Featured Review: The Falling in Love Montage (Ciara Smyth)

53066661._SX318_SY475_

About This Book:

Saoirse doesn’t believe in love at first sight or happy endings. If they were real, her mother would still be able to remember her name and not in a care home with early onset dementia. A condition that Saoirse may one day turn out to have inherited. So she’s not looking for a relationship. She doesn’t see the point in igniting any romantic sparks if she’s bound to burn out.

But after a chance encounter at an end-of-term house party, Saoirse is about to break her own rules. For a girl with one blue freckle, an irresistible sense of mischief, and a passion for rom-coms.

Unbothered by Saoirse’s no-relationships rulebook, Ruby proposes a loophole: They don’t need true love to have one summer of fun, complete with every cliché, rom-com montage-worthy date they can dream up—and a binding agreement to end their romance come fall. It would be the perfect plan, if they weren’t forgetting one thing about the Falling in Love Montage: when it’s over, the characters actually fall in love… for real.

 

 

 

*Review Contributed By Olivia Farr Staff Reviewer*

 

 

 

THE FALLING IN LOVE MONTAGE is a beautiful YA contemporary romance that follows Saoirse (Seer-sha). Saoirse speaks to the reader with a very conversational tone, following the summer after her graduation from high school before she takes her next steps. Saoirse has sworn off relationships and prevents herself from ever getting close by only kissing curious straight girls. Her heart was broken about eight months earlier by her BFF and long-term girlfriend, Hannah. When Hannah dumped her, Saoirse was devastated and realized some hard truths about her own life and datability.

Saoirse's mother has early-onset dementia, and Saoirse knows that it may also someday be her own genetic fate. She also thinks about her father and his choices during that/this time, which are also affecting her life. Her own future feels cloudy, and she is not sure that the life plan she has had is what she wants anymore. When she meets Ruby at Oliver's party, she is not prepared for all the feelings Ruby makes her feel. After accidentally kidnapping a kitten, they start on something for fun. They plan to recreate the rom-com falling in love montage- but Saoirse has a plan to prevent herself from getting the feels. However, life does not always go according to plan.

What I loved: This book was so much deeper than I expected at first glance. While it does have some laugh-out-loud funny moments (Barbara, the wedding dress seller, is AMAZING), it also has other moments so true and sad that it made me tear up. Saoirse is dealing with a lot- not always in the best way, but dealing with it all the same. The book really shows a lot of character growth, epiphanies, and still manages to pay homage to the rom-com (however reluctantly Saoirse goes there). Ruby and Saoirse seem destined in the stars, and I totally want to peek into the future and see what's what there.

However, the biggest parts of the book- the most important parts- are Saoirse figuring out what she wants to be and how she wants to be. She faces romance, family, and friends with some avoidance and some fights, but she manages to really make the reader fall in love with her and take us along for the journey. This book gives a lot of feels, and it is a truly heartfelt read.

Final verdict: Heartfelt, comical, and ultimately beautiful, THE FALLING IN LOVE MONTAGE is a journey worth taking. Readers will fall in love with Saoirse and watching her highs and lows as she travels through the summer of decisions. Barbara may still be my favorite character, but there are so many to love in this book- they will definitely stick with you. Highly recommend for fans of LOVE, SIMON, THE LAST TRUE POETS OF THE SEA, and A CONSTELLATION OF ROSES.

 

 

 

*Find More Info & Buy This Book HERE!*

 

 

 

 

 

Author Of The Week: Chat with Elle Cosimano (Seaso...
Author Chat with Jeffrey Brown (Once Upon A Space-...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this tender, nuanced coming-of-age love story, two boys—one who...
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
 
0.0 (0)
At the Midnight Ball, leave your inhibitions at the...
The Forest of Stolen Girls
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
1426, Joseon (Korea). Hwani's family has never been the...
Go the Distance
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if Meg had to become a god? After...
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates...
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bite-sized facts about bodies of water from around the globe,...
This Is My America
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching...
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magnificent, hand-painted illustrations by a rising star of Czech watercolor...
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Arizona! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
It's Mouse's first day of school. It's Dinosaur's first day...
Somewhere Between Bitter and Sweet
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
I'm Not Your Perfect Mexican Daughter meets Emergency Contact...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved Bangladeshi...
There's No Ham in Hamburgers: Facts and Folklore About Our Favorite Foods
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From hot dogs and hamburgers to ice cream and pizza,...
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
As their communities were being destroyed, groups of Jewish women...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Outer Space
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Blast off into outer space with this mess-free sticker craft!...

Latest Member Reviews

All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
"ALL KINDS OF OTHER is an intriguing YA contemporary that follows two boys as they start at a new school...."
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
"TAKE ME HOME: WATERS OF THE WORLD is an engaging nonfiction picture book that teaches basics and fun facts about..."
This Is My America
 
5.0
"WHAT I LOVED: Tracy's family is an outsider in multiple ways in their Texas town: they're one of the..."
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
"COLORS IN NATURE is a beautifully illustrated book of art that features animals and plants. The book walks through each..."
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO ARIZONA is a simple, fun travel guide picture book for children about the state. The book covers fun..."
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
"I DON'T WANT TO GO TO SCHOOL features Dinosaur and Mouse, who are both scared of their first day of..."
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
"COUNTING DOWN WITH YOU is a heart-wrenching and visceral YA contemporary read. Karina (Myra is her familial name) is a..."
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
"What worked: This is one gut-wrenching, powerful collection of stories of young Jewish women Resistance fighters in Hitler's Ghettos. The..."
There's No Ham in Hamburgers: Facts and Folklore About Our Favorite Foods
 
5.0
"While I was familiar with most of the information in the book, due to apparently all too frequent deep..."
Fate Calling
 
5.0
"Fate Calling by Lindsay Grace is a beautifully written fae fantasy about a young human girl named Aislinn and a..."
Reign of Secrets
 
3.8
"What worked: The magical aspect of this book had me turning pages quickly. It was easy to read and..."
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
"IN DEEPER WATERS is an intriguing and fast-paced YA fantasy. Tal is the fourth of five royal children in a..."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Outer Space
 
4.5
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: OUTER SPACE is another fun collection of paint-by-sticker images with an outer space theme. The book..."
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
"THESE FEATHERED FLAMES is an enchanting YA fantasy about sisterhood, power, and destiny. When twins are born in the royal..."
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
"‘The Mother of Monsters’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, tells the story of Ntombi, the chief's daughter. She..."
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
"‘Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, is great for younger elementary readers and anyone who..."
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
"BASEBALL BABY is a delightful board book about baseball. The book begins with heading to the park to play baseball..."
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
"I AM NOT A PENGUIN is a silly picture book that manages to teach young readers about pangolins. A pangolin..."
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
"SAM CAN'T SLEEP is a fun picture book read that introduces the concept of nocturnal animals. It's nighttime, and all..."
Welcome to California
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO CALIFORNIA is a fun picture book of facts about the state. It covers topics from the state capitol..."