Featured Review: The Last Hope (Krista & Becca Ritchie)

36678876._SY475_

About This Book:

A stunning conclusion to the sci-fi romance duology by writing duo Krista & Becca Ritchie, The Last Hope is filled with twists and turns you'll never see coming.

Sacrifice all you have to survive.

Imprisoned for weeks on an enemy starcraft, Franny, Court, and Mykal have sat with an unfathomable revelation. But as they fight to stay alive, escaping prison means trusting a young mysterious stranger. He knows everything about their lost histories, and when answers aren’t given freely, the bonded trio are forced to join a mission. One that will determine the fate of humanity. 

Legend says, a baby—the first of her species—has the power to cloak and teleport planets. Tasked with retrieving the infant, Court fears the baby is just a myth, and if they fail, they’ll never find the truth about their origins. 

As Court and Mykal grow closer, their linked bond becomes harder to hide, and dynamics change when Franny begins to fall for someone new. Vulnerable and with no choice, the hunt for the baby sends the trio on a dangerous path to Saltare-1: a water world where their enemies can’t die and survival comes at a high cost.
 

 

 

 

*Review Contributed By Lillian McCurry Staff Reviewer*

 

 

 

I honestly don’t know where to begin! The Last Hope by Krista & Becca Ritchie picks up thirty days after the end of The Raging Ones. Franny, Court, and Mykal are in a cell on board the Saltare-1 ship Romulus. Their friends – Kinden, the Soarcastle sisters, and Zimmer – are not with them, and they fear the worst. Revelations at the end of book one have left the trio’s minds in chaos. They aren’t Saltarians, they are humans. When an unknown saves them from the Romulus, Franny, Court, and Mykal have one goal: to survive.

Being Human
Court was seriously injured at the end of the first book, and now believes he is dying. His only recourse to be sure that Mykal and Franny survive. But this link between them has him concerned. If he dies, what happens to them? Court was (and is) my favorite character. He finally has opened up to a relationship with Mykal, and this tempers his cool exterior. Court cares too much, and it becomes an issue now that he is linked.

Mykal takes being human in stride. It honestly doesn’t seem to affect him that much. He was raised as a Grenpalish and that is who he is. He worships their gods and remembers the only parent he had. Then he meets Stork(more on him in a minute), the unknown that saves them from Romulus, and well let’s just say, he’s got a new family member ?

Franny takes the news the hardest. She has struggled since surviving her deathday with the fear of the unknown. She wants to know when she will die. There is security in that for her, except she can’t know. She will never know as a human when she will die. Then there’s her nosebleeds. Every time they happen she fears for her life. And now she’s human, fragile. She doesn’t really know how to handle that.

The Saltarian Conflict
The plot of this book focuses on why the Saltarians hate humans. It also dives deeper into the whys surrounding Franny, Court, and Mykal. I found myself fascinated with the world-building here. The history the authors give Earth and the conflict with the Saltarians is interesting to say the least. But it’s the new character that is introduced early in the story that caught my attention.

Stork is a bludrader, Saltarian blood traitor. Like Franny, Court, and Mykal, he was stolen away at birth and raised on another planet. He was taken from his parents and Mykal was left in his place. Stork is a Saltarian raised by humans. He shows everyone that just because he is Saltarian doesn’t mean he can’t love humans. He carries the world on his shoulders, and my heart breaks for him instantly. There is so much he isn’t allowed to share with the trio and so much he wants too.

Stork with the help of Franny, Court, and Mykal have one mission: return to Saltare-1 and retrieve a baby, a new species that could save Earth from Saltare.

Final Thoughts
Overall I really enjoyed The Last Hope. There are plenty of answers to the questions burdening the trio, and I was happy with those. If the authors wrote more from this world, I'd read it! I want to know more about it and see more of Franny, Court, and Mykal. If you enjoy YA sci-fi, I highly recommend it.

 

 

 

*Get More Info & Buy Copy HERE!*

 

 

What's New In YA ~ August 13th, 2019
Giveaway: Miss Olive Finds Her Furever Home (Susan...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
"BERNARD MAKES A SPLASH is an overall cute story about stepping outside of your comfort zone. Bernard practices diving whenever..."
Lost for Words
 
5.0
"LOST FOR WORDS is a sweet picture book about finding your own way to express yourself. Tapir has a new..."
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
"WILD GIRL: HOW TO HAVE INCREDIBLE OUTDOOR ADVENTURES is written by Helen Skelton, a veteran wild girl herself. In this..."
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S PAINT BOX is a charming board book about colors. Stanley is helping Sophie, Little Woo, and Benjamin paint boxes...."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."