Featured Review: THE MERCIFUL CROW

Image result for the merciful crow

ABOUT THE BOOK: 

One way or another, we always feed the crows.

A future chieftain

Fie abides by one rule: look after your own. Her Crow caste of undertakers and mercy-killers takes more abuse than coin, but when they’re called to collect royal dead, she’s hoping they’ll find the payout of a lifetime.

A fugitive prince

When Crown Prince Jasimir turns out to have faked his death, Fie’s ready to cut her losses―and perhaps his throat. But he offers a wager that she can’t refuse: protect him from a ruthless queen, and he’ll protect the Crows when he reigns.

A too-cunning bodyguard

Hawk warrior Tavin has always put Jas’s life before his, magically assuming the prince’s appearance and shadowing his every step. But what happens when Tavin begins to want something to call his own?

 

Get more info & buy your copy HERE!

 

THE REVIEW: 

by Olivia Farr, Staff Reviewer

 

THE MERCIFUL CROW is a lush new fantasy unlike anything I have read before. In the kingdom of Sabor, people are born into castes named for birds. Fie is a 16-year-old Crow, destined to be a chief someday. Crows are the lowest caste, seen as lower than animals and needed but completely unvalued. While the other castes have Birthrights that give them special powers (e.g. Phoenixes have fire, Swans have desire), Crows are without any such Birthrights. The chiefs are bone witches, where using teeth can temporarily give them the powers of the former owner.

While everyone detests Crows, and some even hunt them in the night, Crows are necessary to fight the plague. The plague seems to be punishment for sinners, and Crows are immune. When someone is infected with the plague, they call the Crows to town to give them a mercy killing and to burn the body. If the Crows do not come, the whole town will soon be infected. The Crows are then paid viatik, a price which is appropriate for the caste and along the lines of what the people can afford. 

The book starts with a bang- the Crows are attending to the plague in a higher caste area than usually would be infected. Soon, Fie learns that the dead are the crown prince, Jasimir, a Pheonix, and his guard and body double, Tavin, a Hawk. They faked their deaths to save Jasimir’s life from his stepmother, who is determined to kill everyone who stands in her way of the crown. Jasimir strikes a bargain with the Crows- they will help him get to safety with his allies, and he will then protect the Crows when takes the crown. 

What follows is a dangerous and fantastic journey into the depths of this unique world.

What I loved: The world-building here is slow but strong. Everything is revealed organically without any knowledge dumps and it grows steadily throughout the book. The characters are equally strong with the tenacious Fie leading this marvelous cast. I was completely drawn into her story and loved seeing the world through her eyes. She is just amazing- clever, loving of her family, brave, and everything you want in a leading character. The romance that develops with her is simply beautiful, and I absolutely loved watching it grow throughout the story.

With danger, trickery, magic, and more, this book has everything you could want in a YA fantasy and then some. With the addition of social justice themes, this book becomes an even bigger story with some important messages. For instance, there are discussions not only of the way the Crows are treated and the hate they constantly see, but also of others’ privilege and how people begin to sympathize with them and motives behind such changes.

Final verdict: With fantastic writing, gorgeous storytelling and lush world building, THE MERCIFUL CROW is an unbelievably good read for YA fantasy lovers. I highly recommend for fans of Sabaa Tahir and Leah Bardugo.

 

 

 

 

MINE FOREVER: Author Interview + Giveaway! (US Onl...
Teen Titans Raven: Author Video + Giveaway! (US/CA...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Red at The Bone
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Moving forward and backward in time, Jacqueline Woodson's taut and...
Bid My Soul Farewell (Give the Dark My Love, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lunar Island is trying to heal. The necromantic plague that...
There Will Come a Darkness
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Age of Darkness approaches. Five lives stand...
Frankly in Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
wo friends. One fake dating scheme. What could possibly go...
Serpent & Dove
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two years ago, Louise le Blanc fled her coven and...
American Royals
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if America had a royal family? If you can't...
Capturing the Devil (Stalking Jack the Ripper, Book#4)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the shocking finale to the bestselling series that began...
Five Dark Fates (Three Dark Crowns Book, #4)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the final book in the #1 New York Times...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt, the...
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Whenever another kid goes missing in October, the kids in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A crucial, genre-bending tale, equal parts Ned Vizzini and Patrick...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming and poignant story that explores the bonds of...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sana Khan is a cheerleader and a straight A student....
Crown of Dragons
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The normal world is an illusion. Separated from other realms...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
At seventeen, June Hardie is everything a young woman in...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"Alma knows that if good girls were girls with no questions, she wasn't a good girl. She has SO MANY..."
 
3.3
"Urban legend in the town of Pender has it every October the Mumbler snatches a kid. Local authorities brush the..."
COLD DAY IN THE SUN
 
4.3
"An adorable story that has a lot to say. The story: Holland is the only..."
 
5.0
"3 Reasons TELL ME HOW YOU REALLY FEEL needs to be on your shelf immediately: 1.) The spot-on comparison:..."
 
4.0
"Amy Lukavics is one of my favorite horror writers. All of Lukavics's books are a little odd (in the best..."
 
3.0
"You might think that being the daughter of Eros, Kali might be good at the whole cupid thing. Kali would..."
The Cold is in Her Bones
 
3.7
"What I Loved About THE COLD IS IN HER BONES: Milla lives an isolated life on..."
Wilder Girls
 
4.3
"The top 3 reasons you need WILDER GIRLS by Rory Power on your shelf: 1.) The characters:..."
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
"BUTTERFLY YELLOW is a heartfelt and engrossing historical fiction. H?ng is in the US, searching for her younger brother. After..."
 
5.0
"3 Reasons You Need THE OTHER F WORD on your shelves: 1.) The list of contributors: The range of..."
 
5.0
"Tristan Strong isn't doing too well. He lost his best friend, Eddie, in a bus accident, lost a boxing match,..."
 
5.0
"*This review contains spoilers for book one, A BLADE SO BLACK* A DREAM SO DARK, sequel to A BLADE..."