Featured Review: Most Likely (Sarah Watson)

42070688._SY475_

About This Book:

A novel about a future female president's senior year of high school.

Ava, CJ, Jordan, and Martha (listed in alphabetical order out of fairness) have been friends since kindergarten. Now they're in their senior year, facing their biggest fears about growing up and growing apart. But there's more than just college on the horizon. One of these girls is destined to become the president of the United States. The mystery, of course, is which girl gets the gig.

Is it Ava, the picture-perfect artist who's secretly struggling to figure out where she belongs? Or could it be CJ, the one who's got everything figured out...except how to fix her terrible SAT scores? Maybe it's Jordan, the group's resident journalist, who knows she's ready for more than their small Ohio suburb can offer. And don't overlook Martha, who will have to overcome all the obstacles that stand in the way of her dreams.

This is the story of four best friends who have one another's backs through every new love, breakup, stumble, and success--proving that great friendships can help young women achieve anything...even a seat in the Oval Office.
 

 

 

 

*Review Contributed By Olivia Farr Staff Reviewer*

 

 

 

MOST LIKELY is a fantastic YA contemporary about friendship. The book starts with a woman becoming president and reflecting back on her critical friendships before going back into her senior year of high school (in the present). We don't know which one it will be, but Ava, CJ, Jordan, and Martha have been friends since before they started kindergarten, and it's a friendship that will last a lifetime.

Ava was adopted as an infant and is being raised by a single mother, who is also a high powered lawyer. She is a gifted artist, and she is considering following that dream into RISD, but she also knows her mother wishes she would choose a different path. CJ (Clarke) was an unexpected last daughter in a big family who is named after her father. She has a dream for college that she might not attain due to trouble with taking SATs. She is volunteering at a children's sports group, where she hopes to make a difference. Jordan is an aspiring journalist who writes for the high school newspaper. When a beloved public park might get shut down in favor of a high rise, she decides to take on the case, pretending to be an adult journalist so she can be taken seriously as she investigates potential interests of the congressman involved. Martha lives with her father after her parents' divorce. Her father struggles with debt and money, which Martha knows about, even if he tries his best to take care of her. She is worried about how she could afford college and also whether she might actually like girls.

What I loved: This book is really heartfelt and easy to follow. It also tackles some big issues in a really approachable and understandable way. For instance, one of the girls has depression, and there is a lot of great messaging about how it feels and the way other people can/should react. Another is figuring out her sexuality in a way that feels very natural and the way that her friends/father handle this information is really lovely. There are also some interesting messages about parents and money problems and how these can all play out. There are also some great themes about disabilities and how to navigate talking about and considering people who have disabilities.

This book is full of love (of friends mainly, though some romantic plots also). It is really an uplifting and beautiful story that will speak to young adult readers well.

Final verdict: MOST LIKELY is a beautiful story of friendship that also contains some bigger themes handled with care and love. There are a lot of really fantastic messages to take away from this YA contemporary, and I would highly recommend for people who love heartfelt and genuine reads.

 

 

*Find More Info & Buy This Book HERE!*

 

 

 

 

 

What's New In YA ~ March 10th, 2020
Author Of The Week: Author Chat with Kathryn Purdi...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Phoebe Unfired
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
CONNECTING IS TOUGH WHEN YOU CAN'T EVEN TOUCH ...
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A 13-year-old girl growing up in Mexico is visited by...
Admission
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lie. Cheat. Bribe. How far would you go to get...
Running
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Cuban American Mariana Ruiz’s father runs for president,...
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...

Latest Member Reviews

Admission
 
5.0
"‘Admission’ by Julie Buxbaum is a modern and definitely current read on a topic that has been in the news...."
Running
 
5.0
"‘Running’ by Natalia Sylvester is a trend-setting anthem for anyone who has ever wanted to be the change they wish..."
The Fire in the Glass
 
4.7
"Lily can see the future and when she sees her friend killed, she tries to save her. Lily is an..."
City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
"CITY OF SPELLS is a stunning conclusion to an enthralling YA fantasy duology. The book plunges us into the story..."
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
"CHRISTMAS PARADE is another cute and brightly colored board book from Boynton. In this book, children see a Christmas parade,..."
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
"BEST FRIEND IN THE WHOLE WORLD is a sweet picture book about friends and doing the right thing. Roland lives..."
The Project
 
4.7
"What worked: This is one intense psychological tale of a girl trying to reconnect with her sister after she joins..."
The Threads of Magic
 
3.0
"Pip picks pockets to get food for himself and his sister, El. When he picks something unexpected, a mysterious box..."
Bird Show
 
4.3
"If birds had a fashion show, they would show off their unique plumage! BIRD SHOW is a brightly colored book..."
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
"MY BOOK OF FEELINGS is a great conversation starter for emotions with toddlers. The book features spinning emoji faces of..."
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
"SWEET & BITTER MAGIC is a lush and enthralling YA fantasy filled with magic, pain, and love. In this world,..."
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
"THE SMILE SHOP is a cute story about a young boy who is shopping for something special. He has a..."