Featured Review: Shock Of Fate (D.L. Armillei)

44088699._SY475_

About This Book:

One ordinary teenager. One extraordinary mission. And a destiny she never expected.

Like every other teenager on Providence Island, fifteen-year-old Vanessa Cross is so ready to party her summer away—until her father disappears. And rumors fly that he’s a traitor.

Plucked from her ordinary life to journey to an alternate world to retrieve a priceless relic, Van bends—okay, breaks—the rules to sneak her best friend along to help with a quest of her own. Find her father. Prove his innocence.

What she finds will test her heart, her wits, and her courage, and push her along a stumbling path toward a destiny she never expected or wanted. Failure to rise to the challenge could destroy her friends. What’s left of her family. And the people she was born to protect.

 

 

*Review Contributed By Lillian McCurry Staff Reviewer*

 

 

Shock of Fate by D.L. Armillei is the first in the Anchoress series. Aside from the gorgeous cover (y’all seriously, I’m drooling over here), the blurb hoooked me. Alternate realities/dimensions are a favorite of mine, and this one doesn’t disappoint.

Vanessa Cross, Van for short, lives on Providence Island, a small reservation off the coast of Maine (I believe). For her, life on the island is all she knows and all she wants. When offered a special summer “project” on the reservation, she can’t really turn it down. Her father is missing and rumored a traitor, so turning it down isn’t an option. This is unlike anything she has ever faced. The “project” is in another world that runs parallel to our own. Van takes this in stride. It doesn’t phase her, unlike me. I would have freaked, especially at 15. She just wants to get it over with, find her dad, and return to her beloved island. If only it were that simple…

So I like and dislike Van. She is a force to be reckoned with and will not take no for an answer, and when faced with a no, she finds another way. She will do what she wants, when she wants. You see, Van is rich on the island. She lives in a fancy house and wants for nothing. She’s a pampered princess, as one character points out in the beginning of the story. Being spoiled and acting out as a result of it annoyed me, however it is essential for her character growth to establish her selfish nature so she can be redeemed.

When Van finds out she is going to the Living World (this is what the alternate dimension is called) and can’t take her best friend, she finds a way to sneak her in anyways. Once discovered, there is no time to return Paley so she is along for the adventure. If Van is unlikable, Paley is doubly so. Now I need to preface this before I go on. I’m an adult with a child reading a YA book. Usually I read older characters, so I give Paley and Van a pass for their immaturity and overlook a lot of their bickering while reading.

Back to Paley….she is immature. Raised in the island’s orphanage, she is jealous of what Van has, even though Van has never held her status or riches above her. Instead Van has always shared with Paley and is her fiercest defender. Despite being jealous of Van, Paley does love her. She is her best friend. When push comes to shove, Paley will always have Van’s back and vice versa. I love how the author shows this through their interactions. It’s a rare find in YA books to see a platonic friendship as strong as theirs.

The plot of Shock of Fate takes place in the Living World. Van, along with a Paley and her assigned group of Grigori (demon hunters/warriors) in training, are to find the Coin of Creation. The coin has the power to defeat the darkness. This quest takes Van across the Living World into enemy territory. The world-building here is perfection! The creatures, the landscape, the rain, muck and food, all of it is vividly described. I could feel, taste, smell, see and hear it all.

Overall I enjoyed Shock of Fate. I was hesitant at first because of the immaturity I mentioned earlier, however it gives the characters a chance to grow and change in a natural way. With each obstacle Van faces, I noticed the changes in her, how they affected her, changes for the good. I cannot wait for more of Van’s story. Shock of Fate is the perfect mix of fantasy and adventure as Van discovers who she was destined to be.

Good Points
-Perfect blend of fantasy and adventure
-Phenomenal world-building
 
 
 
*Find More Info On This Book HERE!*
 
 
 

 

 

Featured Review: This Time Will Be Different (Misa...
Featured Review: Shadow Realms (Kelly Carrero)

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Twin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
Two Worlds of Redemption (Two Worlds, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
Two Worlds of Oblivion (Two Worlds, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
Two Worlds of Provenance (Two Worlds, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...

Latest Member Reviews

Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
The Slug Queen Chronicles
 
5.0
"When Cricket finds out that the dust she's seen her whole life has magical properties and her late mother could..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
5.0
"Another chilling story from L.V. Pires. This one started out with the main character from Book 1, Casey, fighting an..."
Ghosting You
 
4.8
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A heartwarming love story. The Story: Tommy..."
A Pain Less Ordinary
 
5.0
"A Pain Less Ordinary is a tragic tale of a modern girl whose family has fallen apart. Becca struggles to..."
The Waiting Mortuary
 
5.0
"I'm not normally one to read horror fiction, but I thought I'd give this book a chance and was blown..."