Featured Review: One Wish Away (Djinn Empire #1) by Ingrid Seymour

one-wish-away

About This Book:

** Aladdin meets Twilight ** A secret. A choice. A curse. Romance is overrated. Marielle has had it with boys, especially afterher vile ex. That is until Faris comes along with his deep, dark eyes andtantalizing secrets. Inevitably, he draws her in, even though she's been warnednot to trust him. But when attempts on her life begin, Marielle suspects Faris. His seductiveways and stalking episodes are a dead giveaway, right? Her heart falls into turmoil.Should she run into his arm or run away in fear? Desperately, she tries to findanswers, but what she finds is a powerful monster who wants to torture her formere pleasure's sake. Because Marielle is right in the middle of an ancient battle between twoimmortal Djinn. They both want something from her. One, her devotion. The other one, her life. One Wish Away is a young adult paranormal romance that will appeal to lovers of Twilight, the Fallen series, and Tiger's Curse.

 

*Review Contributed by Sage Knightly, Staff Reviewer*

Mysterious and Full of Magic!

One Wish Away is a magical, quick read full of action, romance, and twists. In it, we follow Marielle, a young adult who just lost her grandfather and perhaps even her sanity. Unsure of what to make of the hallucinations and creepy eyes that seem to follow her everywhere, Marielle is left on edge and unsure of everything she has ever known. Mix in a djinn named Faris, and Marielle's world seems to flip upside down, because now she has more problems that she can't simply wish away.

The premise intrigued me. I don't usually read about djinn, but I know this author from previous works so I was really excited to delve into this one! Full of mystery and magic, One Wish Away kept me engrossed and on the edge of my seat! What I enjoyed the most was the curse. Faris is a djinn because of a curse placed on him, and he believes Marielle could be the key to lifting the curse. Drawn to her as she is to him, they struggle to balance their past problems as well as the present ones.

Marielle is heartbroken as her grandfather just died, she has debt to deal with, her alcoholic father is back in her life, her ex boyfriend won't leave her alone, and now she has to deal with Faris. Despite all the pressure and stress Marielle struggles with, she manages to keep her head high. Rumors mean nothing to her when she has so much more dire problems to deal with. However, while I understand that she is hurting, I also found her a bit annoying. She is ill tempered and easily angered, always saying harsh things and lashing out at others for no reason, acting cold. She says she can't deal with emotions well, and this is evident as she is unsure what to do when a friend is hurting and it excuses quite a bit of her behaviour. But other times, she feels too much and easily bursts. Even near the end, she was lashing out, just at someone else because she learned to respect other characters. I like her, don't get me wrong, she has a lot of potential. However, the entire book provided us with a character who complained, ranted, and lashed mostly without good reason. I definitely hope she develops more within the next novel.

Faris, of course, is smoldering hot, rich beyond belief, and easily falls in love with Marielle. She spent most of her time throwing harsh words his way, but he found a way to see through her and fell in love with what he saw. He read her so easily, and yet he still managed to mistake her feelings a few times. I like him, we get to see a strong, determined young man try his hardest to stay in the world with humans instad of trapped in a stone. He is usually clear with his emotions, never hiding anything unless he had to. He is kind and compassionate, and finds joy in granting selfless wishes. He is not greedy, and Marielle learns a lot from him.

Mavin is a very good friend of Marielle's, her work out buddy. Daily runs aren't the only thing theyenjoy doing together. They hang out quite a bit, and it is clear that he really likes her. Compassionate and worried for her, he tries his best to stay by her side and help out. But then he starts acting odd and leaves Marielle feeling worried and paranoid. He is a great character, but honestly it feels like he's in the story as a plot point.

Jeremy is the awful ex boyfriend. Vulgar and not above insulting Marielle whenever he sees her, he is a real jerk who likes to take advantage of women. Not only does he attempt to force himself on her, he also drugs other girls and has an overall horrid personality. His character is a lesson. We can't get away with things, especially not forced sexual acts. This is a subplot of sorts, showing us the bad and then the good, when justice is served. I love that the author did not allow Jeremy to get away with his actions. It was empowering and could potentially give hope to those who are victims themselves. I am also glad that he never got far enough to actually have sex with an unwilling partner.

Romance wise, the couple that gets together is adorable! Each page with that blossoming romance, and you'll find yourself glued to the scene unraveling in your mind. I will admit however, that the attraction was instant. It was just a matter of one character admitting their feelings to themself before anything actually happened.

The writing flows well, it is easy to fall into the story and let the characters take over in your mind. Easy to follow and enjoy, you'll find yourself nearing the end of the story before you're ready! Even when some twists are predictable, you'll find yourself enjoying the story. I will admit however, that the world building has a lot of potential to be expanded on, such as where djinn live and why they hate humans so much and just an overall image of where the characters currently are.

Overall, One Wish Away is an engrossing read that you won't be able to get enough of! Mysterious occurrences and battles with magic will keep you entertained for sure.

Good Points
Good writing

Find more info on this book HERE!

 
YABC Summer Scavenger Hunt (Round 2) starts TOMORR...
Rockstar Book Tours Blog Tour, Interview, & Giveaw...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Life Below
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful world as you...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The inspiring, deeply patriotic true story of John Glenn, a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A wildly imaginative introduction to yoga and nutrition by bestselling...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A book jam-packed with eight creative activities to make beautiful...
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King, is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It had been a great day. Perhaps the Best Day…...

Latest Member Reviews

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
The Slug Queen Chronicles
 
5.0
"When Cricket finds out that the dust she's seen her whole life has magical properties and her late mother could..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
5.0
"Another chilling story from L.V. Pires. This one started out with the main character from Book 1, Casey, fighting an..."
Ghosting You
 
4.8
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A heartwarming love story. The Story: Tommy..."
A Pain Less Ordinary
 
5.0
"A Pain Less Ordinary is a tragic tale of a modern girl whose family has fallen apart. Becca struggles to..."
The Waiting Mortuary
 
5.0
"I'm not normally one to read horror fiction, but I thought I'd give this book a chance and was blown..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"After Cassie witnesses the murder of her mother, she develops anxiety over just about everything. She doesn't talk to anyone..."
Seneca Lake
 
4.8
"Meg lives in a small town in upstate NY (outside Ithaca) in the later years of WWII. She is torn..."