Featured Review: The Caged Queen (Kristen Ciccarelli)

35843937

About This Book:

Kristen Ciccarelli’s distinct brand of lyrical, haunting fantasy continues in the companion to her bestselling debut, The Last Namsara. Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and Renee Ahdieh. Once there were two sisters born with a bond so strong that it forged them together forever. Roa and Essie called it the hum. It was a magic they cherished—until the day a terrible accident took Essie’s life and trapped her soul in this world. Dax—the heir to Firgaard’s throne—was responsible for the accident. Roa swore to hate him forever. But eight years later he returned, begging for her help. He was determined to dethrone his cruel father, under whose oppressive reign Roa’s people had suffered. Roa made him a deal: she’d give him the army he needed if he made her queen. Only as queen could she save her people from Firgaard’s rule. Then a chance arises to right every wrong—an opportunity for Roa to rid herself of this enemy king and rescue her beloved sister. During the Relinquishing, when the spirits of the dead are said to return, Roa discovers she can reclaim her sister for good. All she has to do is kill the king.

 

 

*Review Contributed By Cody Duffy Staff Reviewer*

 

 

The Caged Queen is the sister novel to The Last Namsara, which I absolutely adored - it has everything I could have wanted from a YA Fantasy novel; action, adventure, lies, danger, romance and of course dragons! Although you technically don’t need to have read The Last Namsara in order to read The Caged Queen as it’s now a new set of main characters, I would highly recommend that you do, the characters and consequences that happen in The Last Namsara follow onto the plot of The Caged Queen. Also why wouldn’t you want to read a completely incredible book knowing that you have another one waiting for you set in the same world?

As I’ve said above The Caged Queen follows on in same world but with a new cast of characters: First there's Roa, a fierce main heroine from the scrublands who in a bid of desperation to save her people married The Dragon King. Roa, still grieving the loss of her sister Essie is determined to help free her people from the previous Dragon King’s tyranny and hopes to makes the changes needed from within however the political scheming in a Kingdom that isn’t her home and having no one to trust she soon finds herself in over her head. But what I loved about Roa was that she didn’t give up, not even when her schemes to manipulate the Dragon King didn’t seem to work.

Next there’s Dax the famous Dragon King brother to Asha the Iskari. Dax was such an intriguing character to read about. I could never quite get a read on him as a person, Ciccarelli cleverly kept his character shrouded in mystery and secrets, every time I thought I could predict his actions he would do the opposite leaving me questioning just whose side he was on. His back story is told in bits and pieces whilst he battles with the present of marrying what his people see as an Outlander Queen and trying to keep kingdom safe.

I sat down with this book and very quickly the hours flew by and I was finished, it’s been a while since I read a book in one sitting but I found I just couldn’t put this one down. Following Roa and Dax on their journey was so thrilling that I was soon swept away in all the action. The Caged Queen has a huge character arc following Roa on her quest to saving her sister and trying to follow the political machinations on the royal court all the while trying to decide if her husband is the idiot he pretends to be? And if not, will be she able to actually kill him?

What I love is Ciccarelli’s skill to tell a story, enraptured so fully that you’re scared to look away and too afraid to carry on as the pages dwindle. True to form, just like in The Last Namsara Ciccarelli weaves fairy tales and past events in small fragments at the ends of chapters, slowly building the the story, suspense and intensity that you can’t help but use the old adage ‘just one more chapter’.

The Caged Queen is an utterly brilliant instalment to the Iskari series, I was hooked from the very beginning until the last page. Readers of The Last Namsara while mourning the loss of such fantastic characters in Book one will soon be emotionally invested in Roa and Dax, I’m not sure I could pick a favourite between the pairs. I can only pray that Ciccarelli is writing another book in this series…. or just another book right now, I will read anything she writes!

 

 

*Find More Info On This Post HERE!*

What's New In YA ~ October 2nd, 2018
Spooktacular Stories Giveaway of 2018! (Children's...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Hello!Lucky, the creators of My Mom Is Magical! and...
Early One Morning
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Join a little boy searching the farm for his breakfast...
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A little tree, guided by her family circle and forest...
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
One girl’s simple act of kindness causes ripples in her...
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this sequel to The Kinder Poison—which People magazine proclaimed...
The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...

Latest Member Reviews

You Are Fantastic!
 
5.0
"YOU ARE FANTASTIC! is a brightly colored and cheerful read celebrating YOU! The book walks through some metaphorical compliments, such..."
Early One Morning
 
3.5
"EARLY ONE MORNING is a picture book walk around a farm. A little boy heads out to find a couple..."
Little Sap: The Magical Story of a Little Forest Family
 
4.5
"LITTLE SAP is a beautifully illustrated story about growing up, seasons, and forests. Little Sap can't wait to be a..."
The Little Things: A Story about Acts of Kindness
 
5.0
"THE LITTLE THINGS is a charming and powerful story about the contagious nature of kindness. A little girl heads to..."
The Cruelest Mercy (The Kinder Poison, #2)
 
4.7
"THE CRUELEST MERCY is an intriguing second book in an enthralling YA fantasy series. After the rush and danger of..."
Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)
 
4.0
"What worked: This was a fun take on Crazy Rich Asians meets descendants of Empress Regent of China. Gemma..."
Fiver Finds Home
 
5.0
"'Fiver Finds Home' by Jill Bugbee, illustrated by Jennifer Davison, is a story of friendly Fiver, a blue giraffe who..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"The Lost Legends is one of those books that has everything in it. A princess, an evil king, pirates, a..."
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
"DUCKS ON THE ROAD is a charming and simple picture book with a counting theme. Mama and Papa Duck are..."
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
"SLOTH AND SMELL THE ROSES is another charming and colorful book from the fantastic sister duo, Eunice and Sabrina Moyle...."
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
"CURIOUS ABOUT INSECTS is a great non-fiction board book that lays out some basic facts about insects. Each page has..."
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
"THE BOX IN THE WOODS is a fantastic continuation of Stevie's story with a whole new cold case to solve...."
 
4.7
"Miles "Pudge" Halter seeks for a "Great Perhaps", and attends Culver Creek, a boarding school. Yet, he finds himself with..."
 
5.0
"To say that this book was one of my most anticipated releases for 2021 is an understatement. After the impact..."
 
5.0
"Oh my goodness what a way to end this series! I honestly took a little longer to finish this book..."
 
5.0
"I absolutely loved this sequel. The first one was such a good set up for this book. Nita is free..."
Not Even Bones
 
4.3
"So, this book was not what I was expecting it to be. First, it takes place in the real world...."
Bird House
 
5.0
"BIRD HOUSE is a lovely story about a young girl and her abuela, who find an injured bird. They treat..."
More Than Sunny
 
4.5
"MORE THAN SUNNY is a sweet picture book about siblings, seasons, and childhood fun. The story features two siblings who..."
Whose Big Rig?
 
4.7
"WHOSE BIG RIG? is a delightful board book that takes children through the vehicles involved in building a light rail,..."