Featured Review: The Genie Dagger (Bethany Wicker)

44416826

About This Book:

A magical dagger. An evil genie. A hidden past.

In a land where genies and magic have been destroyed, Ara—a street rat—never anticipated stealing a magical dagger and it changing her life. When she wields it, she unlocks a whole new world of magic. Taron is used to starving. He feels the pains of hunger and the desperation of thirst every day. When a girl offers to help him, he thinks it’s too good to be true, but he quickly learns Ara is the best thief in Agora.

Two street rats who are looking for a way out, Ara and Taron need each other more than they can imagine, but the dark secrets of Ara’s past won’t remain hidden forever.

 

 

*Review Contributed By Lillian McCurry Staff Reviewer*

 

 

The Genie Dagger by Bethany Wicker is the first book in a new fantasy series set in the world of Aladdin. Now don’t mistake me. The Genie Dagger is a continuation, not a retelling, of the story set years after the events we all know and love. Magic is outlawed and genies are dead when one street rat discovers a dagger that unlocks a hidden power inside of her.

Ara is a thief and street rat, stealing gives her a rush of adrenaline. I liked and disliked Ara. She is cunning, sly, and loyal, but she has a darker side to her. She trusts no one, and this gets her in loads of trouble. Not only is she untrusting, she is closed off to anyone that reaches out to her. Ara’s redeeming quality is how she cares for those that remind her of where she came from and what might have become of her if not for the King of Thieves.

Then enters Taron, another street rat about Ara’s age. He is starving and has basically given up when Ara finds him on the streets. Ara shares her food with him and so begins their tenuous friendship. I like Taron. He is the opposite of Ara. He is kind and genuinely a good person. Stealing food so he won’t starve never crosses his mind. In the short time he’s known Ara, he comes to care for her as a friend and confidante.

The plot of the story revolves around Ara and Taron building a friendship and learning the secrets of the dagger Ara steals. This is where I struggled to focus. I like the characters, and I love the alternating points of view (each chapter alternates between Taron and Ara). However the pacing of the story doesn’t match with the events the characters face. The pacing is very slow until the end. At the end, the characters are rushed through the climax of the story. There are a few plot holes here too. At times, I looked back to make sure I hadn’t missed pages.

Overall I enjoyed The Genie Dagger. The world-building around the original story of Aladdin blends beautifully with the setting Wicker’s created. Ara’s heritage and the magic of the dagger become the focus of the story and leave more questions than answers. Adventure awaits for our young hero and heroine, and I’m looking forward to more of their story.

Good Points
• I love the alternating points of view, gives full picture of story.
• Set in the same world as Aladdin
 
 
 
 
*Find More Info On This Book HERE!*
Spotlight on 20 Recipes Kids Should Know (Esme Was...
Author Chat with Swati Teerdhala (The Tiger At Mid...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
"BERNARD MAKES A SPLASH is an overall cute story about stepping outside of your comfort zone. Bernard practices diving whenever..."
Lost for Words
 
5.0
"LOST FOR WORDS is a sweet picture book about finding your own way to express yourself. Tapir has a new..."
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
"WILD GIRL: HOW TO HAVE INCREDIBLE OUTDOOR ADVENTURES is written by Helen Skelton, a veteran wild girl herself. In this..."
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S PAINT BOX is a charming board book about colors. Stanley is helping Sophie, Little Woo, and Benjamin paint boxes...."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."