Featured Review: Legendborn (Legendborn #1) (Tracy Deonn)

50892338

About This Book:

Filled with mystery and an intriguingly rich magic system, Tracy Deonn’s YA contemporary fantasy Legendborn offers the dark allure of City of Bones with a modern-day twist on a classic legend and a lot of Southern Black Girl Magic. After her mother dies in an accident, sixteen-year-old Bree Matthews wants nothing to do with her previous life, family memories, or her childhood home. A residential program for bright high schoolers at a local university seems like the perfect escape—until Bree witnesses a magical attack her very first night on campus. A flying demon feeding on human energies. A secret society of so called “Legendborn” students that hunt the creatures down. And a teenage mage who calls himself a “Merlin” and who attempts—and fails—to wipe Bree’s memory of everything she saw. The mage’s failure reveals Bree’s own, unique magic and unlocks a buried memory with a hidden connection: the night her mother died, another Merlin was at the hospital. Now that she knows there’s more to her mother’s death than what’s on the police report, Bree will do whatever it takes to find out the truth, even if that means infiltrating the Legendborn by becoming one of their initiates. But when the Legendborn reveal themselves as the descendants of King Arthur and his knights and explain that a magical war is coming, Bree has to decide how far she’ll go for the truth and whether she should use her magic to take the society down—or join the fight.

 

 

 

*Review Contributed By Olivia Farr Staff Reviewer*

 

 

 

LEGENDBORN is absolutely thrilling YA fantasy that captivated me from the start. Bree gained early entrance into UNC-Chapel Hill and fought with her mother about it on the same night that she died in a hit-and-run accident. A few months later and Bree is on campus. She is still reeling from the loss of her mother and has walled herself off into what she is calling After-Bree. After-Bree is willing to take more risks and attends a forbidden off-campus parties with her friends. There, she meets a strange boy and sees a demon. Then the strange boy works some magic on her.

After she is hauled back to campus by a police officer which results in some punishment. She is assigned a student mentor and her father decides to have her see a therapist to help her deal with the loss of her mother. As Bree meets her student mentor, Nick, and begins to learn there is more going on around campus - possibly connected with her mother, Bree decides to investigate further by pledging at a secret society with Nick's help. Once there, she learns about magic, the legend of King Arthur and the round table and the roles that the people around her are supposed to play.

Bree's quest to learn the truths around her mother's death lead to self-discovery as well as deeper understandings of her ancestry and the world around her. And there's a big twist at the end that I would never have seen coming.

What I loved: This book captures all the romance and mythology of King Arthur and bring it into the modern day with demon-fighting, so I am definitely on board. This book goes so much deeper into the mythology and magic that exists in the world as well as how it can be viewed differently by different people. For instance, among the white King Arthur European American crowd, it is aether and they are Legendborn. Among Bree and other Black Americans, they call it root and practice Rootcraft with willing connections to their ancestors while the Legendborn are actually Bloodcrafters, a forbidden practice of unwilling binding to ancestors. Rootcraft is based on historical Rootwork from enslaved African Americans. Bree is learning about both simultaneously and skeptically viewing the indoctrination that she is given in the secret society, The Order of the Round Table.

Most importantly, through her eyes, the reader can see the many microaggressions that Bree experiences as a Black student and the history of oppression that surrounds her life experiences. We get further exposure to this as Bree also travels through memories of her and others' ancestors. These powerful messages are included throughout the book and really add an important context to the story as well as modern life and Black fatigue.

Bree really comes to life throughout the book, and I loved her journey to healing and self-discovery, embracing her ancestry. The loss of a parent is difficult, and Bree's grief is a theme throughout the book that speaks to the heart of the reader. Her search for truth and understanding is a huge motivator for her story and an undercurrent that helps to define her and make her standout as such a strong character. There are so many other compelling characters that also make this such an engrossing and highly devourable read, such as a Merlin (the line of wizards that protect Arthur's descendents), Bree's romantic interest, a healer who is particularly commanding, and a non-binary pledge/page - so many characters to love as well as the inclusion of LGBT couples that works so beautifully. This story made me gasp, sigh, and gave me chills- it is really well-written and masterfully plotted.

Final verdict: LEGENDBORN is an epic fantasy that takes the reader on a journey through the magic and mythology of King Arthur and Rootwork with twists and turns, a unique plot, unforgettable characters, and the perfect touch of friendship and romance. Highly recommend for fans of THE MORTAL INSTRUMENTS, THE EARTHSINGER CHRONICLES, and/or THE HAZEL WOOD. This is a highly devourable read that will leave readers eager for the next installment.

 

 

*Find More Info & Buy This Book HERE!*

 

 

 

 

Book Haul - September 2020
Author Chat with Tiffany D. Jackson (Grown), Plus ...

Related Posts

 

Comments

Already Registered? Login Here
No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A prince of two kingdoms. A woman fighting against the...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after classes...
All These Bodies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. ...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and...
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
What makes the great white shark (one of) the greatest...
Made in Korea
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Frankly in Love meets Shark Tank in this feel-good romantic...
Take Me Home Tonight
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ferris Bueller’s Day Off meets Nick and Nora’s Infinite...
The People We Choose
 
3.3
 
5.0 (1)
When 17-year-old Calliope meets her new neighbor Max, their...

Latest Member Reviews

Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
"Gus is the pack leader at Miss Lottie's house, and has kept the peace well with excitable Roo, loyal and..."
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
"HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL: THE MUSICAL: THE SERIES: THE ROAD TRIP is a fun book that compliments the show by diving..."
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
"When Renna goes swimming in a pond, she never expects to meet a boy named Trev in the most unladylike..."
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
"I'LL MEET YOU IN YOUR DREAMS is a gorgeously illustrated picture book about parental love that spans space and time...."
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
"COLORS OF HABITATS is a beautifully illustrated oversized book of inspiration for artists. The book walks through different habitats from..."
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
"10 TRUTHS AND A DARE is a book about family and owning up to your mistakes. Olivia is about to..."
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
"It's the start of Grand Season and Nina's chance to join the Beautiful Ones, Loisail's notable socialites, hasn't gone well...."
A Song of Wraiths and Ruin (A Song of Wraiths and Ruin #1)
 
5.0
"This was... one of the best books I've read in a long time. It was one of my absolute favorite..."
Yes No Maybe So
 
5.0
"I should start by saying I don't normally read books involving politics because I read to escape real life. That..."
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
"I AM THE SHARK is a fun and educational picture book about self-confidence. A great white shark is introducing the..."
The Bachmann Family Secret
 
3.0
"This book had some good ideas, especially a young man coming to terms with his sexuality, but it felt somewhat..."
Made in Korea
 
4.7
"MADE IN KOREA is a sweet romantic-comedy about competition, family, and reaching for your dreams. Valerie runs a very successful..."
The Keeper of Night
 
5.0
"HOW I GOT MY HUSBAND BACK WITH THE HELP OF DR.IFADE CONTACT ON WHATS_APP NUMBER +1(551)333-5249. OR HIS EMAIL ..."
Perfectly Parvin
 
5.0
"PERFECTLY PARVIN is a laugh-out-loud, charming YA contemporary fiction read. Parvin is about to begin her freshman year of high..."
Thirty Talks Weird Love
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
Photos Framed: A Fresh Look at the World's Most Memorable Photographs
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
Book Nerd
 
N/A
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
The Love Song of Ivy K. Harlowe
 
3.0
"THE LOVE SONG OF IVY K. HARLOWE is a new adult read about love, pining, and friendship. Andie is 19..."
The People We Choose
 
5.0
"******PLEASE READ***** URGENT EFFECTIVE LOVE SPELL TO GET YOUR EX BACK FAST AND TO SAVE YOUR..."
The Missing: The True Story of My Family in World War II
 
5.0
"My Name Ollis Bator from Tx USA. After 12years of marriage, me and my husband have been into one quarrel..."