Featured Review: Magic Bound by G.K. DeRosa

magic-bound

About This Book:

Discovering a supernatural hunter wants you dead isn’t the worst thing that could happen at seventeen, right? I’m Aria Negrescu, and I just shot fireballs out of my hands. And I have no idea how. My whole life I was the poor little orphan girl who bounced around foster homes, each worse than the one before. But all that changed the night I met him. Now an unstoppable hunter wants me dead, and if I’m going to survive I have to discover who I am. And that means trusting a mysterious stranger who always shows up the moment I need him. Apparently, a whole supernatural world exists right under my nose, and I’m about to become a part of it. Whether I like it or not. If you loved the magic of Beautiful Creatures and the epic romance of The Vampire Diaries then you’ll get hooked on Magic Bound, the spellbinding first book in The Hybrid Trilogy.

 

*Review Contributed By Kelly St. Clare, Staff Reviewer*

Urban Fantasy Lovers - Just Get This Book

Magic Bound: The Hybrid Trilogy by G.K. DeRosa

The Story: Forced to take care of herself from a young age, when Aria receives a letter saying she’s been accepted into Oak Bluff College with all tuition and housing paid for, she instinctively distrusts it. Unbeknown to her, taking the offer will require Aria to step into the supernatural world. It may even solve the mysteries about who she is and why she was abandoned - while unleashing more trouble and danger.

The Characters: Aria is an distrusting, New York City hardened young woman who is constantly scraping the barrel. The thick skin she’s developed from her sad childhood is equalled by sharp survival smarts. One of the best things about this character is her intelligence in dangerous situations. She doesn’t get in cars with people she’s not sure of, she doesn’t needlessly put herself in harms way - this book is refreshing for many reasons, but for this reason in particular.

Ricky is Aria’s gay best friend. His snappy dialogue keeps the reader entertained throughout, and it is nice to see good depth to this character later on in the book. Often the best friend gets left behind when the main character jumps off into a secret world, and this is not the case in Magic Bound. Ricky is featured often throughout the story and is an integral part of the ending.

The World: G.K. DeRosa fans, you are in for a treat. This series is a spin-off series from her original Wilder series. We meet fairies, witches, vampires, werewolves, and some brand new supernatural originals from this author. The world is explained clearly, believably, and with a confidence that tells us the author has done this before. Set in the current day, teens will find it easy to relate to the main characters with the modern references and attention-grabbing dialogue. 

The Readability: Having read this author’s first published work a while back and knowing we would see awesome things in the future from her, I am happy to say G.K. DeRosa has hit all of the nails on the head in this novel. Magic Bound is unpredictable, well thought out, emotionally engaging, and has the best love triangle I have seen in a long, long time. Lovers of urban fantasy will appreciate this read for giving them all their favorite ingredients in a completely new way!

Final Verdict: Just get it.

Favorite Quote: “I was silent for the remainder of the car ride, not really knowing what a person who had been hypnotized by a possible vampire was supposed to act like.”

 

*Find More Info On This Book HERE!*

It’s Live!! Cover Reveal: Relative Strangers by Pa...
Blog Tour & Review: Snappsy The Alligator and His ...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Look Both Ways
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This story was going to begin like all the best...
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
5.0 (1)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...

Latest Member Reviews

Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
N/A
"Advice to save your marriage and get your Ex Boyfriend/girlfriend back ,contact assurancesolutionhome@gmail.com for Urgent effective love Spell to get..."
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
5.0
"Advice to save your marriage and get your Ex Boyfriend/girlfriend back ,contact assurancesolutionhome@gmail.com for Urgent effective love Spell to get..."
Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
5.0
"Advice to save your marriage and get your Ex Boyfriend/girlfriend back ,contact assurancesolutionhome@gmail.com for Urgent effective love Spell to get..."
Look Both Ways
 
5.0
"I often hear it said that writers are bred, and sure you can breed some decent writers with whatever amount..."
 
4.8
"This is a beautiful book—both in how it is designed and how it is written. The prose is lyrical, yet..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"After our mindbending landing on the moon back in 1969, we’ve faltered in our quest to explore space. Mars seems..."
The Twin
 
3.7
"Ivy and her twin sister Iris parents divorced when they were ten. Ivy got to live with their father and..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."