Featured Review: The Tiger At Midnight (Swati Teerdhala)

38205303

About This Book:

Esha is a legend, but no one knows. It’s only in the shadows that she moonlights as the Viper, the rebels’ highly skilled assassin. She’s devoted her life to avenging what she lost in the royal coup, and now she’s been tasked with her most important mission to date: taking down the ruthless General Hotha.

Kunal has been a soldier since childhood, training morning and night to uphold the power of King Vardaan. His uncle, the general, has ensured that Kunal never strays from the path—even as a part of Kunal longs to join the outside world, which has been growing only more volatile.

Then Esha’s and Kunal’s paths cross—and an unimaginable chain of events unfolds. Both the Viper and the soldier think they’re calling the shots, but they’re not the only players moving the pieces. As the bonds that hold their land in order break down and the sins of the past meet the promise of a new future, both rebel and soldier must make unforgivable choices.

Inspired by ancient Indian history and Hindu mythology.
 

 

 

 

*Review Contributed By Olivia Farr Staff Reviewer*

 

 

 

THE TIGER AT MIDNIGHT is a lush YA fantasy that follows two primary characters in alternating points-of-view. Esha is known as the Viper, an almost mythical figure that works against the current ruler Verdaan who usurped the throne from the ruling Queens and has altered women’s roles in society as a result. Through the bloody battles and subsequent, unfair laws, Verdaan and the general (Kunal’s uncle) have made a lot of enemies and killed a lot of common people in addition to political figures.

Kunal has mostly been raised by his uncle in his way of life, valuing control above all else, and functioning as a soldier. This is the only way of life he can really remember, and Kunal is the loyal, ideal soldier as a result. After he meets an interesting girl (Esha) on the same night that the Viper kills his uncle, Kunal is given a task to hunt the Viper and bring him back dead or alive. If he is the first to do so, he will receive his uncle’s title and thus the political power. So begins a journey that will alter Kunal forever and open his eyes to the truth of things.

What I loved: The descriptions of places and people are absolutely lush. The interwoven Indian history and Hindu mythology is beautiful, and the portrait painted throughout the book is absolutely fantastic. The world-building is top-notch in this book. The characters were also easy for me to like, both Esha and Kunal growing close to my heart. There is a lot of cat and mouse in the book with witty banter and entertaining scenarios. The romance creeps up on them, and it made it very believable. The overarching story was really well-developed, and I loved learning more about these characters and their lives.

What left me wanting more: The pacing was very slow at first, and I would have liked things to move faster. Notably, I did find that it sped up in the last half of the book. This may, in part, be because of the world and character building, which was very well done. Regardless, once I got through the first half of the book, I was completely hooked on the story and characters.

Final verdict: This YA fantasy is great for fans of THE REMNANT CHRONICLES and EMBER IN THE ASHES. With strong world-building and intriguing characters, this is a great start to a new series, and I will definitely seek out the next books. While the first half was slow, the pace picked up, and I was completely engrossed in this fascinating new world by the end of the book. It does have a bit of a cliff-hanger, so be prepared to eagerly await the sequel!

 

 

 

*Find More Info On This Book HERE!*

 

 

Spotlight on Again, But Better (Christine Riccio),...
Top Ten Tuesday ~ Top Ten YA Thriller/Mystery/Susp...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Watch Over Me
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mila is used to being alone. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her job is to keep their secrets safe. ...
City of the Plague God
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Best-selling author Rick Riordan presents CITY OF THE PLAGUE GOD,...
The Shadow War
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inglourious Basterds meets Stranger Things in this dark and thrilling...
The Valley and the Flood
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rose Colter is almost home, but she can't go back...
Don't Tell A Soul
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Stay up all night with this modern day Rebecca! Perfect...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
58 Farm End: a twisted romantic crime thriller series (Book...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Beatrice Walker thought she lived in a normal world—that is...
Crying is Like the Rain: A Story of Mindfulness and Feelings
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A gentle metaphor for understanding and processing anxiety and sadness....
The Brass Queen
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
She knows a liar when she sees one. ...
The Final Chance
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Friends no matter what. At least that's what Beth Ann...
Wylder and the Almost Rockstar
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How much trouble does it take to forget the boy...
Wylder and the Secret Rockstar
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How much trouble does it take to forget your summer...
Nubia: Real One
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can you be a hero...if society doesn't see you as...
Mary: The Adventures of Mary Shelley's Great-Great-Great-Great-Great-Granddaughter
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Angsty teenager Mary Shelley is not interested in carrying on...
Cursed: The Girl Who Shook the Earth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
I’m just another girl who survived foster care. Nothing special....

Latest Member Reviews

The Parkour Club
 
5.0
" The Parkour Club is a rollicking good read! Bronte’s journey to find her place in the world..."
Crying is Like the Rain: A Story of Mindfulness and Feelings
 
5.0
"CRYING IS LIKE THE RAIN teaches children that it's okay to cry rather than bottle everything up inside. The author..."
American Royals II: Majesty
 
3.7
"With her father gone, Beatrice must step into her role as queen. To do this, she has to let her..."
Mary: The Adventures of Mary Shelley's Great-Great-Great-Great-Great-Granddaughter
 
4.0
"Teen Mary Shelley is the many times great granddaughter of the legendary writer. Everyone in the Shelley lineage has become..."
The Obsession
 
4.7
"THE OBSESSION is a creepy and riveting YA thriller. Delilah lives with her mother and her mother's abusive boyfriend, a..."
The Project
 
4.3
"Lo Denham, magazine assistant and loner, is looking for her sister, Bea. Six years ago, Lo's parents died in a..."
The Night Circus
 
4.3
"I couldn’t begin to express how much I adore this book. This book, magically, soothed my temper and let me..."
Wings of Ebony (Wings of Ebony, #1)
 
4.7
"WINGS OF EBONY is a beautifully crafted YA fantasy. A year has passed since Rue's life was irrevocably changed. Her..."
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0
"I don't know how this series keeps getting better, but it does. This third book is just... so much happens..."
The Tempest Sea
 
5.0
"This book... oof. It hurt. But if you know me at all, you know my favorite books are the kind..."
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
"This book grabbed me from the very beginning, throwing me into this beautifully-crafted, intriguing new world. The plot is fast-paced..."
The Gilded Ones (Deathless #1)
 
4.3
"THE GILDED ONES by Namina Forna is a YA fantasy novel and the first book in the Deathless series. The..."
Unchosen
 
5.0
"UNCHOSEN is a fantastic and completely captivating YA apocalyptic fantasy, filled with feminism, friendship, sisterhood, and romance. Charlotte is the..."
The Memory Thief  (Thirteen Witches #1)
 
5.0
"Rosie has always taken care of herself and her mother in their house overlooking the coast of Maine. Her mother..."
Singled Out: The True Story of Glenn Burke
 
4.5
"Maraniss, whose Strong Inside covered Black basketball player Perry Wallace, turns his incredible research skills the the story of Glenn..."
The Elephant in the Room
 
5.0
"Sila's family has been happy in Oregon, even though her father, who is a mechanical engineer, has to work as..."
Alone in the Woods
 
5.0
"Jocelyn always looks forward to the vacation in a cabin that she and her friend Alex's family take every year...."
Disaster Days
 
5.0
"Hannah doesn't understand why her parents are SO overprotective, even though she occasionally has a hard time dealing with her..."
We Dream of Space
 
4.0
"Bird, her twin brother Fitch, and their older brother Chase are all doing the best they can in 1986 Park,..."
Wild River
 
5.0
"Daniel isn't all that sure why he was chosen to go on an outdoor experience trip with four other students..."