Featured Review: The Girl The Sea Gave Back (Adrienne Young)

42867937

About This Book:

The new gut-wrenching epic from the New York Times bestselling author of Sky in the Deep. For as long as she can remember, Tova has lived among the Svell, the people who found her washed ashore as a child and use her for her gift as a Truthtongue. Her own home and clan are long-faded memories, but the sacred symbols and staves inked over every inch of her skin mark her as one who can cast the rune stones and see into the future. She has found a fragile place among those who fear her, but when two clans to the east bury their age-old blood feud and join together as one, her world is dangerously close to collapse. For the first time in generations, the leaders of the Svell are divided. Should they maintain peace or go to war with the allied clans to protect their newfound power? And when their chieftain looks to Tova to cast the stones, she sets into motion a series of events that will not only change the landscape of the mainland forever but will give her something she believed she could never have again―a home.

 

 

*Review Contributed By Olivia Farr Staff Reviewer*

 

 

THE GIRL THE SEA GAVE BACK is a stand-alone companion novel to THE SKY IN THE DEEP. A historical fantasy with compelling world-building and fierce battle scenes, this book is steeped in fate and destiny. Tova was found when she was six years old in a boat with markings all over it by a Svell, Jorrund who believes the gods sent her for him to find. He tells her and the Svell that she was sent to the sea as a sacrifice but rescued by another god and delivered to them; however, as we know from the prologue, she was on a funeral pyre, believed to be dead. Tova does not remember any of her past before washing up on the shore.

Tova had markings on her skin that reveal her as a Kyrr, a tribe which mostly keeps to themselves, and as a "Truthtongue," able to read the stones and reveal the future. The Svell hate her as a general rule, believing she should have been killed when found, and blaming her for the negative futures she sees. When she sees a particularly bad future, they set out on the path to war.

Halvard will be the next ruler of his people, the Nadhir, and he wants to do what is best for them. However, this is not always clear. When battles and devastation break out, his tasks become even harder, and he must decide who to trust and what the path should be forward, wearing the heavy mantle of leadership.

While both characters were interesting and the pace was very fast, we get only some flashbacks into their pasts. These were the heaviest part of the character-building in the book. However, the vast majority of the book takes place in the present, where battles are frequently brewing. I would have liked to spend more time in the past and in connecting Halvard and Tova. On the other hand, this writing style keeps the novel moving very quickly, keeping up the stress and pressure of their reality.

The book felt very atmospheric, and scenes were described well, making it come to life off the pages. I would have liked to know more about Tova's people (Kyrr) and have some more context for this. However, this allows us to really view the world from Tova's perspective, with her knowledge and mysteries.

Both Tova and Halvard bear heavy burdens of duty for the tribes where they are- one is worn more fondly than the other, but they tie them together. The connections that they have are more of fate and destiny than of discussions/time. While I tend to prefer the latter in my romance, this felt more true to the story and the vikings, making this a very intense read and very light romance.

Overall, this has heavy appeal for people who enjoy viking-inspired, historical fantasy, and I would highly recommend for people looking for a fast-paced and fierce atmospheric story with a heavy dose of fate and a light touch of romance. Fans of THE SKY IN THE DEEP will not be disappointed with this engaging spin-off stand-alone.

 

 

 

*Find More Info & Buy Book HERE!*

 

 

 

Author Chat with Jennifer Armentrout (The Burning ...
Spotlight on Moon Water (Pam Webber), Plus Author ...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...

Latest Member Reviews

Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
"A compilation of excerpts from fifteen noteworthy speeches, selected from across American history. The chosen pieces represent great variety,..."
Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
"BERNARD MAKES A SPLASH is an overall cute story about stepping outside of your comfort zone. Bernard practices diving whenever..."
Lost for Words
 
5.0
"LOST FOR WORDS is a sweet picture book about finding your own way to express yourself. Tapir has a new..."
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
"WILD GIRL: HOW TO HAVE INCREDIBLE OUTDOOR ADVENTURES is written by Helen Skelton, a veteran wild girl herself. In this..."
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S PAINT BOX is a charming board book about colors. Stanley is helping Sophie, Little Woo, and Benjamin paint boxes...."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."