. I feel like there could be some really awesome spinoff books from this one with these characters, as they were all people I would love to know more.

Beyond the themes mentioned above, there are some really important themes/discussions in the story that would make this a great pick for the classroom or for a book group. The book discusses coming out (the importance of it being unforced) and heteronormativity of it, the real meaning of allyship, the importance of safe spaces and acceptance for teens, the double standards for men/women in relationships, politics, and optics, privilege, and the power in being heard. Although some of these topics are brief, they are important and merit discussion. The book does a great job of discussing them as they come up. This ultimately ended up being an uplifting read that leaves the reader with hope - an ever-valuable commodity.

Final verdict: THE (UN)POPULAR VOTE is a charming, delightful, and important YA contemporary read that I absolutely adored. Highly recommend for fans of MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE, JAY'S GAY AGENDA, and RED, WHITE, AND ROYAL BLUE.

 

 

*Find More Info & Buy This Book HERE!*

Waiting on Wednesday ~ June 9, 2021
Author Chat with Chad Sell (The Cardboard Kingdom ...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

In A Flash
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A riveting and dramatic story of two devoted sisters, Italian...
Welcome to California: A Little Engine that Could Road Trip
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Little Engine That Could is on the move and...
The Alpactory: Ready, Set, Go!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to the Alpactory! These wacky alpacas are here to...
I Like to Share!
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the joys of learning to share in this exuberant...
The Infinity Courts (The Infinity Courts, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Westworld meets Warcross in this high-stakes, dizzyingly smart sci-fi about...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
If Only...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bestselling author-illustrator Mies van Hout employs vivid creatures in a...
Like a Giant
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautiful story about imagination and taking your time to...
A Rosa Le Encantan Los Carros/Rosa Loves Cars
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Averiguemos con quâe juguetes juegan Rosa y sus amigos hoy!...
The Duck Who Didn't Like Water
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
See a duck take to the water of friendship in...
Goodnight, Little Llama
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Little Llama, who is about to make a very...
The Boy and the Sea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A picture book meditation on curiosity, wonder, and finding one’s...
In Your Cozy Bed
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
A soothing bedtime board book from the creators of In...
Chicks Rock!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rocker Chick overcomes stage fright to find her voice in...
The Beach (Bluey)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Read along and join Bluey's latest adventure! ...
All About Bluey
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Bluey! This lovable and imaginative Blue Heeler puppy is...

Latest Member Reviews

In A Flash
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set in WWII where two Italian sisters survive after being forced into a Japanese internment camp..."
Welcome to California: A Little Engine that Could Road Trip
 
4.7
"WELCOME TO CALIFORNIA is an adorable Little Engine book that takes the reader on a trip through some of the..."
The Alpactory: Ready, Set, Go!
 
4.0
"THE ALPACTORY: READY, PACK, GO! is a cute picture book about preparedness. The book starts with three animals who are..."
I Like to Share!
 
3.5
"I LIKE TO SHARE! is a simple board book about kindness and friendship. The book is told in a few..."
The Infinity Courts (The Infinity Courts, #1)
 
5.0
"THE INFINITY COURTS is a stunning and dazzling YA fantasy about morality, humanity, and the afterlife. Nami is truly excited..."
If Only...
 
4.0
"IF ONLY... is an intriguing picture book that ultimately encourages readers to be happy with who they are. The book..."
Like a Giant
 
4.0
"LIKE A GIANT is an intriguing picture book about imagination and play. A young child is approached by a giant,..."
A Rosa Le Encantan Los Carros/Rosa Loves Cars
 
4.5
"A ROSA LE ENCANTAN LOS CARROS/ROSA LOVES CAR is a delightful, bilingual board book about toy cars. Rosa and her..."
The Duck Who Didn't Like Water
 
5.0
"THE DUCK WHO DIDN'T LIKE WATER is a delightful picture book about friendship and kindness. Duck is not a fan..."
Curse of the Specter Queen
 
3.7
"CURSE OF THE SPECTER QUEEN was an intriguing YA historical fiction with code-breaking, good friends, and imminent danger. Sam works..."
Forest of the Fae (The Balloonist Chronicles Book 2)
 
5.0
"Such a fascinating series. The Story: Once again, we're following two different stories, that..."
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
4.5
"This book took me a bit longer to get into than the other ones. I think I was having a..."
All Last Summer
 
5.0
" A refreshing and sweet story. The story: Lila is trying to..."
The Sky Above Us
 
3.7
"What worked: Unique coming-of-age story that tackles grief and tragedy. Told through the eyes of six teens, this story starts..."
Goodnight, Little Llama
 
4.0
"GOODNIGHT, LITTLE LLAMA is a charming picture book story about friendship. Little Llama lives with her herd high in the..."
The Boy and the Sea
 
5.0
"THE BOY AND THE SEA is a beautiful story about growing up, dreaming, and peace. The boy brings his questions..."
In Your Cozy Bed
 
3.5
"IN YOUR BED is a cute board book containing a poem about bedtime. The book captures elements of bedtime, such..."
Chicks Rock!
 
5.0
"CHICKS ROCK! is a fun picture book about friendship, reaching for your dreams, and embracing your strengths. Rocker Chick loves..."
The Beach (Bluey)
 
4.5
"BLUEY: THE BEACH is a charming picture book about bravery and adventure. Bluey is excited to be at the beach..."
All About Bluey
 
4.0
"ALL ABOUT BLUEY is a cute board book that introduces the character and some simple facts about her. Whether..."