Featured Review: The Secret Diary Of Lydia Bennett (Natasha Farrant)

Featured Review: The Secret Diary Of Lydia Bennett (Natasha Farrant)

About This Book:

In the tradition of Longbourn, Mr. Darcy's Diary, and Prom and Prejudice...

Lydia is the youngest of the five Bennet girls. She's stubborn, never listens, and can't seem to keep her mouth shut--not that she would want to anyway. She's bored with her country life and wishes her older sisters would pay her attention . . . for once!

Luckily, the handsome Wickham arrives at Longbourn to sweep her off her feet. Lydia's not going to let him know THAT, of course, especially since he only seems to be interested in friendship. But when they both decide to summer in the fasionable seaside town of Brighton, their paths become entangled again. 

At the seaside, Lydia also finds exciting new ways of life and a pair of friends who offer her a future she never dreamed of. Lydia finally understands what she really wants. But can she get it? 

A fresh, funny, and spirited reimagining of Jane Austen's beloved Pride and Prejudice, The Secret Diary of Lydia Bennet brings the voice of the wildest Bennet sister alive and center stage like never before.

 

 

*Review Contributed by Samantha Randolph, Promotions Manager*

 

Quirky and endearing

Lydia Bennet is not a fan of the country life. Her older sisters do their own things, and she’s left bored. When a regimen arrives in town, Lydia is ready for some excitement. The handsome Wickham is the perfect entertainment, except he seems to be more interested in her sister than her. When Lydia travels to Brighton for the summer, she runs into Wickham again and finds new friends that show her a world she always dreamed of. Lydia must decide what will really make her happy before it’s too late. 

THE SECRET DIARY OF LYDIA BENNET is a hilarious, touching take on the life of one Lydia Bennet, youngest daughter of the Bennets. Natasha Farrant is a master storyteller and captures Lydia’s voice and personality perfectly. Lydia is an incredibly complex combination of stubborn, fierce, naïve, enthusiastic, and passionate, but her quirky determination is what makes her so easy to root for. Her journey, though it involves Wickham, is clearly her own. Farrant doesn’t shy away from showing Wickham both as swoony and problematic, and their relationship evolves in a very realistic way. 

While I enjoy the inclusion of all the other Bennet sisters and the timeline of the original Pride and Prejudice, there were times when the story seemed to focus too much on Lizzie and Jane than Lydia. However, once Lydia goes to Brighton, she takes a firm center stage. The dynamic between her and Kitty is also wonderfully explored through letters once Lydia departs. 

Readers who love quirky and endearing takes on classics will adore THE SECRET DIARY OF LYDIA BENNET. Lydia’s voice comes to life on page as she navigates sisterhood, romance, and a society that isn’t ready for her yet. 

 

 

*Find more info on this book HERE!*

Waiting On Wednesday ~ October 26, 2016
Author Chat with Silvia Moreno-Garcia, Plus Giveaw...
 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment