Featured Review: My High School Royal Boyfriend (Kylie Key)

51E9zwjRlsL

About This Book:

Two people with secret identities…

Can anything between them be real?

ALEX

A tragedy at Langley Estate puts my family in the spotlight

Hounded by a ruthless press, it’s decided I should disappear for awhile

That’s how I’ve ended up on the other side of the world

At River Valley High

The new exchange student from England…

BLAIRE

I’m Covington Prep royalty, but after being accused of stealing

My world comes crashing down 

I’ve shamed my family name 

And I’m finishing my senior year at River Valley High

But incognito

No one can know who I really am

Leaving my privileged life isn’t easy

And falling for Alex certainly wasn’t in the plans

But how can we be in love…

When Blaire Ashley and Alex Lord aren’t even real people?

 

 

*Review Contributed by Beth Rodgers, Staff Reviewer*

'My High School Royal Boyfriend' by Kylie Key follows new River Valley High students Blaire and Alex, as they try to escape the troubles that plague them by starting anew. While Blaire comes from an extremely wealthy family who owns the town's well-to-do ice cream shops, she has been accused of something that she knows she didn't do at her ritzy prep school. Alex, who comes from out of town, has a secret all his own. The son of royalty, a tragedy has taken him into hiding from the press, bringing him to River Valley.

The two new students try to reinvent themselves, and while Blaire has always been pretty and popular, she tries to stifle that image by changing it entirely, which brings about truths that she had never considered. She learns that it's not as easy when looks and wealth aren't taken into account, but she finds she likes how her new friends seem to like her for herself. Alex agrees with this feeling, as he enjoys the solace of not being in the spotlight, and getting to know Blaire, as they work together in their acting class on a school play. The activity provides them ample opportunity to get to know more about each other, all while they worry about how they will ever be able to reveal themselves as liars, even though both of their secrets aren't really all that bad. However, it's all about perception, and a secret can often seem terribly worse to the person keeping it than those who they are afraid to tell.

Both students discover that changing their names and hiding their pasts will only catch up with them in the long run. Though, despite the predictability of them learning of each other's pasts, the story is engaging and sweet, showcasing how perception and image aren't all they are cracked up to be. Just because someone thinks one way doesn't mean that's the be all and end all of what the answer truly is, and that is a point that must always be remembered. High school is a hard enough time without all of the judgment thrown into the mix. The story works well, in a nice, relaxed way, to prove that seeing people for who they really are, and giving them a chance, are worth so much.

 

 

*Find More Info & Buy This Book HERE!*

Featured Review: Sisters of Shadow and Light (Sara...
Spotlight on Bump (Matt Wallace), Guest Post, Plus...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...

Latest Member Reviews

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
"CHRISTMAS PARADE is another cute and brightly colored board book from Boynton. In this book, children see a Christmas parade,..."
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
"BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD is a sweet picture book about friends and doing the right thing. Roland lives..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
Bird Show
 
4.3
"If birds had a fashion show, they would show off their unique plumage! BIRD SHOW is a brightly colored book..."
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
"MY BOOK OF FEELINGS is a great conversation starter for emotions with toddlers. The book features spinning emoji faces of..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
"STANLEY'S LUNCH BOX is a cute board book that combines a favorite character with a shopping trip to the market...."
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."