Featured Review: The N Word (Michelle MacQueen/Ann Maree Craven)

46142142

About This Book:

One party. 
One accident. Six lives changed forever. 

Nari Won Song isn’t the girl anyone expects her to be. To her classmates she’s the nerd.

To her parents, she is the quiet daughter who always does as she’s told.

And the popular boy next door? The one who was once her best friend. Well, to him she doesn’t exist at all.

Yet, the weekends are her saviors. Only then does she step from the shadows to show who she’s become since the accident that changed all of them forever.

And who is she? A rock star.

 

Avery St. Germaine is one of the pretty people. The golden elite of Twin Rivers High. As the talented son of NFL Hall of Famer, Grayson St. Germaine, the world is Avery’s oyster.

And he doesn’t want any part of it.

Avery’s best friend died in a tragic accident almost two years ago, and since then, Avery has avoided everything from his old life. But recent events have him emerging from the fog of his mourning, and he isn’t proud of the person he’s become.

Breaking up with Meghan Lewis is the best decision he’s made in a long time, but in the aftermath, Avery has become her pathetic cast off, and he’s determined to show her and everyone else he’s a better man without her. But Avery’s not ready for a real relationship.  

Can he convince the girl next door to be his fake girlfriend?

 

 

 

*Review Contributed By Robin Mahle Staff Reviewer*

 

 

 

What I liked:
First and foremost, Beck. I loves me some Beck. I want a Beck story, and now. Watching Avery come to terms with this relationships with his family, himself, and those around him in the wake of this tragedy and his best friend's fall from hero status was heart wrenching and beautiful. I love the shifting dynamics with his brother and the way you gently begin to see how much better he is than even he believes.

What left me wanting more:
If I had one small complaint, it would be that Nari's problems are somewhat distant and largely self made, somewhat lessening the impact of her storyline. Her relationship with Avery more than made up for that minor blip, but it was his scenes in her point of view that kept the pace moving along.

The Bottom Line:
This installment tackled real issues and the fallibility of humanity in the same vein as The F Word. It's real and gritty and endlessly entertaining.

 

 

 

*Find More Info On This Book HERE!*

 

 

 

Author Chat with Victoria Aveyard (Broken Throne)!
Giveaway: MASTERS OF MISCHIEF (The Misadventures o...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Make me a girl with a razor heart… ...
Moonscript
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It is said that Darkness is empty and whatever vanishes...
The Lucky Ones
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, This Is How It...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A captivating and utterly original fairy tale about a girl...
Meet Me at Midnight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They have a love-hate relationship with summer. ...
Sword in the Stars (Once & Future, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this epic sequel to Once & Future, to save...
11004295_10203571569113600_1962266189_n.jpg
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
*****Best YA Book & Author of the Year***** The...
We Unleash the Merciless Storm
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
Being a part of the resistance group La Voz...
The Everything I Have Lost
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
12-year-old Julia keeps a diary about her life growing...
Salty, Bitter, Sweet
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A slow-burn romance in a cutthroat kitchen! There’s more...
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Violet Choudhury may be part of the popular clique...
Defy the Sun (The Offering Series, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this electrifying YA sequel to Beware the Night,...
Something New
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cassie Briggs never thought she’d be married at age sixteen—especially...
Crave
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
My whole world changed when I stepped inside the academy....
I Love You, Daddy (Peter Rabbit)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
An adorable rhyming Peter Rabbit book that celebrates dads everywhere....
Morning, Sunshine!
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
As we all wake up, the outside world bustles with...

Latest Member Reviews

The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"apologize if this is a long review but I have a lot to say. Going into this book, I went..."
Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
"Now that Mena and the other girls have escaped Innovations Academy, they find their past hasn't left them. Mena vows..."
The Lucky Ones
 
5.0
"THE LUCKY ONES is quite an emotional ride. The book follows May and Zach in alternating first person points-of-view. May..."
 
4.0
"GIRL, SERPENT, THORN is a YA fairytale retelling by Melissa Bashardoust. The story follows Soraya, a princess who is cursed..."
Meet Me at Midnight
 
4.0
"MEET ME AT MIDNIGHT is a book that reminds readers of all the possibilities and freedom of summer vacation. We..."
Sword in the Stars (Once & Future, #2)
 
5.0
"SWORD IN THE STARS is a satisfying conclusion to a delightful YA fantasy retelling of King Arthur in space! Picking..."
The Guinevere Deception (Camelot Rising, #1)
 
4.0
"THE GUINEVERE DECEPTION by Kiersten White is the first book in a YA retelling of the classic Arthurian legend. Guinevere,..."
Crave
 
4.3
"CRAVE is a really engaging new YA fantasy/paranormal romance that follows Grace in the first person. Grace lost her parents..."
I Love You, Daddy (Peter Rabbit)
 
4.0
"I LOVE YOU, DADDY is a sweet book for fathers to share with their young readers. Featuring springy pastels, Peter..."
Morning, Sunshine!
 
4.7
"MORNING, SUNSHINE! is an informative journey through nature and poetry. Each spread features a haiku on the left page and..."
I, Cosmo
 
4.0
"Cosmo is the "big brother" of Max and his young sister Emmaline, and is now 13 years old. He still..."
Charlie Thorne and the Last Equation (Charlie Thorne #1)
 
5.0
"Charlie is a twelve year old intellectual prodigy who has uncaring, manipulative parents whom she has escaped by enrolling in..."