Featured Review: The Caged Queen (Kristen Ciccarelli)

35843937

About This Book:

Kristen Ciccarelli’s distinct brand of lyrical, haunting fantasy continues in the companion to her bestselling debut, The Last Namsara. Perfect for fans of Kristin Cashore and Renee Ahdieh. Once there were two sisters born with a bond so strong that it forged them together forever. Roa and Essie called it the hum. It was a magic they cherished—until the day a terrible accident took Essie’s life and trapped her soul in this world. Dax—the heir to Firgaard’s throne—was responsible for the accident. Roa swore to hate him forever. But eight years later he returned, begging for her help. He was determined to dethrone his cruel father, under whose oppressive reign Roa’s people had suffered. Roa made him a deal: she’d give him the army he needed if he made her queen. Only as queen could she save her people from Firgaard’s rule. Then a chance arises to right every wrong—an opportunity for Roa to rid herself of this enemy king and rescue her beloved sister. During the Relinquishing, when the spirits of the dead are said to return, Roa discovers she can reclaim her sister for good. All she has to do is kill the king.

 

 

*Review Contributed By Cody Duffy Staff Reviewer*

 

 

The Caged Queen is the sister novel to The Last Namsara, which I absolutely adored - it has everything I could have wanted from a YA Fantasy novel; action, adventure, lies, danger, romance and of course dragons! Although you technically don’t need to have read The Last Namsara in order to read The Caged Queen as it’s now a new set of main characters, I would highly recommend that you do, the characters and consequences that happen in The Last Namsara follow onto the plot of The Caged Queen. Also why wouldn’t you want to read a completely incredible book knowing that you have another one waiting for you set in the same world?

As I’ve said above The Caged Queen follows on in same world but with a new cast of characters: First there's Roa, a fierce main heroine from the scrublands who in a bid of desperation to save her people married The Dragon King. Roa, still grieving the loss of her sister Essie is determined to help free her people from the previous Dragon King’s tyranny and hopes to makes the changes needed from within however the political scheming in a Kingdom that isn’t her home and having no one to trust she soon finds herself in over her head. But what I loved about Roa was that she didn’t give up, not even when her schemes to manipulate the Dragon King didn’t seem to work.

Next there’s Dax the famous Dragon King brother to Asha the Iskari. Dax was such an intriguing character to read about. I could never quite get a read on him as a person, Ciccarelli cleverly kept his character shrouded in mystery and secrets, every time I thought I could predict his actions he would do the opposite leaving me questioning just whose side he was on. His back story is told in bits and pieces whilst he battles with the present of marrying what his people see as an Outlander Queen and trying to keep kingdom safe.

I sat down with this book and very quickly the hours flew by and I was finished, it’s been a while since I read a book in one sitting but I found I just couldn’t put this one down. Following Roa and Dax on their journey was so thrilling that I was soon swept away in all the action. The Caged Queen has a huge character arc following Roa on her quest to saving her sister and trying to follow the political machinations on the royal court all the while trying to decide if her husband is the idiot he pretends to be? And if not, will be she able to actually kill him?

What I love is Ciccarelli’s skill to tell a story, enraptured so fully that you’re scared to look away and too afraid to carry on as the pages dwindle. True to form, just like in The Last Namsara Ciccarelli weaves fairy tales and past events in small fragments at the ends of chapters, slowly building the the story, suspense and intensity that you can’t help but use the old adage ‘just one more chapter’.

The Caged Queen is an utterly brilliant instalment to the Iskari series, I was hooked from the very beginning until the last page. Readers of The Last Namsara while mourning the loss of such fantastic characters in Book one will soon be emotionally invested in Roa and Dax, I’m not sure I could pick a favourite between the pairs. I can only pray that Ciccarelli is writing another book in this series…. or just another book right now, I will read anything she writes!

 

 

*Find More Info On This Post HERE!*

What's New In YA ~ October 2nd, 2018
Spooktacular Stories Giveaway of 2018! (Children's...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Monster Hypothesis
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Bohring-home to 453 people, 2,053 alligators, and one...
Where the World Ends
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Winner of the 2018 Carnegie Medal! New from Michael L....
Carnevil (Monsterstreet #3)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
“Fast, funny, frightening—and filled with shocks and surprises. These books...
Prophecy Untold (Shadow Realms book 3)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finding out my mother was taken by the demons...
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut about first love and second...
Six Goodbyes We Never Said
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Two teens meet after tragedy and learn about love,...
Golden Crown
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
No longer only a warrior. Not just a queen....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first vampire. The last Nephilim. The end...
The Galactic Adventures of Hazel - Gurecoa
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
What is it like to live in 4519 AD...
Batman: Nightwalker (The Graphic Novel)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
This action-packed graphic novel based on the New York...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Rose Hemmersbach aspires to break out of small town...
Stuffed
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome, little one. You have been chosen to join us,...
Merged
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seven of our country’s most gifted teens will become Nobels,...
Bury Me
 
0.0
 
4.7 (1)
No one ever leaves Copper Hollow. It's a town with...
Estranged #2: The Changeling King
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Enter a world of faerie magic and epic adventure in...
The Edge of the Word (Mightier than the Sword, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The exciting follow-up to Mightier Than the Sword, the humorous...

Latest Member Reviews

The Monster Hypothesis
 
5.0
"THE MONSTER HYPOTHESIS is a really fun middle grade investigative mystery. Kick is living with her grandmother, a fake psychic..."
Legacy Awakened
 
5.0
"Ava is the child of prophesy and all eyes are on her because she is the daughter of the Prime..."
Hushed
 
4.0
"Romy has just finished school and is torn because she isn't sure what she wants to do with her life...."
Where the World Ends
 
3.0
"WHERE THE WORLD ENDS is an intriguing historical fiction, based on a true story. The boys of Hirta are sent..."
Carnevil (Monsterstreet #3)
 
5.0
"Ren and Kip aren't sure what to expect when they visit their Aunt for Halloween. She works at an Old..."
Stuffed
 
4.0
"STUFFED follows Clark and Foon. Clark is a boy who loves stuffed animals and feels that they keep him safe...."
Bury Me
 
4.7
"In horror books and movies, we often see dolls as the main source of scares( such as Annabelle or Child's..."
Golden Crown
 
4.3
"I have mixed feelings about this book. It follows the second book immediately and starts off with Etta struggling with..."
Juliet Takes a Breath
 
4.7
"Juliet Takes a Breath is a coming of age story about a Latina lesbian from the Bronx who travels to..."
Fireborne (The Aurelian Cycle, #1)
 
5.0
"Fireborne is a fantasy novel set nine years after a bloody uprising against a brutal regime in which the poor..."
Jason & Kyra
 
N/A
"i am from Italy hello. Can you help me translate? /rardor"
Write to Me: Letters from Japanese American Children to the Librarian They Left Behind
 
5.0
"This is a must read book that shows the lives of Japanese American children who ended up being taken from..."
The Edge of the Word (Mightier than the Sword, #2)
 
5.0
"THE EDGE OF THE WORD is another absolutely delightful interactive story, where you are the main character in the book...."
Prophecy Untold (Shadow Realms book 3)
 
4.0
"Kali is the hope of saving the world from vampires and demons. She’s a vampire huntress who also happens to..."
The Galactic Adventures of Hazel - Gurecoa
 
3.0
"THE GALACTIC ADVENTURES OF HAZEL - GURECOA takes place in the far future, where our planet is only vaguely recognizable...."
Batman: Nightwalker (The Graphic Novel)
 
4.3
"BATMAN: NIGHTWALKER (THE GRAPHIC NOVEL) converts the YA novel by Marie Lu into graphic novel format. The plot remains the..."
Rat Rule 79: An Adventure (Yonder, #1)
 
5.0
"RAT RULE 79 is charming, ridiculous, and completely engaging. Fred is about to turn thirteen in a new place, as..."
Magic Tree House Deluxe Holiday Edition: Christmas in Camelot
 
4.0
"Jack and Annie get an invitation from "M" to spend Christmas in Camelot, which excites them since they haven't heard..."
Awesome Dog 5000 (#1)
 
4.0
"Marty Fontana and his mother move to a new town for her job, and have a house that belonged to..."
The Big Game
 
4.0
"Danny lives in Texas with his mother and former Pittsburgh Steelers player father, who now sells farm machinery. The father..."