Featured Review: The Tragedy of Dane Riley (Kat Spears)

51UpVHG5EcS._SX322_BO1204203200_

About This Book:

A teen confronts his feelings about his father’s death, his new family, and the girl next door in this emotional young adult novel from critically-acclaimed author Kat Spears

Dane Riley’s grasp on reality is slipping, and he’s not sure that he cares. While his mother has moved on after his father’s death, Dane desperately misses the man who made Dane feel okay to be himself. He can’t stand his mother’s boyfriend, or the boyfriend’s son, whose favorite pastime is tormenting Dane. Then there’s the girl next door: Dane can’t quite define their relationship, and he doesn’t know if he’s got the courage to leave the friend zone.

An emotional novel about mental health, and dealing with grief and growing up, The Tragedy of Dane Riley is the story of a teenager looking to make sense of his feelings in the wake of tragedy, and finding the strength he needs to make life worth living.

 

 

*Review Contributed by Olivia Farr, Staff Reviewer*

THE TRAGEDY OF DANE RILEY is a compelling YA contemporary read about family, grief, depression, and mental illness. Dane is spiraling, feeling so much sadness from his father's death and anger at his mother and her new boyfriend. His mother has gotten him to see a new therapist, who wants to decrease medications and try talk therapy. Dane is starting to feel like his life is pointless and does not understand what he is heading towards. He is letting school get away from him and will not make a move on the beautiful girl next door that he is sure he loves.

As he navigates his life and does therapy, he begins to have some realizations about himself and the people around him that bring new perspectives.

What I loved: This was, at times, a challenging and emotional read - Dane is drowning in his grief and anger. His emotions and thoughts are central to the story, where we read in an almost stream-of-consciousness style. This really pulls the reader into his life and challenges. He is flawed and struggling, and I appreciated that with those elements, we also see the power of those around him to effect change in his life and reach him. Dane is relatively lucky in that he lives in a wealthy area, has a mother who takes him to therapy and friends and a teacher who are in his corner. These sorts of resources are always important to see.

Beyond these central themes, there were several others that I found thought-provoking within the story. For instance, his mother's boyfriend's son, who is a predator and takes advantage of girls, also bragging about abortions he has paid for. He feels like a caricature, but he conveys some themes around shaming, rape culture, and privilege that allows him to escape consequences.

There are also some intriguing conversations about reincarnation and the afterlife that Dane has as he processes his father's death. His and Ophelia's understandings and thoughts about romantic love were also both interesting and heart-breaking. This is definitely a read that makes you feel it all.

What left me wanting more: I wanted to see a bit more and find out what happens after the book ends. It does complete most of the threads of plot, but I always love to know more. The ending felt a little sudden to me, but maybe this was just because I was so wrapped up in Dane's emotions and life. I also wanted to see more about his suicidality and a little less stereotypes and stigmatizing of mental illness from main characters (around another character who has bipolar).

Final verdict: Immersive and emotional, THE TRAGEDY OF DANE RILEY is a YA contemporary that is sure to stick with the reader after the last page is turned. Recommend for fans of THE LUCKY ONES, WHEN THE STARS LEAD TO YOU, and EVERY OTHER WEEKEND.

 

 

*Find More Info & Buy This Book HERE!*

Featured Review: FIVER FINDS HOME (Jill Bugbee)
Waiting on Wednesday ~ June 23, 2021

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Fresh
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A hilarious and vulnerable coming-of-age story about the thrilling new...
Illusionary (Hollow Crown, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this thrilling adventure, our magical heroine embarks on a...
Bluebird
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In 1946, Eva leaves behind the rubble of Berlin for...
Merci Suárez Can't Dance
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh grade is going to be a real trial...
When You Know What I Know
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This harrowing, and ultimately hopeful novel in verse sensitively...
Between Perfect and Real
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A moving YA debut about a trans boy finding...
The Cost of Knowing
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dear Martin meets They Both Die at the End...
Gold Spun
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
If Nor can't spin gold, she can always spin...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Dayna Walsh is struggling to cope with her somatic...
Small Favors
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Ellerie Downing is waiting for something to happen. Life...
If You Go Down to the Woods Today (Brown Bear Wood)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Journey through a magical woodland, with poems to read and...
Bunny Will Not Jump!: Ready-to-Read Level 1
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From the endless imagination of Jason Tharp comes a hilarious...
Milo's Christmas Parade
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A new picture book from Jennie Palmer starring Milo, a...
Slow Down: 50 Mindful Moments in Nature
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Slow down to watch 50 nature stories that command calm...
Once Upon A Pizza: Eight Crazy Ways Pizza Wasn't Really Invented, And One It Might Have Been
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone loves pizza, but how was it invented? ...
A Kid's Guide to Fandom: Exploring Fan-Fic, Cosplay, Gaming, Podcasting, and More in the Geek World!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Help young fans get in touch with their inner geeks...

Latest Member Reviews

Fresh
 
4.3
"FRESH is an entertaining and thought-provoking coming-of-age story. Elliott is a middle child, heading to college far from home at..."
Illusionary (Hollow Crown, #2)
 
5.0
"ILLUSIONARY is a beautifully written sequel in a strong YA fantasy duology. The book begins after the first ended, with..."
Bluebird
 
5.0
"It's 1946 and Eva leaves behind destroyed Berlin for New York City. Eva carries a deadly secret. One that others..."
Incendiary (Hollow Crown #1)
 
4.3
"INCENDIARY is an intriguing YA fantasy with rebellion, magic, and intrigue. Renata was stolen from her parents as a child..."
Love and Other Sins
 
5.0
"Read it in one sitting and can’t wait to read the next one!!"
 
4.3
"This was definitely an interesting book. I really enjoyed all of the witchy aspects of the book! It starts off..."
Tell No Tales: Pirates of the Southern Seas
 
4.5
"TELL NO TALES is a graphic novel that features Anne Bonny and her tale of pirating. She has an amazing..."
Into Darkness (Stuffed, Book 2) (Stuffed, 2)
 
4.0
"STUFFED INTO DARKNESS features Clark who is so excited to go to camp, where the Stuffies protect them from monsters...."
If You Go Down to the Woods Today (Brown Bear Wood)
 
4.0
"IF YOU GO DOWN TO THE WOODS TODAY has a poem on each page which opens up to the items..."
Bunny Will Not Jump!: Ready-to-Read Level 1
 
4.0
"Bear wants nothing more than for Bunny to jump, but he won't do it. Bunny doesn't want to jump and..."
Milo's Christmas Parade
 
5.0
"MILO'S CHRISTMAS PARADE features a little opossum who wants nothing more than to join the Christmas parade. For this reason,..."
Taking Care of Mama Rabbit
 
3.5
"When Mama Rabbit falls ill, it's up to Papa Rabbit to go get medicine and her children to make her..."
More Ryan's World of Science: Ready-to-Read Level 1
 
5.0
"MORE RYAN'S WORLD OF SCIENCE features science experiments that are Ryan approved. Not only is this book full of science,..."
Slow Down: 50 Mindful Moments in Nature
 
5.0
"SLOW DOWN contains 50 moments in nature that people will miss on a normal day. Everyone is so busy with..."
A Kid's Guide to Fandom: Exploring Fan-Fic, Cosplay, Gaming, Podcasting, and More in the Geek World!
 
5.0
"A KID'S GUIDE TO FANDOM is exactly what it says and is full of anything and everything nerdy. From cosplaying,..."
Pipsqueaks, Slowpokes, and Stinkers: Celebrating Animal Underdogs
 
4.7
"PIPSQUEAKS, SLOWPOKES, and SQUEAKERS highlights the underdogs of the animal kingdom. There's an Amau from who is small enough to..."
Beneath the Waves
 
5.0
"BENEATH THE WAVES includes everything ocean related, from Secrets of the Shell, to poems, to creatures and their food sources...."
Mine
 
4.0
"Lily isn’t thrilled about her family’s move from Colorado to Florida. In Colorado, she had her drama club and her..."
Small Favors
 
4.7
"SMALL FAVORS is a compelling, spooky, and atmospheric YA fantasy/horror that keeps the reader guessing. Ellerie is a young woman..."
The Republic of Birds
 
3.0
"Once, birds and humans lived together until a war erupted over a firebird’s egg. Now, the humans have their own..."