Featured Review: The Caged Queen (Kristen Ciccarelli)

35843937

About This Book:

Kristen Ciccarelli’s distinct brand of lyrical, haunting fantasy continues in the companion to her bestselling debut, The Last Namsara. Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and Renee Ahdieh. Once there were two sisters born with a bond so strong that it forged them together forever. Roa and Essie called it the hum. It was a magic they cherished—until the day a terrible accident took Essie’s life and trapped her soul in this world. Dax—the heir to Firgaard’s throne—was responsible for the accident. Roa swore to hate him forever. But eight years later he returned, begging for her help. He was determined to dethrone his cruel father, under whose oppressive reign Roa’s people had suffered. Roa made him a deal: she’d give him the army he needed if he made her queen. Only as queen could she save her people from Firgaard’s rule. Then a chance arises to right every wrong—an opportunity for Roa to rid herself of this enemy king and rescue her beloved sister. During the Relinquishing, when the spirits of the dead are said to return, Roa discovers she can reclaim her sister for good. All she has to do is kill the king.

 

 

*Review Contributed By Cody Duffy Staff Reviewer*

 

 

The Caged Queen is the sister novel to The Last Namsara, which I absolutely adored - it has everything I could have wanted from a YA Fantasy novel; action, adventure, lies, danger, romance and of course dragons! Although you technically don’t need to have read The Last Namsara in order to read The Caged Queen as it’s now a new set of main characters, I would highly recommend that you do, the characters and consequences that happen in The Last Namsara follow onto the plot of The Caged Queen. Also why wouldn’t you want to read a completely incredible book knowing that you have another one waiting for you set in the same world?

As I’ve said above The Caged Queen follows on in same world but with a new cast of characters: First there's Roa, a fierce main heroine from the scrublands who in a bid of desperation to save her people married The Dragon King. Roa, still grieving the loss of her sister Essie is determined to help free her people from the previous Dragon King’s tyranny and hopes to makes the changes needed from within however the political scheming in a Kingdom that isn’t her home and having no one to trust she soon finds herself in over her head. But what I loved about Roa was that she didn’t give up, not even when her schemes to manipulate the Dragon King didn’t seem to work.

Next there’s Dax the famous Dragon King brother to Asha the Iskari. Dax was such an intriguing character to read about. I could never quite get a read on him as a person, Ciccarelli cleverly kept his character shrouded in mystery and secrets, every time I thought I could predict his actions he would do the opposite leaving me questioning just whose side he was on. His back story is told in bits and pieces whilst he battles with the present of marrying what his people see as an Outlander Queen and trying to keep kingdom safe.

I sat down with this book and very quickly the hours flew by and I was finished, it’s been a while since I read a book in one sitting but I found I just couldn’t put this one down. Following Roa and Dax on their journey was so thrilling that I was soon swept away in all the action. The Caged Queen has a huge character arc following Roa on her quest to saving her sister and trying to follow the political machinations on the royal court all the while trying to decide if her husband is the idiot he pretends to be? And if not, will be she able to actually kill him?

What I love is Ciccarelli’s skill to tell a story, enraptured so fully that you’re scared to look away and too afraid to carry on as the pages dwindle. True to form, just like in The Last Namsara Ciccarelli weaves fairy tales and past events in small fragments at the ends of chapters, slowly building the the story, suspense and intensity that you can’t help but use the old adage ‘just one more chapter’.

The Caged Queen is an utterly brilliant instalment to the Iskari series, I was hooked from the very beginning until the last page. Readers of The Last Namsara while mourning the loss of such fantastic characters in Book one will soon be emotionally invested in Roa and Dax, I’m not sure I could pick a favourite between the pairs. I can only pray that Ciccarelli is writing another book in this series…. or just another book right now, I will read anything she writes!

 

 

*Find More Info On This Post HERE!*

What's New In YA ~ October 2nd, 2018
Spooktacular Stories Giveaway of 2018! (Children's...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Peppermint Post
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
'Twas the night before Christmas, when the North Pole's Peppermint...
Stolen from the Studio (Case Closed, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lauren Magaziner’s hilarious and high-stakes middle grade series gets a...
The Wizenard Series: Season One
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Reggie has never felt destined for greatness. He dreams about...
TURBO Racers: Escape Velocity
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Fast and the Furious meets Transformers in the second...
Bread Lab!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s a sleepy Saturday morning for most people, but not...
A Thousand No's
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
This empowering picture book teaches readers that even great ideas...
Ronan Boyle and the Swamp of Certain Death (Ronan Boyle, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The hilarious sequel to the instant New York Times bestseller,...
Sharko and Hippo
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
With tongue-twisty wordplay and escalating absurdity, this is a fall-down-funny...
The Thing About Bees: A Love Letter
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A LOVE POEM FROM A FATHER TO HIS TWO SONS,...
The Faithless Hawk (The Merciful Crow, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kings become outcasts and lovers become foes in The Faithless...
Zora's Zucchini
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first zucchini of a summer garden is always exciting,...
Libby Loves Science
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Libby loves science! In this STEM-themed picture book, a companion...
The Hidden Rainbow
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
All the colors of the rainbow are hidden in the...
The Places We Sleep
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A family divided, a country going to war, and a...
Chasing Starlight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Crossing Lines
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Midwestern high school seniors and swim teammates Alli and Brandon...

Latest Member Reviews

Peppermint Post
 
5.0
"PEPPERMINT POST is an adorable new story about Christmas and Santa. The Peppermint Post is the busiest post office in..."
Stolen from the Studio (Case Closed, #2)
 
4.0
"STOLEN FROM THE STUDIO is a fun middle grade mystery with a choose-your-own-adventure plot. Carlos travels with his mother, a..."
The Wizenard Series: Season One
 
4.0
"THE WIZENARD SERIES: SEASON ONE is written by Wesley King and created by Kobe Bryant. The MG fantasy follows Reggie,..."
The Triumphant Tale of Pippa North
 
4.0
"THE TRIUMPHANT TALE OF PIPPA NORTH combines magic and humor in a middle grade fantasy full of charm. Pippa is..."
TURBO Racers: Escape Velocity
 
4.0
"TURBO RACERS: ESCAPE VELOCITY is a fast-paced, high-stakes adventure. Mace Blazer is a TURBOnaut, a high-speed vehicle racer. He recently..."
Bread Lab!
 
4.0
"BREAD LAB! is a cute picture book that walks through the steps of making sourdough bread through the eyes of..."
A Thousand No's
 
3.5
"A THOUSAND NO'S is a cute picture book about the way that feedback can change an idea. A girl has..."
Ronan Boyle and the Swamp of Certain Death (Ronan Boyle, #2)
 
4.0
"RONAN BOYLE AND THE SWAMP OF CERTAIN DEATH is a comedic middle grade fantasy that features a young boy on..."
Sharko and Hippo
 
4.5
"SHARKO AND HIPPO is a clever and comical book about two best friends who are going fishing for the day...."
The Thing About Bees: A Love Letter
 
5.0
"THE THING ABOUT BEES: A LOVE LETTER is an informative and gorgeously illustrated picture book about bees. The book describes..."
The Faithless Hawk (The Merciful Crow, #2)
 
5.0
"THE FAITHLESS HAWK is one of my favorite reads of 2020. I laughed, I sighed, I cried, and this book..."
Zora's Zucchini
 
5.0
"ZORA'S ZUCCHINI is a delightful picture book that explores growing vegetables and sharing with neighbors. Zora is a little bored..."
Libby Loves Science
 
4.5
"LIBBY LOVES SCIENCE is a cute picture book that brings a love of science to all the fun of ice..."
The Hidden Rainbow
 
5.0
"THE HIDDEN RAINBOW is a delightful picture book that combines counting, colors, and nature in a beautiful exploration. Each page..."
The Places We Sleep
 
5.0
"THE PLACES WE SLEEP is a moving middle grade historical that takes place around 9/11. The book is written entirely..."
Dating Makes Perfect
 
5.0
"DATING MAKES PERFECT is a beautifully written YA contemporary romance that had me grinning from ear-to-ear. Winnie has two older..."
Chasing Starlight
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
Paola Santiago and the River of Tears
 
3.0
"Paola “Pao” Santiago loves science and hanging out with her best friends, Emma and Dante. She doesn’t love how superstitious..."
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
"KAMALA AND MAYA'S BIG IDEA is a picture book based on a true story about pursuing your goals and doing..."
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
"HARVEY HOLDS HIS OWN is a contemporary middle grade told from three perspectives: Maggie, Harvey, and Austin. Maggie is starting..."