Featured Review: Seneca Element (Rayya Deeb)

48581244._SY475_

About This Book:

If you knew that creating singularity between your mind and machine would open Pandora’s Box would you do it?

Not even teen math-genius, Doro Campbell, could have known what she was getting herself into when she made the choice to get an implant connecting her brain to her computer. But when she finds her own existence at the center of a fight for power that runs deep inside the near-future, secret society that is Seneca, Doro realizes her mind may no longer be under her own jurisdiction.

In this breakneck race to find her dad and save the planet, Doro must choose between trusting her inner self or technology. Amidst the perils of a brutal technological warfare, and navigating the ups and downs of her first love, can Doro find the way to save herself… and the fate of the world?

 

 

 

 

*Review Contributed By Elisha Jachetti Staff Reviewer*

 

 

 

 

The wait is finally over! SENECA ELEMENT by Rayya Deeb is now available. As a huge fan of SENECA REBEL, the first book in this series, I couldn’t be more excited. The sequel picks up where we last left off. Doro is in search of her father in hopes that he’s alive. Alone, she risks the South American wilderness, when Dom, the guy she’s in love with, lets her go without him. Dom found out Doro had been lying to him and is furious with her, even if her intentions were good. Doro, determined, but heartbroken, pushes on until an outside invader hacks into her flex device and starts messing with her brain. Not only does this intrusion put Doro’s life at risk, but if she survives, she’ll have to figure out who is attempting to interfere with her mission, or she could become a pawn in their game.

With SENECA ELEMENT, I’m reminded by how much I love this secret society, and I appreciate how the world expands. In this second installment, we get a look at other hubs under Seneca’s umbrella. In particular, I keep imagining the room with the blue rivers of liquid and the equipment at Claytor Lake. I also love how we get to travel to a futuristic Smithsonian in the District of Columbia, because the locations from the Above root us in the familiar. We also get to revisit familiar characters and are introduced to Jadel, a fun addition to the cast. I’m curious to see how and when he’ll show back up again. I really want to like him, but the verdict is still out on whether or not he’s trustworthy-- which is what makes him such a complex and compelling character to begin with.

The cliffhanger that this book ends on is not even fair. It is the ultimate “what will happen next?” In the third book, I want to see more of the Departer conflict, more of Doro’s evolving family dynamic, and more of Dom! We don’t get to spend too much time with Dom in this novel and I missed his romance with Doro. Regardless, Deeb sets herself up for a really explosive third book and I’m looking forward to seeing where this story goes next.

 

 

 

*Find More Info & Buy This Book HERE!*

 

 

 

 

 

Author Chat with Melissa de la Cruz (The Queen's A...
PRESS RELEASE: 2020 Sydney Taylor Book Award Winne...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Life Below
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful world as you...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The inspiring, deeply patriotic true story of John Glenn, a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A wildly imaginative introduction to yoga and nutrition by bestselling...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A book jam-packed with eight creative activities to make beautiful...
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King, is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It had been a great day. Perhaps the Best Day…...

Latest Member Reviews

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
The Slug Queen Chronicles
 
5.0
"When Cricket finds out that the dust she's seen her whole life has magical properties and her late mother could..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."