Featured Review: The Other Side of Perfect (Mariko Turk)

5174SeRNYdL._SX331_BO1204203200_

About This Book:

For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi, this lyrical and emotionally driven novel follows Alina, a young aspiring dancer who suffers a devastating injury and must face a world without ballet—as well as the darker side of her former dream.

Alina Keeler was destined to dance, but then a terrifying fall shatters her leg—and her dreams of a professional ballet career along with it.

After a summer healing (translation: eating vast amounts of Cool Ranch Doritos and binging ballet videos on YouTube), she is forced to trade her pre-professional dance classes for normal high school, where she reluctantly joins the school musical. However, rehearsals offer more than she expected—namely Jude, her annoyingly attractive castmate she just might be falling for.

But to move forward, Alina must make peace with her past and face the racism she experienced in the dance industry. She wonders what it means to yearn for ballet—something so beautiful, yet so broken. And as broken as she feels, can she ever open her heart to someone else?

Touching, romantic, and peppered with humor, this debut novel explores the tenuousness of perfectionism, the possibilities of change, and the importance of raising your voice.

 

 

*Review Contributed by Olivia Farr, Staff Reviewer*

THE OTHER SIDE OF PERFECT is an engrossing YA contemporary about loss, grief, moving on, friendship, and sisterhood. Alina has lived her life in pursuit of ballet - a dream that is crashing around her when she suffers an unexpected and complicated broken leg. Alina is determined to get back out there, but as the doctors warned- even after PT and doing everything right - her leg is not the same, and her dreams seem to be crashing around her.

Now, she is attending regular high school, still mourning the loss of her ballet career. When a new friend pushes her to also try out for the musical, Alina is wary, but as she continues during the year, she begins to find the deepest wells of her grief and jealously. With friendship, sisterhood, and soul-searching, Alina may be able to come to the other side a complete person, even without the ballet she devoted her life to.

What I loved: This was an emotional read about grief and loss, in terms of losing things you love and coping with the fallout. There were also some really interesting other themes as well, such as racism in ballet (and outside of it), the power of supportive friends, all-consuming passion, and the importance of sibling relationships. I also really enjoyed the slow-building romances in the book (not just for Alina, but also for some of the side characters, particularly Harrison).

There are so many characters that I fell in love with during the story, and I appreciated all the character development that happens. When people get called out on things in this book, they generally show how to gracefully move forward. This is a really important skill. Although the story moved a little slowly at first, it captured Alina's emotions, particularly her depression and the difficulty in moving on, and the story became more immersive as it continued.

Final verdict: THE OTHER SIDE OF PERFECT is an intriguing and emotional read that features important and thought-provoking themes. Highly recommend for fans of SUPER FAKE LOVE SONG, DON'T DATE ROSA SANTOS, and THERE'S SOMETHING ABOUT SWEETIE.

 

 

*Find More Info & Buy This Book HERE!*

Author Chat with Tiffany Rosenhan (Girl From Nowhe...
Spotlight on On The Hook (Francisco X. Stork), Exc...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

In A Flash
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A riveting and dramatic story of two devoted sisters, Italian...
Welcome to California: A Little Engine that Could Road Trip
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The Little Engine That Could is on the move and...
The Alpactory: Ready, Set, Go!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to the Alpactory! These wacky alpacas are here to...
I Like to Share!
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Celebrate the joys of learning to share in this exuberant...
The Infinity Courts (The Infinity Courts, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Westworld meets Warcross in this high-stakes, dizzyingly smart sci-fi about...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Protect the weak. Safety for all. Power without virtue is...
If Only...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bestselling author-illustrator Mies van Hout employs vivid creatures in a...
Like a Giant
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautiful story about imagination and taking your time to...
A Rosa Le Encantan Los Carros/Rosa Loves Cars
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Averiguemos con quâe juguetes juegan Rosa y sus amigos hoy!...
The Duck Who Didn't Like Water
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
See a duck take to the water of friendship in...
Goodnight, Little Llama
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Little Llama, who is about to make a very...
The Boy and the Sea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A picture book meditation on curiosity, wonder, and finding one’s...
In Your Cozy Bed
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
A soothing bedtime board book from the creators of In...
Chicks Rock!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rocker Chick overcomes stage fright to find her voice in...
The Beach (Bluey)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Read along and join Bluey's latest adventure! ...
All About Bluey
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Bluey! This lovable and imaginative Blue Heeler puppy is...

Latest Member Reviews

In A Flash
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set in WWII where two Italian sisters survive after being forced into a Japanese internment camp..."
Welcome to California: A Little Engine that Could Road Trip
 
4.7
"WELCOME TO CALIFORNIA is an adorable Little Engine book that takes the reader on a trip through some of the..."
The Alpactory: Ready, Set, Go!
 
4.0
"THE ALPACTORY: READY, PACK, GO! is a cute picture book about preparedness. The book starts with three animals who are..."
I Like to Share!
 
3.5
"I LIKE TO SHARE! is a simple board book about kindness and friendship. The book is told in a few..."
The Infinity Courts (The Infinity Courts, #1)
 
5.0
"THE INFINITY COURTS is a stunning and dazzling YA fantasy about morality, humanity, and the afterlife. Nami is truly excited..."
If Only...
 
4.0
"IF ONLY... is an intriguing picture book that ultimately encourages readers to be happy with who they are. The book..."
Like a Giant
 
4.0
"LIKE A GIANT is an intriguing picture book about imagination and play. A young child is approached by a giant,..."
A Rosa Le Encantan Los Carros/Rosa Loves Cars
 
4.5
"A ROSA LE ENCANTAN LOS CARROS/ROSA LOVES CAR is a delightful, bilingual board book about toy cars. Rosa and her..."
The Duck Who Didn't Like Water
 
5.0
"THE DUCK WHO DIDN'T LIKE WATER is a delightful picture book about friendship and kindness. Duck is not a fan..."
Curse of the Specter Queen
 
3.7
"CURSE OF THE SPECTER QUEEN was an intriguing YA historical fiction with code-breaking, good friends, and imminent danger. Sam works..."
Forest of the Fae (The Balloonist Chronicles Book 2)
 
5.0
"Such a fascinating series. The Story: Once again, we're following two different stories, that..."
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
4.5
"This book took me a bit longer to get into than the other ones. I think I was having a..."