Featured Review: T-Minus (Shannon Greenland)

41085219

About This Book:

A terror with no answer needs a girl with no limits.

I am the daughter of the first female POTUS, and today is about to become the longest day of my life…

24 hours—that’s how much time I have to save my mother before terrorists assassinate her. But now my father and brother are missing, too. This goes deeper than anyone thinks. Only someone on the inside would know how to pull this off—how to make the entire First Family disappear.

I can’t trust anyone, so it’s up to me to uncover the conspiracy and stop these madmen. Because little do they know, they picked the wrong person to terrorize.

My name is Sophie Washington, and I will not be a victim. No one, I repeat no one, is taking me or my family down. But the clock is ticking…

 

 

 

 

*Review Contributed By Olivia Farr Staff Reviewer*

 

 

T-MINUS is a fast-paced YA thriller that is billed as 24 for teens. Sophie Washington, the character from whose perspective we view the world, is the daughter of the first female POTUS. The book begins when she is woken at night for a security protocol due to a terrorist demand for her mother. Soon, she learns that it may be organized by people on the inside, and she is not safe with the special security guarding her. Furthermore, her brother is missing, and Sophie may be the only one who can find him.

Thanks to her TIA (teen CIA) training, she and her friends have all the abilities they need to dig deeper into the terrorist organization and hopefully save her family. Everything in the book happens very quickly as Sophie searches for her family and works with her friends to figure out who is behind it all.

The book will appeal to younger readers who will buy in to the TIA training of hotwiring cars and pretty much doing everything spies can do while also accepting the fast pace of uncovering clues and figuring everything out while also facing several characters' deaths. This is definitely a thriller with an overall very quick pace. The text is broken by italicized flashbacks that could mostly be skipped, as they do not add much and slow down the plot. Sophie's character is built through her actions and thoughts about other characters, though the flashbacks were attempting to connect more to her history.

In terms of the romance, it was a little rushed/very background, and I was not so into it, but it was also a very minor part of the plot so it didn't come across as unbelievable or instalove (they had a history which was mentioned a bit/in flashbacks).

The strongest parts of the book are the quick action, the overall mystery that needs solving, and the decisions Sophie must make as she navigates her new, scarier world. Sophie felt like a very believable character (even though with some maybe unbelievable training- though, I admit, I wish I could have been in the TIA!), and I was totally hooked in wanting to save her family and learn more about the terrorist organization/plots. I would recommend for people who like thrillers with a strong mystery.

 

 

 

*Find More Info & Buy This Book HERE!*

 

 

 

Waiting On Wednesday ~ August 21st, 2019
Author Of The Week: Chat with Sara Raasch (These D...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Handpicked by Amazon kids’ books editor, Seira Wilson, for Prime...
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join Gray Malin’s menagerie of wild animals for a stay...
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Hattie the magician―she’s a natural performer, and you’re invited...

Latest Member Reviews

A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."
Stanley's Toolbox
 
4.5
"STANLEY'S TOOLBOX is a delightful board book that shows many tools in action as Stanley helps to repair Little Woo's..."